1816: Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said : Chapters 6 & 7

Title: Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said
Author: seclinalunica
Media: Video Game/Creepypasta
Topic: Slender: The Eight Pages
Genre: Horror/Suspense
URL: Chapter 6
URL: Chapter 7
Critiqued by Ghostcat

 

 

Hello, dear Patrons and welcome to another chapter!

In our last little trip down the rabbit hole the Nameless Narrator wandered around (again) and found a piece of paper (again) flicked their flashlight off and on repeatedly (again) and was half-heartedly stalked by Slendy (again). The only really interesting bit was the reveal that the Nameless Narrator might have cybernetic eyes, since they can zoom in on objects. I choose to believe that this is also the reason they keep seeing static whenever Slendy is near, even though that’s more of an analog thing rather than a digital thing, because otherwise I’m gonna stab someone.

To the fic!

AN: here’s chapter 5. please read, review and enjoy.

There are two red flags that indicate that a fic author is losing enthusiasm for their fic; that the chapters start getting noticeably shorter, and if they had been adding long chatty Author’s Notes to the chapters that those ANs get significantly shorter as well. This can also lead to the length of time between chapters increasing – complete with apologetic “sorry it’s late” ANs – sometimes to the point that the fic is completely abandoned, but to their credit this author does actually stick with it until the eighth page is collected. There’s even a set-up for the sequel fic.

Chapter five: page 5

11:30 pm:

:headdesk:

Again with the time stamps.

I’ve moved past anger at this point, I just want to know why it’s taking the Nameless Narrator so frickin’ long to get this done. The author has been sticking to the game pretty closely so the playable area shouldn’t be that big, and (as the Nameless Narrator has already discovered) the pages are typically on or near very visible landmarks. Hell, they probably could have figured out how to hot-wire the truck from a few chapters back in a fraction of the time this scavenger hunt has taken and just driven through the gates.

The bathroom was extremely dark, and running around with the flashlight turned off would be bad news.

The stupid flashlight has been turned off and on so many times I honestly can’t keep track whether or not it’s supposed to be on or off right now.

I noticed that the flashlight was starting to dim.

Probably because you’ve been flicking it on and off so much, or because you’ve been wandering around in a dark forest for half the night.

Continuing on my journey through the multiple bathrooms, I became extremely nervous when turning corners.

That’s the first sensible thing you’ve narrated, since Slendy does have a habit of popping up as you turn a corner.

As I slowly peeked around the corners, I waited for a petite amount of static,

You’re waiting for a what kind of static?

The author is listed as Canadian in their profile, but this is the first time that there’s been any French in the fic so I had just assumed they were from one of the English-speaking portions of America’s Hat.

so that I had a rough idea where Slender was without having a surprise heart attack.

Is there any other kind? Much like the Spanish Inquisition, you don’t really expect to have a heart attack.

Behind the first corner, he wasn’t there. I peered over to the nearest exit.

Ye gods, this is so boring. I’m having trouble finding anything interesting to say about it. I’m almost tempted to ask Syl to come back again.

:Syl opens the door:

I said almost!

:Syl pouts and closes the door:

“Okay,” I started. “I’ll look for the nearest exit, so once I find the fucking page, I can get out of here quickly.”

Ummmm, what? Weren’t you just peering over at the nearest exit? Did it suddenly move?

I searched and searched for the white page, but I couldn’t find it thus far.

Much shock, so surprise.

I examined the walls, but there wasn’t the slightest bit of paper.

I’m beginning to think that despite having bionic eyes, the Nameless Narrator might need glasses. And possibly a helper monkey.

I slowly turned another corner, but Slender wasn’t there. The bathroom acquired dead ends, which made me grow even more anxious.

How is the bathroom acquiring these dead ends? Are they just suddenly springing up out of nowhere like mushrooms after it rains?

Slender could easily corner me, and there would be no escape.

Which is why this should have been the first place you went to when you entered the forest; not just because you might get cornered by a mythical monster, but because it was the only visible structure from the road.

The funny thing about this bathroom however, was that there were no urinals or toilets…just chairs. I found this very odd for a bathroom.

That is a bit odd; in the game the structure doesn’t have any toilets or urinals, probably as a cost-saving measure since it was a low-budget indie game, but there’s no reason for this structure to copy that detail.

