1804: Unknown Origins – Prologue, Part Two

Title: Unknown Origins
Author: Cyberweasel89
Media: Video Games
Topic: Fallout: New Vegas
Genre: Adventure and Romance
URL: Chapter One
Critiqued by Angie
Rating: M

For swearing, nudity, sex, blood, and violence. Hey, it’s Vegas, baby.

And drugs and alcohol. Thanks Cyber.

Howdy, all! Welcome back to Unknown Origins. In case you forgot, last week we covered that someone doesn’t know what a final fuck you is, Angie doesn’t know the difference between Fallout and Vanilla Ice, and this fic covers such a wide variety of genres it’s shocking we haven’t crossed into the historical music category.

Without further ado, let’s continue on.

*record screech* Hold on a second.

Cyber’s with us today? Bwaaaah?

Because Angie knows neither Jack nor shit about Fallout? Bwaaaah?

Cyber: Hi, everyone! I’m Cyberweasel89. Call me Cyber. I wrote this steaming pile of poo back when I was young, stupid, and in the throes of hormonal puberty. It’s by far my worst fanfic ever and it’s such an honor to have it riffed on the Library! Even better to help with the actual riffing! I’m fangirling so hard about this! I’ll try not to interject much, though. Best leave this to the professional. ;)

I knew I wanted a person to help me understand this shit. Praise the fucking lord.

Well, let’s go then!

“You’re awake. How about that.”

An unfamiliar voice greeted her as she opened her eye.

*looks through the two paragraphs, frowning* Hmmm. We’re either missing a comma or we added two enters. Or both.

The light was blinding at first, but her eye quickly adjusted. She attempted to pull herself into a sitting position.

“Whoa, easy there. Easy. You’ve been out cold a couple a days now.”

*gasp* No shit?

Seriously, no shit. Y’all know I hate the fade to black trope, because you can predict LITERALLY EVERYTHING.

A hand steadied her. When she looked, there was a man in front of her. An older gentleman, balding with white hair and a white mustache, dressed in a white lab coat and blue jumpsuit, an odd device on his wrist. He seemed concerned, but calm.

*brain studies sentence for a while*

So we’re playing Monopoly?

“Why don’t you just relax a second. Get your bearings.”

She took a deep breath, trying to calm her mind. Then she felt the draft… and looked down to find herself sitting on a bed, the white sheet that had been over her having fallen onto the ground when she sat up… and she was completely naked.

*slaps a homemade censor bar onto the manuscript* NOT IN MY GOOD CHRISTIAN HOUSEHOLD, MOTHERFUCKER.

“Are you okay? You seem-”

She shrieked. A loud, deafening, high-pitched shriek of distress as she thrust her arms over her breasts and pulled her legs up against her body.

*covers ears until shrieking stops* Don’t do that, Cyber! You’re going to make my ears bleed!

“Wh-Where am I? Wh-Who are you? Wh-Where are my clothes?”

And wh-where is my ability to form sentences the first time?

Cyber: Get used to that. It’ll be consistent, annoying, and consistently annoying. Luckily it only shows up when Sue-chan is flustered or nervous. Which is, like, 90% of the time.

The stranger reached a hand out, trying to calm her. “It’s okay. This is Goodsprings. I’m Doc Mitchell. You’re clothes couldn’t be salvaged.”

I am not clothes. That isn’t even grammar. You are is mashed together.

I think I’m getting stupider reading this.

Cyber: How did pubescent!me miss that typo? So embarrassing! >_<

“D-Don’t touch me! G-Give me something to wear, please!”

I THINK I’VE FIGURED OUT WHO OUR MARY SUE IS.

Cyber: O RYL

The doctor sighed to himself, standing to walk into the other room. “Okay, alright.” He chuckled. “And here I thought modesty was dead in the youth of today…”

…you….

Did you just say that just because people don’t want to walk around naked, they’re ashamed of their bodies?

You….

*screams* I’m fine.

Cyber: I hate the me from the past. I really do.

She sat there on the sofa, in a quasi-fetal position, shivering and trembling. She wasn’t cold. She was scared out of her mind.

Can’t you be both? Is this a blue pill or red pill situation?

Cyber: Eh, I was probably going off the logic that a ramshackle house in the desert with no AC would be hot in the morning.

How else was she supposed to feel, waking up in some stranger’s house completely naked?

I mean, I don’t know. Depends on who you are. I, for one, would feel…awkward. And I would want to crawl into a hole and die. But Ms. Sue, I don’t know your life.

The stranger soon returned, holding some folded-up light blue garment. He held the garment out for her, and she shied away, whimpering. “It’s okay. Don’t cry now. I’ll leave it here and go into the other room while you change.”

I kinda imagined Ms. Sue hissing and crawling away from it like a vampire afraid of the sun. Is this how it ends? Mary Sue, death by blue clothes? *shrieks again* Imagine the eulogy.

He set the outfit on the sofa, and left to the other room just like he said he would. When she had found her ability to move again, and made sure he wasn’t going to peek in on her, she grabbed the garment to find it was some sort of… light blue gown with ties in the back. She hurriedly slipped herself into it.

