2670: Jurassic Twilight – Chapters 7 & 8

Title: Jurassic Vampires
Author: twilightfanjm
Media: Book/Movie
Topic: Jurassic Park/Twilight
Genre: Hurt/Comfort/Family
URL: Chapter 7
URL: Chapter 8
Critiqued by Ghostcat

 

 

Welcome back, dear Patrons!

We’re getting close to the end, my dears. Only two more chapters! Considering we’re barely into the first act of the movie that is being used as plot regurgitation, things are either going to speed up quite a lot, or things are just going to cut off abruptly. Possibly both.

I can hardly wait to see what happens – but first, the recap!

:flips through notes:

Significant amounts of shaking occurred, Carlie turned into a massive wolf, and then she wandered into the scene from the movie where the pterasaurs attack the tourists during the evacuation. Carlie, in wolf form, stumbles around killing either pterasaurs or tourists, and then takes Claire’s role in saving Owen from a flying murder-lizard. After this interaction Carlie imprints on Owen, because reasons.

To the fic!

Chapter 7: Parents

The sparklepire clan?

:makes vague hand gestures:

They’re probably in the Void somewhere.

Carlie’s POV

:headdesk:

Still. Hasn’t. Changed. Perspective. And spoiler alert – it NEVER does.

I ran as deep and far into the forest as I could.

As is her standard reaction to all things.

I was determined to escape the chaos of whatever it was that was happening.

I thought that when you imprinted on someone you didn’t want to be anywhere but where that person was? Why is she running back into the ever-present forest? Did she actually imprint on the forest?

I couldn’t understand anything.

Join the club, we’re ordering commemorative can coozies.

The only thing that I did understand was that the farther and farther I got away from Owen the more pain I felt in my chest. It was like a strong tugging sensation that was trying to pull me back toward him. But I just couldn’t understand it.

Girl, you a dumbass.

I get that she’s supposed to be panicking, but why is she panicking? Because I would assume the whole “I turned into a massive wolf” would be far more panic-inducing than being attracted to someone she was already attracted to. She had the feels for Owen before, or at the very least found him physically attractive, and the imprinting process would only have strengthened those feelings. Even if she doesn’t know about the imprinting process, the fact that her entire existence now centers on Owen should make he want to stay near him instead of taking yet another run through the jungle.

I was confused. Extremely confused. 100% completely confused by everything that was happening.

I think everyone is.

I skidded to a halt when I came across a cave.

I don’t want to kink-shame, but you need to stop doing that so much; this is a family theme park! At least go into the restrooms first.

There was a rice beside it.

Nandatte?

I went for a quick drink before going to rest in the cave.

She … drank the rice and then took a nap.

Okay, not going to question that. But isn’t there a very time-sensitive evacuation going on? And a murder-lizard rampaging around the island somewhere? She doesn’t have time to take an emo mope-nap.

I didn’t know how long I laid there but I was certain that I

had fallen asleep because next thing I know I’m being nudged gently.

I didn’t edit that at all, it is like that in the fic.

I looked up and saw a huge reddish brown wolf laying beside me. He was licking my face gently. I gave him an irritated look.

If I were taking a nap and some mutt woke me up with face-kisses, I’d be more than a little creeped out.

I stiffened when I heard a voice inside my head.

She heard a what in her where?

“It’s okay Carlie it’s only me” the wolf nudged me gently.

Because a giant psychic wolf suddenly appearing out of the Void beside her wouldn’t freak out someone who was already freaking out.

There was definitely a lot I needed to know about this. Too many questions. Too little answers.

I gave up on getting answers ages ago.

“Who are you?” I asked him.

Well, he ain’t Batman, sunshine.

“I’m your father Carlie”

As apposed to being the daughter Carlie, which is who she is.

I instantly grew angry.

Those Ready-to-Feel™ instant emotions from the PCC really hit the spot; just add water and you’re good to go.

My father. The very reason that I grew up without a family. It was all his and my grandfather’s fault.