I carefully turned the corner to escape the dead end, but instead of seeing air at the end of the hall, I saw a long black arm. Suddenly, a small amount of static covered my eyes.

Did Slendy physically throw a handful of ‘static’ in the Nameless Narrator’s face?

It took a couple of seconds to realize that he was there, and that I was trapped.

Nameless Narrator is not very bright, are they?

“Oh, oh, oh, oh…” I panicked as I walked backwards into the dead end.

Yeah, that sounds like a great idea.

I waited a moment or two, then looked again to see if Slender was still there. If he was, I was screwed.

Which means he’s probably gone.

I looked again, but he was nowhere visible.

Called that one.

I started my expedition again to find the fifth page. As I waved my flashlight back and forth, I couldn’t find the damn page! I am flustered.

Big frickin’ surprise there.

12:30 pm:

YOU SPENT AN HOUR SEARCHING A BATHROOM?!? Over an hour, since there was some searching in the previous chapter. You could clean the damn place in less time.

My emotions are boiling, and I’m becoming outraged.

THEN STOP BEING A USELESS DUMBASS!!!!

I have been in this building for an hour, and every corner I turned Slender was always there. I’ve been backed into corners several times, and I still couldn’t find the page.

And somehow Slendy didn’t capture you at any time despite having you cornered on numerous occasions. He really must not want to have anything to do with you.

Was it that hard to find? It’s just a white piece of paper in a boring, undecorated bathroom!

Apparently it really is that difficult because he hasn’t managed it yet.

I’m sick and tired and I’m ready to leave! I crept down the hallway, rolling my eyes.

See? Even the Nameless Narrator is getting tired of this shit.

“He’s behind the corner.” I scratched my chin. I knew he was there. It is only a matter of time before he catches me. I turned the corner and Slender was creeping…again.

After over an hour of playing peek-a-boo in this weird bathroom, he’s probably not even all that scary anymore. It’s like the first time you see a cockroach – they look all weird and scary and you chuck a book at it and scream like a little bitch, but after seeing a few you just sigh and go get a shoe.

I don’t know; he’s really not that scary anymore.

Hah! I knew it!

It’s to no surprise that he’s there; and all I do is look away and continue in the opposite direction.

Gee, it’s almost like you’re playing a game with a limited AI enemy character.

I’m starting to get really frustrated –

You’re getting frustrated? How do you think the audience feels? We’re having to watch you do this shit.

AH! There it is!

Well, it’s about damn time.

I snatched the piece of paper attached to the wall in front of me.

:headdesk:

It was right in front of you? SERIOUSLY?!?

I turned around and Slender was there.

What now? Is he going to give you a high five?

I sprinted to the nearest exit and burst from the building.

Woo-hoo.

I ran to find the next page; Slender quickly followed me.

Just not too quickly.

Then, he teleported and hid behind some of the trees in the forest.

If he’s hiding, how do you know where he is? Slendy’s probably really good at playing hide-and-seek.

In surprise, I screamed and ran in the opposite direction.

Oh-no, he’s going to follow behind you at a safe distance so you can see him but he’s not an actual threat to you.

Slender was more erratic now, and the constant static wouldn’t subside.

Erratic? He’s following close behind you but isn’t actually attacking you, just like every other time he’s been near you.

I ran and ran, and not long after that, I found multiple tankers. They were all a rusty yellow, with red stripes across them. Maybe there was a page there.

They appear to be a landmark, even though I think there’s just the one truck in the game, so you are probably right.

I quickly searched a few tanks, but Slender appeared between each one of them, watching me.

But continuing to do fuck-all when it comes to being a serious threat to you. You could probably poke him with a stick for an hour and he wouldn’t do anything.

I decided to skip the multiple tankers for now; for it was too risky.

I fail to see how this is risky; Slendy has been super creepy but really hasn’t done anything to threaten the Nameless Narrator. There’s that damned implausible static, but that’s been more of an annoyance than anything else.

I had to shake Slender off somehow,

If you wait long enough, he’ll do it for you.

so I jogged back into the forest, praying that I wouldn’t get lost and cornered.