No, no. You weren’t unable to sit up before. The Monopoly guy was just holding you down. Get your facts straight.

The more I talk about this fic the weirder it gets and the crazier I sound.

“Done yet?”

She gave a start at the stranger’s voice. She hurriedly tied the back… only to realize something. “Um… uh… uh… S-Sir?”

Ah, there’s one I haven’t used in forever. I haven’t used that since Scarlet.

Which we don’t speak of.

“What is it?” came his gentle reply.

“This… um… doesn’t have a back.”

The back you tied? Okay.

Cyber: *facepalms*

The doctor walked back into the room, and she showed him, blushing a deep crimson. Sure enough, it was completely backless, leaving her naked rear on display.

That was such a weird way to say that. ‘On display’? No one would want to see your ass in a passing glance, let alone with it on display.

Cyber: You should probably get a counter up for every time this fic says the word “naked.” Just sayin’.

“Yeah. It’s meant to be like that. It’s a patient gown, commonly used in hospitals before the War.”

Are…are hospital gowns not used anymore? Even in a post apocalyptic world, that’s…that’s really hard to believe.

Cyber: Good question. The only hospital gowns that are ever seen in the Fallout series are in a pretty isolated and science-y location, so I’d assume they’re pretty uncommon.

Blushing even deeper, she looked away from the stranger to try and keep some semblance of her dignity in this backless gown, trying not to think about how much of her ass was on display.

That was such a weird way to say that. ‘On display’? No one would want to see—wait wait no no NO—

*BLARING ALARMS BLARE*

Cyber: That was a close one, Angie. :P

Sighing, she sat back down on the bed, the country doctor pulling up a chair to sit in front of her.

“Ready? Calm again?

Again? …was she ever calm in the first place? Judging by the shrieking and struggling, I bet not.

Okay. Let’s see what the damage is. How about your name? Do you remember your name?”

She opened her mouth to give her name… only to close it when nothing came to mind.

*angrily scribbles something on a piece of paper* For fuck’s sake, Cyber. You just know every cliche in the book. From ‘and everything went black’ to ‘not knowing name after being unconscious’, it’s all there.

Cyber: Well, to be fair, the main character of Fallout: New Vegas having amnesia is a very common and popular fan theory. It would explain why the player character seems to know so little about the Mojave Wasteland despite having lived there for quite some time.

“So, you lost your memory, huh? Can’t even remember your own name? Well, hopefully it’ll come to ya with time.”

Didn’t we already establish her name was Porky Pig? Was that not a thing? That should’ve been a thing.

He shifted positions in his chair, leaning forward with his hands clasped under his chin. “I’m Doc Mitchell. Welcome to Goodsprings.

*BLARING ALARMS BLARE*

For fucking fuck’s sake, fuck you.

And just so ya know, I’ve been a doctor all my life. So I’ve seen plenty of people in all kinds a states a undress. No reason to be shy around me.”

I’m a doctor, so it’s fine to undress in front of me.

Dr. Mitchell, your perviness is showing.

She blushed and averted her gaze again. His occupation wasn’t making her feel any less embarrassed.

He reached to the side and handed her a mirror. “Here ya go. Take a look at yourself. You were shot twice in the head.

*long, dramatic sigh. Repeats mantra several times* Logic and fanfiction don’t mix. Logic and fanfiction don’t mix. Logic and fanfiction don’t mix.

I had to go rootin’ around in your noggin’ for all the bits of lead. Let me know if I left anythin’ outta place.”

I like to imagine Dr. Mitchell was just awkwardly poking the brain for a little bit before throwing his hands in the air and saying ‘good enough!’

And with that, today’s riff ends. I’ve been Angie, and I will see you next time on Unknown Origins.

44 Comments on “1804: Unknown Origins – Prologue, Part Two”

  1. AdmiralSakai says:

    “Why don’t you just relax a second. Get your bearings.”

    She took a deep breath, trying to calm her mind. Then she felt the draft… and looked down to find herself sitting on a bed, the white sheet that had been over her having fallen onto the ground when she sat up… and she was completely naked.

    This reminds me of nothing less that that Easy Breather comic.

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      Did you just say that just because people don’t want to walk around naked, they’re ashamed of their bodies?

      Oh great God in virtual-reality heaven, this is The Easy Breather!

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    You’re clothes couldn’t be salvaged.”

    Why? She got shot in the head once.

    Also, there’s such a thing as hospital gowns.

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      “What is it?” came his gentle reply.

      “This… um… doesn’t have a back.”

      The doctor walked back into the room, and she showed him, blushing a deep crimson. Sure enough, it was completely backless, leaving her naked rear on display.

      Well, I suppose that serves me right…

      • GhostCat says:

        They aren’t completely backless, though; hospital gowns have a slit down the back, but there are ties (typically at the neck and waist) to keep it shut. Her ass must be gigantic if it’s poking out of one of those tents.

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    She sat there on the sofa, in a quasi-fetal position, shivering and trembling. She wasn’t cold. She was scared out of her mind.

    Can’t you be both? Is this a blue pill or red pill situation?