Mostly Jacob’s, though. He was the one who dumped her like hot garbage. Although it has been implied that Carlie knew about the rest of her family yet didn’t take any steps to initiate contact before the mistaken identity bit earlier in the fic. If the sparkplepire clan never visited the park, or visited at a different time when Carlie was working rather than exploring the park on her day off, they might have never met.

The memory of my birth flooded my mind.

Again?

I heard screaming. Lots and lots of screaming. Then pure silence. I heard a lot of frantic voices but I couldn’t concentrate on what they were saying.

Suddenly I saw a very bright light. Hands appeared and pulled out the baby that was right next to me. My identical twin sister.

“There is another one!” I heard someone shout.

“What?!” I heard another guy yell.

Hands appeared again and this time they found me. They pulled me out quickly.

:headdesk:

Is this seriously the same exact scene? AGAIN!?!

“Is she alive?! the man that held me yelled. “I don’t hear her heartbeat or her breathing!”

I wished that I could speak or say anything. Instead I was frozen. I couldn’t move or speak or breathe. I wanted to tell him that I was fine. To tell him that I was alive.

The other man looked at me curiously. He had pale skin and golden eyes. He shook his head.

“No, I can’t hear her thoughts. We didn’t notice her in time. She’s dead. I’m sorry Jacob”

So this man Jacob was my father then? He started crying uncontrollably.

“Jacob I think. Well I think it’s best that nobody ever finds out about her. Not even Nessie. We could spare them the pain”

I wished that I could somehow let them know that I was alive. I just wanted to be with my family.

“Maybe your right Edward” my father said. “No one should know about Carlie’s existence. Not even her mother”

“Carlie?” the other guy questioned.

“That’s what I would have wanted to name her. Carlie”

As my father carried me I got one look at my mother. She looked like she was close to death. It was a memory that would stay with me forever.

My dad left me by a tree in the forest. He gave me one final kiss before leaving in tears.

How many times has this same frickin’ scene appeared in this fic? At least three that I can remember, but it feels like more.

Something I hadn’t thought of previously, though – why did Carlie keep her name? Jacob says that it was the name he would have given her, so why didn’t she pick another name that wasn’t associated with the jerkass who abandoned her?

He started to cry. Obviously us wolves had the power of telepathy or something.

I think that technically the pack is telepathic within the members of the pack, but alpha wolves can also communicate telepathically with other packs. Jacob is an alpha, so he would be able to communicate with her as long as she is still in her wolf form, which she may or may not be in.

“Carlie I am so sorry. What we did, it was a mistake, that I’ve always regretted, and your grandfather does to”

He regrets it even though he thought she was dead up until an hour or so ago.

“You dumped me” I said angrily.

“We thought you were dead. It was a mistake though to leave you the way that we did. I realized that a long time ago”

It’s also a crime to abandon a dead body in the woods, even if you didn’t make it dead in the first place. (My Google history is weird.) Also, if he did feel regret and go back to retrieve what he thought was a dead body to give her a proper burial and didn’t find her corpse, wouldn’t that have been a clue that she wasn’t really dead and that he should search the area for her? It’s not like a newborn baby can get very far.

“So why didn’t you ever tell the rest of the family about me?” I shot back.

Because he thought he could get away with it?

“Because I was a coward that’s why. I was afraid of how your mother would react, how they would all react if they found out the truth. Now they all hate me, especially your mother”

“You deserve it”

She does have a point there; you are a horrible person.

I still have no idea how Jacob and Edward managed to hide that Nessie had twins – especially from Nessie, who was, y’know, there at the birth. There’s just so many reasons why this simply does not work.

That comment stung him and maybe that was hitting below the belt but honestly I didn’t care. I was the one that got left without a family because of what he did. I was left all alone because of what he did.

According to the mushroom-possum’s Tragek Backstory, she lived ‘on the streets’ for a unknown length of time after she was abandoned, but someone would have had to taken care for her at some point in her childhood so she wasn’t completely alone the entire time. Newborn infants, and children in general, require vast amounts of support – both emotional and financial. (You also have to support a baby’s head physically because their neck muscles are underdeveloped and they lack even basic coordination.)

