906: Adapt and Survive – Chapter One

Title: Adapt and Survive
Author: nivlac
Media:  Video Game
Topic: X-Com/Fallout
Genre: Adventure/Mystery/Cross-Over
URL: Chapter One
Critiqued by SuperFeatherYoshi

Ladies! Gentlemen! It is I, SuperFeatherYoshi, and I have returned with my latest snarking! As you probably know already, I encountered some problems with my Fallout Effect riffing, therefore, that one’s on indefinite hiatus (again) for now. Fortunately, I discovered another story from FF.net’s XCOM crossover section that would do just fine. I present to you: Adapt and Survive!

Adapt and Survive is an XCOM/Fallout crossover, the only one of its kind on FF.net…. Or at least the only one in the category. (There was another, but it was a poorly written writing prompt.) There is another story, a one-shot called XCOM – Rotting Heros that’s technically a crossover with Fallout, since it ends with the aliens winning the war and retreating, leaving Earth a radioactive wasteland. But that story was in the X-Com category and not the crossover category, not to mention it has quite a few problems, such as the aliens obliterating most of humanity… And then just sort of gets up and leave. No enslaving, no modification, nothing. Which directly contradicts the aliens’ true agendas in the game. Also, the temple ship is named T’leth, I know it’s a reference to Terror From the Deep, but just how the hell did the humans know that name? I really don’t see the Ethereals installing speakers on their ship that keep blasting: “Puny humans! This is T’leth! The last thing you’ll ever see!!” in human languages while destroying every major city in the world. That just feels…. Cartoonish.

But I digress.

Read the rest of this entry »