But both of those things will probably happen, either separately or at the same time, but there won’t be any sort of dramatic tension since Slendy will do jack-shit beyond making Nameless Narrator mildly uncomfortable because that’s what has been happening for the entire fic.

chapter six Page 6 coming soon…

And, just a wild guess, it’s going to be even more of the same? I never thought I’d say it, but the sudden introduction of cannibalistic werewolves to the fic would make for a welcome change of pace. Even an impromptu forced romance between Slendy and the Nameless Narrator would liven things up. I JUST WANT SOMETHING TO HAPPEN, DAMMIT!

You know what? To hell with it. I’m doing a double post today.

AN: please read, review and enjoy chapter six: Page 6

I think the ANs are getting even shorter. If we’re lucky, maybe they’ll disappear completely.

Chapter six: Page 6

12:59 Am:

That’s strange; all the previous time stamps have been either exactly on the hour, quarter past, or half past. This is the first “odd” time used.

THIS IS FANTASTIC!

I seriously doubt that.

Approximately half an hour ago, I sauntered up to a couple of giant boulders.

So it was twelve twenty-nine? I can’t believe we didn’t get a time stamp for that momentous occasion.

I searched the perimeter, but there was no page.

I just can’t believe it took you so long to reach the perimeter.

I searched in between the rocks.

What rocks? Were there rocks somewhere near the fence that surrounds this farm/forest and prevents you from just walking out? Where are they?

However searching between the rocks had a costly consequence.

Why are you searching between the rocks? And how big are these rocks?

:shakes fic:

I NEED SOME CONTEXT, DAMMIT!

Unfortunately, I got stuck in between two boulders.

:deadpan: Oh, no; how terrible for you. Surely this is the end of our Nameless Narrator.

I couldn’t escape from the secluded area; which was absurdly frustrating. I attempted to squeeze from the rocks. FUCK! I cannot believe that I am stuck between boulders.

I assume from the fact that the narration has switched to the past tense for these paragraphs that the Nameless Narrator makes it out okay, since if they were captured there would be no Nameless Narrator around to tell the audience what had happened to them.

This is so humiliating, considering that Slender is always going to wind up behind me now. He is approaching closer and closer to me every minute.

But he won’t do anything but watch you from a distance, because this version of Slendy seems to be stuck in “Obsessed Fanboy Stalker” mode.

Well ladies and gentlemen, I think it is over.

Good-bye, fourth wall. You’ll hardly be missed.

I can’t get out, and I don’t have a stick of butter with me.

I’d be more worried if you did have a stick of butter with you.

At the brink of giving up, I slowly looked behind my back. “Okay, Slendy it’s over –”

The Nameless Narrator is jammed tightly in these rocks, but can still turn around to look behind themselves. I bet they’re turning their flashlight off and on while doing so, too.

But the funny thing was that he wasn’t there.

Yes, it’s such a shock for Slendy to vanish suddenly without any reason. It’s not like he hasn’t been doing that for the entire fic.

I finally freed myself from the rocks, and scooted out of the rocky area.

I guess the Nameless Narrator wasn’t quite as stuck as they thought they were. Maybe they weren’t really trying before. I guess they were distracted by the thought of their pitiful lack of butter.

… I’ve spent too much time with the clan.

Obviously, there isn’t a page here.

But it’s a landmark! Aren’t you supposed to be finding the pages on all the landmarks?

Goddammit! I’d expect that after all that work I went through, I would at least find some sort of object; a piece of paper would be appreciated.

How dare this totally not-a-game not reward you for your persistence in searching an area that had no visible signs of what you were looking for. Haven’t these rocks ever heard of giving someone who is totally not-a-game-character an Easter egg?

I continued north and tried to make my way back to the multiple tankers.

Why does the Nameless Narrator suddenly know cardinal directions? Before it was just “I’mma go over there.”

I knew that there was a page there.

But … But didn’t you just say that there obviously wasn’t a page there? Which is it?

I didn’t know how many landmarks were left in the forest,

Even though you’ve been wandering around for half the night.

but I had to find a way back to the rusted tankers without being caught by Slender.

I don’t think you have anything to worry about on that front, since Slendy’s had numerous chances to capture you and hasn’t done so yet.

I couldn’t afford to be caught, and my flashlight was getting dimmer by the minute. What was I going to do if my flashlight lost the light? I don’t have an extra pair of double AA batteries.