And doesn’t she have a baby now? That would mean she isn’t alone – except for when the baby vanishes. Again.

“Even if I really was dead they had a right to know that I existed” I shot back.

He flinched.

This is a very good point; even if she had been stillborn as he thought, he should have let the rest of the family know. The whole “hide the baby and never tell anyone” scenario is the kind of thing that happens when a young mother, perhaps one who doesn’t realize she’s pregnant, has a baby but can’t mentally handle the situation as just wants it gone – hence the whole ‘dumpster baby’ trope.

“You’re right and it was stupid of me to think otherwise. I know that now.

But he didn’t know that before he found out his previously abandoned daughter was still alive?

I want to make things right with you because I love you. I always have”

Your prior actions speak otherwise.

I got up and ran away as fast as I could.

…You’re in a cave. And you’re on an island. Surrounded by murder-lizards. Where the hell do you think you’re going to go?

I couldn’t stand to hear another word from him. Unfortunately distance didn’t do anything to erase his voice from my head.

“Carlie please come back” he begged.

“I don’t want to see you or speak to you so get out of my head”

And then she face-plants into a tree and gets eaten by a triceratops, The End!

:BZZZZT!:

Dammit, Lyle!

It was a full minute before he said anything. “At least me help you phase back”

Phase?

“Turn human again” he said.

But why would she want to stop being a badass super-wolf?

I did as he told me and it worked.

Not sure what ‘it’ was, but maybe she just clicked her heels together and wished really hard.

The only embarrassing part was that I was now completely naked. Luckily I found my way home quickly where I was able to put on some clothes.

I know clothes are important, but it’s still the middle of an evacuation due to murder-lizard rampages. And she’s misplaced her baby. Again.

“Carlie!” I heard someone shout when I started to walk back through the forest again. By now it had gotten dark.

Are there no pathways or roads in this place? Why does she need to travel via the forest all the time?

When I looked I saw that it was my mother. Before I knew it she had me in her arms. I could feel all the love that she had for me.

Awwww…

“Mom?”

That seemed to bring on a new round of tears.

“I’m so sorry” she choked out.

“Sorry? Sorry for what?” I asked her.

Yeah, what does she have to be sorry for? It’s not like she was there when Carlie was born …Oh, right. She was. Probably; the scene’s lack of description makes it look like the babies were pulled out of an old sack and not a womb.

“That I didn’t know about you. That I didn’t raise you or give you my love. That you grew up alone”

But how does Nessie know that Carlie was alone? She knows nothing about her childhood or her life before they met at the park. The narration seems dead-set on emphasizing how alone Carlie has been, but I don’t see how it would be possible to go from a newborn baby abandoned in the woods to the head Science! Guy at Jurassic World without some kind of interactions with others.

“Mom none of that was your fault. I know that you would’ve been a great mother if you had raised me. Just so you know, I’ve always loved you”

“You have?” she was shocked. That was for sure.

Dude, they literally abandoned you at birth; no one is going to fault you for not liking them.

“Yes, I’ve always loved all of you” I said. “Because I knew the only reason we were apart is because that you didn’t know I existed”

And for some reason Carlie has never sought out this family that she loves so much in the many decades since she was abandoned, even though she was desperately lonely all the time.

She was about to say something else when we heard a loud growl nearby.

It’s either another werewolf or a murder-lizard. Possibly both.

We both tensed up when we heard the sound. We heard a few trees and branches move before the Indominus Rex made her appearance.

So it’s both, then.

She had used her camouflage capabilities again. This was not good. Not good at all. This thing could literally creep up on us whenever she wanted to.

:snorts:

Sure, the Indominus can camouflage – but that’s purely a visual thing. Even with the ability to mask her own heat signature, she’s still a multi-ton murder-lizard that’s going to knock down a lot of trees and smash up the undergrowth when she walks, and not to mention that her breath probably smells like an abattoir after all that blood (and bodies) she’s been slurping down.

