Seventh Annual Sucktastic Awards Polls

UPDATE:  And the polls are closed. Thank you for voting, folks!

It’s that time of year again!  Your librarians have been pouring over the year in review to bring you the best of the worst, the turdy foam floating at the top of the sewer water of fanfiction.  And this year we have some real tough choices.  It’s now your job, gentle patrons, to sort through this garbage heap and tell us what you think deserves the coveted Trophy of Suck!  Patent pending.

2018 Sucktastic Awards Polls

For  those wanting a little trip down memory lane, or maybe just a refresher of the years worth of material which was nominated, and with all the guest posting and a full staff of Librarians there’s a lot, below you’ll find a list of all the fics featured in this years Sucktastic awards.

List of Nominees (In no particular order):

Dawn By Eye
Foreigners and Templars
THE PRINCESS BRIDE: LADY IN WAITING
better season 5 end
The Right Partner
Salvation
Her Last Breath of the Wild
Elsa’s Night at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza
Secrets Revealed
A Raptor Love
Batman and The Hunter
She’s Got a Bit of Raptor in Those Angel Eyes
Whatever McGill Can Do, I Will Do Better
Star Wars: Shadow War Episode I
Necrosleep
Valkyrie: The Unknown Unit
The Haunting Melody
Deadsun Myth
A Special Task
Friendship is Magic: The Covenant War
Padme-Series: Clone Trooper
Lizzy The Reaper
A Thorned Rose
One Night
Unity
Out of Darkness
Velocius et Fortius
Charlie the Killer
Realm of the New God
The Lone Wolf of the Normandy
I Will Survive
Bid My Blood To Run
Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said
The Beginning
Betrayal
The Yule Tree
All in the Past
Adam and the Chipmunks Diablo Trailer
Fallout Tetris
Coffin Rock: Retold
Keeping Busy on a Stormy Night
Smurfed Out
Maya and Raider
Suicidal Nightmare
Nightmares In Wonderland
Succubus
A spiritual waffles after an isolate existence
Subnautica – Super Survival Story Mode


29 Comments on “Seventh Annual Sucktastic Awards Polls”

  1. BatJamags says:

    I’d like to add that we’ve instituted a new rule: only fics finished in the year are eligible for a Sucktastic nomination, hence why some strong contenders like The Shadow Warriors are missing from the polls.

    • ZuesKillerProductions says:

      Ah. That makes sense.

    • Zues Killer Productions says:

      Wait, if this only applies to fics finished in that year, then why is Realm of the New Gods in the nomination category?

      • SC says:

        That might have been an oversight. To the best of my knowledge, it’s currently got zero places in any of the categories, due to how new it is.

        • Zues Killer Productions says:

          When I went to vote, the only spot it had was in the “Obvious Self-Insert” category, so I guess that while the riff hasn’t gotten towards the…crazier parts of the fic, at least we can all agree that the protagonist is a wannabie edgelord self-insert.

          Maybe next year, it’ll have a chance…presumably with more spots on the board. But that’s after I finish the riff.

      • BatJamags says:

        Whoops! Yeah, we cut the ongoing riffs out pretty hastily, so it just slipped through the cracks.

    • Delta XIII says:

      Much as I hate to bring this up (since it’ll wipe me from the list), shouldn’t that disqualify Maya and Raider since we’re only halfway through it?

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    I thought I was going to have a tough decision in front of me because we had so damn many abjectly horrible ‘fics this year, but I found myself rarely pausing for more than a moment casting my vote. Curious.

  3. SC says:

    I have two fics on the block. This would make me feel bad if Sakai didn’t have a fucking pile of his own.

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      Although, oddly, the ones I didn’t think were that bad or really enjoyed riffing (Special Task, Charlie the Killer, V&F, Necrosleep) showed up a lot, while the ones I really hated (Bid My Blood, Unity, BS5E) didn’t get as much reception.

      • SC says:

        Meh, that would have happened with A Branch of Burden if I had finished riffing it before now. I love the riff, but there’s a lot of problems with it. I guess it depends on the wackiness of what you’re riffing?

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      I think it also has a lot to do with the fact that I typically prefer to riff shorter ‘fics and consequently produce more of them per unit time.

      • SC says:

        Thinking about it, I would have technically had three fics on the list if we had opted to include LAFS again. But I think we’re all just universally done with that idiot thing, so I’m not sorry it got excluded.

  4. BatJamags says:

    Losing The Shadow Warriors and most of Padme-Series’ stupid names (due to not nominating one fic for one category more than one time) just about kicked me off the list. Still got some solid noms for Salvation and Padme-Series, though.

  5. Herr Wozzeck says:

    Man, voting for this when you’ve been out of the loop for so long is such a weird experience, holy crap…

  6. Zues Killer Productions says:

    *sees Realm of the New God on the list…for most obvious self insert category*

    I…wow. For not being here more than a few months, I’m honored that the riff actually got nominated.

    Although I will admit I’m not sure whether it’s illegal to vote for your own riffs, so I voted for Charlie on that category.

    Thank you.

    • BatJamags says:

      You’re allowed to vote for your own. The most obvious self insert thing does get a little weird when we riff an actual self insert.

      • ME-Iron-Maiden says:

        I voted for A Thorned Rose at every opportunity. Mainly because I’m still suffering through the finale such that I am having a hard time being even remotely witty in my draft of the final riffs.

  7. Anne Eyewitness says:

    Dr. Hail A. Stan is low key one of my favourite characters from anything that’s been nominated just because of his silly name and even sillier plan. It’s nice to see my boy getting so many nominations.

    Also, if Bid My Blood to Run doesn’t win the Squick Award, I will be very surprised and a little disappointed.

    • BatJamags says:

      I actually ended up picking Smurfed Out for that, but I could go either way.

      • Anne Eyewitness says:

        The thing that decided it for me was quite simple. I could finish reading Smurfed Out. It was gross, but I finished it. That’s more than I can say for Bid My Blood to Run, where I had to stop partway through the first chapter.

  8. SC says:

    I’m just gonna come out and say it, I fully expect “Reaper shit” to take the Unintentionally Hilarious Line by storm.