:looks around the forest/farm: If only you had a ready source of some sort of flammable material that could be set on fire to produce light.

After another 30 minutes,

:THWACK!:

No numerals!

looking behind my back was now illegal in my books.

You keep saying that, but you have an almost pathological need to keep turning around.

I was exhausted. It was one – thirty in the morning.

Shouldn’t it be later than that? At one minute to one you were trapped in the rocks, then you spent an unknown amount of time wriggling free, and then another half-hour passed.

Sweet mercy, the plot’s moving so slowly it’s actually started to go backwards!

I didn’t want to deal with Slendy right now.

Lucky for you, he doesn’t seem to want to deal with you either.

I don’t care that he’s following me.

Hate to break it to you, cupcake, but after seven chapters of this NO ONE cares.

I care if I get stuck and can’t get out or secluded in a small space which turns out to have several dead ends.

:headdesk:

Please don’t start rehashing previous chapters.

AKA: the bathroom that wasn’t exactly a bathroom at all. More like a shelter. Maybe it was Slendy’s home? Where does he go to the bathroom I wonder?

The Nameless Narrator is very easily distracted, aren’t they?

2:00 am:

…And now we’ve skipped forward a half-hour in which the Nameless Narrator just stood there doing nothing. (As opposed to wandering around and doing nothing, which is what they have been doing.)

I continued down the path, walking at a slower pace than I was an hour ago.

When did you get back to the path? You went off-roading a few chapters back, but now you’re suddenly back on this path again.

Then, I confronted a structure.

:the Nameless Narrator pokes Not-A-Bathroom in a vaguely threatening manner: “How dare you not be a bathroom! I’ve been out in the woods for hours!”

It was a brick wall.

Buildings do tend to be naturally stoic, but maybe it just doesn’t want to talk to you.

I sauntered around the wall,

Yet another odd verb choice. If you want to try to convey how tired the Nameless Narrator is, then use something like ‘trudged’ or ‘plodded’ or even ‘walked slowly’, not ‘sauntered’. Yes, it means to walk slowly, but it brings to mind a completely different set of emotions than what you are trying to get across.

and I noticed that there was another brick wall behind it.

That’s an … interesting architectural choice.

I soon realized that it was four bricked buildings attached to each other, resulting in the shape of a cross.

The walls are perpendicular to each other? The way the previous statement was worded made it look like they were in parallel. How big are these buildings if the Nameless Narrator was able to get close to a junction between two of the structures before even seeing the other buildings? And are the buildings of different heights? That’s really the only way to tell that there were four buildings in a X formation and not two in a L shape. In the game this landmark is just four perpendicular walls, not actual buildings, so it is easy to walk around them to get an idea of what they look like. Four actual buildings would probably take much longer.

Why was something like this built?

:shrugs:

Saying something like “Because this location was copied directly from a video game that required a certain number of obstacles” sounds a bit repetitive.

Maybe the last person who played this game was attempting to create shelter before nightfall.

…So they decided to build not one brick building, but four? Do you realize how stupid that sounds? Instead of doing something useful, this mystery person – in the course of one night, mind you – did the following;

  1. Cleared the trees off the land.
  2. Leveled the ground.
  3.  Acquired enough building materials for four buildings and their foundations.
  4. Transported these materials to this location.
  5. Constructed four separate foundations.
  6. Laid the brick for these four buildings.

I very much doubt it. Even the original four-wall X in the game isn’t something that could be easily built by a single person overnight.

I glanced in front of me and found a page on one of the walls.

Did it just suddenly appear out of thin air? Because you probably should have seen it when you turned the corner.

“Wow…That was easy.” I stated in a tired tone.

Are you trying to be sarcastic or just stating the obvious?

Bags appeared underneath my eyes.

Suddenly, and from behind!

I glanced at the previous page I discovered.

Unless you ignored the page you just found to pull the last one out of your sweater, I don’t think that’s the adjective you’re looking for.

It read:

CAN’T

RUN

Not after wandering around for – what, is it, like, seven or eight hours now? Some implausibly long period of time.

I placed that page in my pocket and quickly grabbed the sixth page.

Huh. So I guess the Nameless Narrator did ignore the recently discovered page to take out the prior one from their pocket. I hadn’t even noticed that they didn’t read it when they snatched it off the Not-A-Bathroom wall.