She let out a loud roar and ran straight for us. My mother and I froze in fear.

:deadpan: Oh, no; however will a pair of immortal and indestructible beings survive this?

Then suddenly we heard another noise. I looked over and saw my father, still as a wolf, charging straight at the hybrid with nothing but pure anger on his face.

I don’t know how a wolf shows pure anger on its face, but I assume snarling is involved.

He bit her and that got her attention.

As it would.

I concentrated as much as I could. Seeing if there was anyway possible for me to turn as well. I didn’t hate my father at all. I hate what he did. I did not want him to die because as much as I wanted to deny it I still loved him.

Because reasons, I guess.

I ran straight for the dinosaur, despite my mother’s cries.

Why isn’t Nessie attacking as well? Or calling for the other sparklepires to come kick Indominus’ ass?

Suddenly I exploded and I was on all fours.

This has to be one of the worse ways I’ve ever seen anyone describe a transformation scene.

I bit her as many times as I could. I somehow avoided her claws and her tail. Luck probably.

Well, it sure as hell isn’t skill.

Just as I was about to bite her again my luck ran out. She swatted me with her massive tail and I flew several feet in the air.

Good thing Carlie is an indestructible immortal or there might be some dramatic tension creeping in.

I screamed in pain as I felt several of the bones in my body break.

Meh. Just rub some dirt on it and you’ll be fine.

The Indominus started walking toward me. Her body started to shake uncontrollably and suddenly an extremely large black wolf was in her place. A wolf that was even larger then the Indmoninus Rex. A wolf just as ferocious looking as the dinosaur itself.

:blinks:

I take it back; this has to be one of the worse descriptions of a transformation scene I’ve ever seen. It’s like one of those really terrible low-grade horror films that has an effects budget of approximately fifty cents and half a TicTac so there’s all sorts of weird jump cuts and the monsters just kind of appear out of the Void for no adequately explained reason.

Then the truth hit me all at once. For some strange and unknown reason my father could turn into a wolf and it was obvious that he passed on that gene to me.

:THUNK!:

Hey, there’s my other shoe! I’ve been waiting for it to drop.

I gave the Indominus Rex several strands of my DNA. Oh hell!

:headdesk:

So making an immortal and invulnerable murder-lizard is fine, but making an immortal and invulnerable murder-lizard that can turn into a giant wolf is not? Where exactly does she draw the line? And she makes it sound like she just injected some of her DNA ‘strands’ into the Indominus, which would have done jack-all. Even if it did (which it does not) what triggered the transformation? As I have previously mentioned, the Quileute shape-shifting gene only expresses itself when there’s a significant danger to the tribe. What is that much of a threat to Indominus?

Please Review

Oh, I am. In fact, I’m in such a hurry to finish that I’m doing the last chapter right now!

Chapter 8: Indominus Rex, Wolf-Hybrid

The buddy cop movie that no one ever asked for.

Carlie’s POV

I almost wish I videotaped these things so you could see me literally screaming into a pillow when I saw this damn-fool thing yet again. I scared a cat.

Said cat may have been in the pillowcase at the time of the incident. I have weird cats.

“What the hell?”

That’s a very versatile statement that could apply to most of this fic.

I could hear the confusion in my dad’s thoughts as the ferocious dinosaur turned wolf stared at us.

It’s a good thing that Jacob is an alpha and would be able to make the Indominus back down.

I didn’t have much time to think though as the creature charged straight toward us. I was able to jump out of the way just in the nick of time.

…The author forgot that Jacob is an alpha and thus has some control over other werewolves, didn’t they?

My mind was flooded with memories on how this creature came to be. I, and several other scientists, had worked on designing her for years. Giving her the DNA of various modern day animals and prehistoric animals as well.

Which is how all the Jurassic Park/World dinosaurs are made, but I digress.

Me, being eternally young, wanted to give her my DNA in hopes that I would make her immortal.

Don’t forget invulnerable! You wanted to make her immortal and invulnerable. Because you’re a dumbass.

When I insisted on giving my DNA the other scientists were skeptical of course but I was granted permission to give her my DNA.

I am intensely curious to know what that conversation was like.

So I took several strands of my DNA and included it in her genetic makeup.

That is very much not how DNA works.

“You gave this creature your DNA?” dad asked.

“Yes, my DNA was included in her genetic makeup. This was before I knew I could turn into an oversized wolf though”

“Carlie there is so much more to your DNA then you understand”

“What?”

Gee, you would have thought that when she was sequencing her own genetic code to isolate her immortal and invulnerable genes she would have noticed that her genetic structure was different from a normal human’s.

“There is more then just wolf in there”

“You’re also part werepenguin.”

I looked into the mind of the creature that I had helped bring to life. She was confused, lost, and bloodthirsty. A feeling of sadness overcame me.

So they do have a mental connection to the Indominus. Now they will try to soothe her and dial back the murder a bit, right?

I remembered when she hatched. As creeped out as I had been by her I had also been equal fascinated by her.

I feel the same way about tubifex worm colonies.

Fun Fact – Cameron Village, the location of the sewer where this colony was found, is not that far from my house and is considered to be kind of upscale and bougie so I find it hilarious that there’s what looks like alien tumors growing in the sewers underneath the place.

In her first few days of life I took care of her. I fed her. I held her. I cared about her. To me she wasn’t just an asset. Or attraction to bring in money. She was a living breathing animal. Something that most of the higher ups failed to acknowledge.

But after the first few days the cute wore off and she no longer gave a damn.

She stared back into my eyes. I knew she could understand everything we were saying and thinking.

Even if there’s a mental link, she’s still a dinosaur without the higher brain functions found in (most) humans so I doubt she understands speech. The link is probably more empathic than telepathic in her case.

After all we had engineered her that way.

Hold on … They designed her to be psychic and understand human speech?!? On purpose?!?

:headdesk:

This place is a dumbassery factory.

Giving her my DNA, which I thought was pure human at the time,

:snorts:

Yeah, because immortality and invulnerability are common traits found in all humans.

I wondered what effect that could have on her intelligence level.

She probably dropped quite a few points.

That’s when I realized that she and I had at least one thing in common.

You’re both Libras?

I wasn’t 100% human.

:gasps and clutches pearls:

Rather I was a hybrid of different creatures. I’m part human, but I’m also part wolf shapeshifter, and I’m also part something else according to my dad. What it is I still don’t know.

You’re a walking genetic swap meet.

She and I were both hybrids.

As are all the dinosaurs.

Multiple species mixed in our DNA.

Again, LIKE ALL THE DINOSAURS.

What makes Indominus special isn’t that she is a hybrid, but that she is the first hybrid not designed to look like a member of an extinct species but was uniquely tailored to meet different criteria – namely being a big, scary, monster.

I could understand her pain and her confusion.

You know what it’s like to be a massive shape-shifting murder-lizard grown in a lab and kept in isolation her entire life?

Because I was experiencing it to.

Are you really? Or are you anthropomorphizing her because you want to sympathize with a massive shape-shifting murder-lizard that you put bits of your genetic code into?

She doesn’t know what she is and I don’t know what I am.

She’s a dinosaur; I seriously doubt she’s having an existential crisis right now.

We’re both one of a kind.

There’s just something so weird about that sentence; the phrase ‘one of a kind’ denotes something that is unique yet there’s a plural pronoun being used as well. It just feels wrong in my brain.

When I looked into her eyes again I actually saw tears forming.

Which definitely isn’t because her entire skeleton just restructured itself instantaneously, and certainly isn’t you just projecting your own emotions onto her.

Please Review

I have, and would continue to do so – but the fic is over. So sad, much sorrow.

And I have no idea where Diego ended up.


15 Comments on “2670: Jurassic Twilight – Chapters 7 & 8”

  1. Em Kay says:

    I couldn’t understand anything.

    Join the club, we’re ordering commemorative can coozies.

    And shirts!