On the page was a doodle of several trees, covering a good section of the page. Near the middle of the page was a quick sketch of a stick figure; which I had already solved the stick figure as representing Slendy who resides in the trees for most of this game.

Give the MENSA candidate a gold star.

I placed the sixth page with the others. The pockets of my sweater were bulging.

This is why you should fold things up instead of just cramming them into your pocket so that you look like a hobo. It’s not like you haven’t had plenty of time to smooth the pages out and fold them.

I couldn’t turn around.

Because … reasons? Is there a reason for this, or is it just part of your new-found resolve to not look behind yourself every ten seconds.

I made my way east and wound up at the tunnel; again. I realized that I could turn south, and hopefully appear at the rusted tankers alive.

Yet more cardinal directions. I’m of two minds about this sudden trend; on one hand it is nice to finally know where some things are in relation to each other, but on the other if this was something you were going to do it should have been done from the beginning. Be consistent!

Chapter 7 page 7 coming soon…

Like next week, hopefully bundled with the last chapter so I don’t have to go through two more weeks of this.

48 Comments on “1816: Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said : Chapters 6 & 7”

  1. SC says:

    because otherwise I’m gonna stab someone.

    *Specs gives a happy gasp and proffers a sword from his nigh-endless collection*

  2. SC says:

    This can also lead to the length of time between chapters increasing – complete with apologetic “sorry it’s late” ANs – sometimes to the point that the fic is completely abandoned, but to their credit this author does actually stick with it until the eighth page is collected. There’s even a set-up for the sequel fic.

    Hell, a fic I’m reading right now, it isn’t that the author lost enthusiasm for it, it’s that ever since chapter one, he’s uploaded slow as balls.

    • GhostCat says:

      It’s not just chapters being posted shortly, everyone writes at their own pace after all, but there’s usually a frenzy of posts (sometimes with several fics going up or being updated within days of each other) and then a sudden drop in activity as the author realizes that hey! This writing stuff is hard. Especially if they are trying to maintain that same level of frenzied activity.

      • SC says:

        Yeah, that is definitely the difference. The fic I’m reading is updated slow as balls because, according to frequent and long-winded author’s notes (really the only drawback of the fic so far, but forgivable in this instance), the author makes it painfully clear that he has to do assloads of research just to make sure one sentence lines up properly.

        These kiddo authors who write in full-auto fire don’t do any of that shit.

  3. SC says:

    YOU SPENT AN HOUR SEARCHING A BATHROOM?!? Over an hour, since there was some searching in the previous chapter. You could clean the damn place in less time.

    *SC coughs and gestures over his shoulder at a horrid mess in the bathroom, coating the place from floor to ceiling in blood and gore*

    • GhostCat says:

      You forget – I’ve played Viscera Cleanup Detail before.

      • SC says:

        I mean, so have I, but that shit’s gonna take way more than an hour. The bathroom has eighty stalls.

        • GhostCat says:

          But no toilets or urinals or anything. With a pressure washer (or a fire hose with sufficient reach) it wouldn’t take that long to clean it.

      • SC says:

        On another note, why did we never finish installing the plumbing around here…?

      • Leider Hosen says:

        I think it had something to do with the mists of the formless void surrounding the Library leeching in through the pipes. Have you ever, in a tired stupor at 3am, tried to drink coffee made with void instead of water?

        I found myself completely apathetic to the details of my surroundings and I swear I turned into an unattributed voice a couple times!

        It’s a good thing OSHA doesn’t exist in this continuity. Dodgy characters, constant attacks, live animals running wild, ontological hazards in the toilets, randomly exploding equipment. It’s a good thing the only thing that actually works as intended around here is the respawn chambers.

        • GhostCat says:

          Have you ever, in a tired stupor at 3am, tried to drink coffee made with void instead of water?

          I found myself completely apathetic to the details of my surroundings and I swear I turned into an unattributed voice a couple times!

          On average, that happens about once a week. The ninjas keep a carafe in their break room, right next to the tea things. You either get used to it after awhile, or you contract hysterical blindness for the day.

      • SC says:

        We’ve been dodgy about how well the respawn points work for ages, man.