  2. Em Kay says:

    Something I hadn’t thought of previously, though – why did Carlie keep her name? Jacob says that it was the name he would have given her, so why didn’t she pick another name that wasn’t associated with the jerkass who abandoned her?

    Why did he have a name picked out for a twin he didn’t know existed in the first place? Picking a name is more difficult than you’d think. There’s plenty of kids that either have their name changed or just don’t have a name in the first couple days because it’s so hard to decide on.

    • GhostCat says:

      That’s a good point; he was ready to go with another name instantly even though he supposedly had no idea she existed. He even says that it is “what he would have called her”. That almost makes it look like he did know there were going to be twins.

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    I thought that when you imprinted on someone you didn’t want to be anywhere but where that person was? Why is she running back into the ever-present forest? Did she actually imprint on the forest?

    Given the amount of time she spends there she may well have.

  4. crazyminh says:

    In reference to the cat picture…

    …I’m trying to ascertain what exactly I’m looking at. I know it’s a cat, but…

    – The white bit at the top is definitely a paw, but is that a ear or a tail at the bottom?

    – I think the head is sticking out, but the orientation is a mystery to me

    – How did you not notice a cat was in the pillowcase? I mean, I’ve sat on my dog before by accident, but he has a habit of building little pillow forts and hiding in them. He also tells me off when I sit on him (or cuddle him without permission, or attempt to pick him up off the ground, or fiddle with parts of his anatomy, etc)

    • GhostCat says:

      It’s the top of Maggie’s head with one paw sticking out the top; that thing at the bottom is one of her ears, the other is hidden by the pillowcase. She likes to treat pillowcases like sleeping bags and tuck herself inside them between the pillow and the pillowcase from time to time. Most of the time there’s no cat-bits visible, just a lumpier than normal pillow, so she can be easy to overlook if you’re not paying attention.

  5. AdmiralSakai says:

    The only thing that I did understand was that the farther and farther I got away from Owen the more pain I felt in my chest. It was like a strong tugging sensation that was trying to pull me back toward him. But I just couldn’t understand it.

    Girl, you a dumbass.

    I get that she’s supposed to be panicking, but why is she panicking? Because I would assume the whole “I turned into a massive wolf” would be far more panic-inducing than being attracted to someone she was already attracted to. She had the feels for Owen before, or at the very least found him physically attractive, and the imprinting process would only have strengthened those feelings. Even if she doesn’t know about the imprinting process, the fact that her entire existence now centers on Owen should make he want to stay near him instead of taking yet another run through the jungle.

    I am actually OK with this reaction; the imprinting process certainly sounds scary, so it’s not too much of a stretch to assume that if she realizes proximity to Owen is causing that strange and scary process to accelerate she’d want to get as far away from him as possible.

    • GhostCat says:

      From what I remember in the source materials, the process is almost instantaneous; the world goes all wobbly for a second and then you have an intense fixation on the person you’ve imprinted on to the point where you don’t want to be anywhere else. She shouldn’t have had any time to panic and run off.

  6. AdmiralSakai says:

    “You dumped me” I said angrily.

    “We thought you were dead. It was a mistake though to leave you the way that we did. I realized that a long time ago”

    Clearly, we should have cremated you and mixed your ashes into concrete just to be sure.”

  7. AdmiralSakai says:

    I screamed in pain as I felt several of the bones in my body break.

    As opposed to feeling several of the bones nowhere near her body break.

  8. BatJamags says:

    “I’m your father Carlie”

  9. BatJamags says:

    Suddenly I exploded and I was on all fours.

    If you exploded, I’d expect a lot more than four pieces of you to be touching the ground

  10. Em Kay says:

    And I have no idea where Diego ended up.

    I think she dumped him off on her twin? Maybe? If I remember correctly, she was having an identity crisis at the time, so it may have been Nessie fobbing off the kid on someone.

    • GhostCat says:

      She gave him to her sister, who was last seen heading towards … somewhere. I think Belle was going towards the evacuation area to meet up with the rest of the sparklepire clan while Carlie fucked off into the forest yet again, but who knows where they ended up?