      • Leider Hosen says:

        Psh what? We’ve gone 50 days without a horrible maiming, that’s crazy talk.

        *incomprehensible screaming*

        …I’m sure he’s fine.

      • SC says:

        Specs: Contacts steals mine all the time!

        Contacts: …No I don’t? I steal expensive jewelry and shit, I don’t deal in organ harvesting.

        Specs: But then, who keeps stealing my spleen…?

        • GhostCat says:

          I’m tempted to blame Syl, but that doesn’t sould like her style. It was probably Doc or Ishi-sensei. Hopefully it wasn’t Gumdrop.

      • SC says:

        Doc: Hey. I’m a legit medical practitioner, I don’t do that mobster crap.

        But you got fired…?

        Doc: Because my employers were dicks, not because I did anything.

      • SC says:

        Doc: …Alright, fess up. Is it the thief-fucker, the pirate-fucker, or the ninja-fucker that’s spreading rumors about me?

        I’ma go with Syl, she likes starting shit.

  4. SC says:

    […]for most of this game.

    Oh, wow.

  5. SC says:

    I JUST WANT SOMETHING TO HAPPEN, DAMMIT!

    *Shades sets off a mortar and candy rains from the sky*

    Shades: …Did that help?

  6. AdmiralSakai says:

    to their credit this author does actually stick with it until the eighth page is collected. There’s even a set-up for the sequel fic.

    This is not a good thing.

  7. AdmiralSakai says:

    I slowly turned another corner, but Slender wasn’t there. The bathroom acquired dead ends, which made me grow even more anxious.

    How is the bathroom acquiring these dead ends? Are they just suddenly springing up out of nowhere like mushrooms after it rains?

    I’d suggest calling in the SCP Foundation, but they already showed up as soon as Slenderman appeared and then around Chapter Four they all got bored and left.

  8. AdmiralSakai says:

    a pair of double AA batteries

    So… quadruple-A batteries?

  9. AdmiralSakai says:

    I couldn’t turn around.

    Because … reasons?

    Because der Commissar’s in town?

    (Wo-ho-ho?)

  10. BatJamags says:

    The bathroom acquired dead ends, which made me grow even more anxious.

    See, this is what happens you give Mergers and Acquisitions access to the liquor cabinet.

  11. BatJamags says:

    “Oh, oh, oh, oh…” I panicked as I walked backwards into the dead end.

    Bow chicka bow wow?

  12. BatJamags says:

    What now? Is he going to give you a high five?

    I sprinted to the nearest exit and burst from the building.

    Aw man, don’t leave Slendy hanging like that!

  13. BatJamags says:

    FUCK! I cannot believe that I am stuck between boulders.

    I have no idea why, but this phrasing just cracks me up.

  14. BatJamags says:

    I can’t get out, and I don’t have a stick of butter with me.

    Hey, ninjas! Want to speed this along?

  15. BatJamags says:

    But the funny thing was that he wasn’t there.

  16. BatJamags says:

    pair of double AA batteries.

    That’s a lot of As. Are AAAA batteries a thing?

    • GhostCat says:

      Given the size difference between AA and AAA, if AAAA do exist then they must be damn near the size of a matchstick.

      • TacoMagic says:

        Just a little thicker than a match, but yeah, quad-As are pretty thin and adorable. I’ve only seen two or three things that use them.

        • GhostCat says:

          I Googled them out of curiosity and they look to be mostly used in the styli for computer graphics tablets and the like. And apparently you can peel open some 9V batteries and there’s six of the things inside.

  17. BatJamags says:

    It was a brick wall.

  18. BatJamags says:

    Bags appeared underneath my eyes.

    A wild Bags appeared!

  19. Leider Hosen says:

    That is a bit odd; in the game the structure doesn’t have any toilets or urinals, probably as a cost-saving measure since it was a low-budget indie game, but there’s no reason for this structure to copy that detail.

    Woah Ghostie, are you mad? “[Ctrl-C] + [Crtl-V]” doesn’t have an “insert” function, and manual insertion is way to advanced and radical for a mere author to do!

    (“Manual insertion” sounds way more sexual than I intended but I don’t wanna remove the term cause it sounds funneh)

  20. Delta XIII says:

    12:30 pm

    Wait, PM? As in, it is now MIDDAY?!


Leave a Reply