    We’ve got the implication that the best thing a woman can do with her life is walk around naked all the time, so definitely red pill.

  4. AdmiralSakai says:

    “So, you lost your memory, huh? Can’t even remember your own name? Well, hopefully it’ll come to ya with time.”

    Didn’t we already establish her name was Porky Pig? Was that not a thing? That should’ve been a thing.

    Well this is going to make the inevitable sex scenes that much more awkward.

  5. THISISAMERICA says:

    So we’re playing Monopoly?

    Holy shit he does kinda look like Doc Mitchell

    AFTER I SCRAPED HIS BRAINS OFF THE BAR

  6. DasCheesenBorgir says:

    “Here ya go. Take a look at yourself. You were shot twice in the head.

  7. BatJamags says:

    The light was blinding at first,

  8. BatJamags says:

    You’re clothes couldn’t be salvaged.

    Yes, being shot in the head tends to irreparably damage… the clothes you’re wearing.

    • Leider Hosen says:

      As the resident socially awkward weeb I can assure you there is a perfectly logical explanation.

      Ya see, Benny is the main antagonist and [Error:404] Sue is the heroh at the start of her journey, therefore due to the immense difference in power level Benny shot her SO hard her clothes EXPLODED off her Fist of the Northstar style (because she’s a female pants immunity was not granted… for reasons)

      …And ya’kno, so we could be impressed with the info “Amnesiac Sue is Shai Gurl” with the tact and subtlety of an aircraft carrier being kamikazi’d onto our heads from orbit.

  9. BatJamags says:

    How else was she supposed to feel, waking up in some stranger’s house completely naked?

    I’d probably be confused, annoyed, and too concerned for my own well-being to sit around blubbering.

    Well, if we’re being realistic, it would probably be about a half hour before I realized I was in the wrong house, and another fifteen minutes to connect the dots that that means I probably shouldn’t be naked. And another fifteen to actually get out of bed and do something about it.

  10. BatJamags says:

    And just so ya know, I’ve been a doctor all my life. So I’ve seen plenty of people in all kinds a states a undress. No reason to be shy around me.”

    This… is not comforting.

    Hang on a second.

    And just so ya know, I’ve been a doctor all my life.

    I’m now imagining a baby popping out of the womb with one of those little head-dish things and a stethoscope and being all like “She’s doing OK, guys! I’ve got this one covered!”

    • TacoMagic says:

      Maybe it’s a pun. His parents named him “Doctor” after all.

      His medical degree was acquired with a certain degree of sibling antagonism, however.

      “Hah! Doctor is gonna be a doctor!”

      Shuddup! I like medicine, okay!? It’s got nothing to do with my name!

  11. Leider Hosen says:

    You know it kinda baffles me why everyone has shy characters stutter and sputter in the most obnoxious fashion possible to give the impression they are shy, rather than damaged mentally or unfortunately afflicted with a speech impediment.

    Hell, I had a character in the original version of my novel that acted more or less the same as Amnesia Sue AND WORSE, if you can believe that.

    And I should know better! I know lots of shy people! I myself am extremely shy, and I don’t stumble over words, more just stop talking to gather my thoughts since I’m in full-on panic mode and don’t know what to say when I’m nervous. But for some reason everyone thinks shy people act like those lolis that go absolutely crayzay when Senpai-Kun in near.

    Honestly makes me wonder. It’s probably just lack of writing experience in the end. Social anxiety is an extremely complicated thing to wrestle with and also very inconsistent since it can drag lots of other stuff into it like a really big, prickly snowball. Kinda hard to accurately capture that.

    • GhostCat says:

      I’m painfully shy and tend to go between two extremes; I’l either not say a single word, or I’ll start jabbering on about what ever damnfool thing pops into my head – which does not make the “painfully shy” part any better because what’s in my head are usually useless and bizarre bits of trivia. This is why, while out with some work friends, I started talking about how structurally unsound anime pudding-boobs are and then segued directly into human botflies. This is also why I don’t go out very much.

      • Leider Hosen says:

        Haha, yes that’s about my social life in a nutshell. My emotions tend to run on the surface and I get heated very easily. I know when I’m worried about something or just in a bad mood I’m usually not the most comfortable person to be around, so I’m extremely hesitant to approach people and extremely paranoid about how to act or what to say because you know, these are people I want to interact with and I don’t want to weird them out.

        Oddly enough when I actually start talking, the words come easily and I daresay I can be pretty charming sometimes, with how positively people react to me. But damn… if it isn’t the worst thing to actually get to that part, and if I even remotely run into conflict I’m good at convincing myself I’m Super-Deth Hitler V.117 and jump down a dark cave to hide my shame from the world, when really it was all in my head.

        …That’s… actually why I vanished for awhile until now. I was going through a rough spot and when I saw how much venom I’d poured around here I felt so embarrassed by my behavior I left and convinced myself I was just an annoyance to everyone, even though I enjoyed nerding it out here.

        But, well, I’m doing better now. A lot better, and I felt like it was time to get out of the cave and try talking again. (I’ll just leave it there, I’m not very good at thinly veiled apologies lol)

      • Angie says:

        MY BEST FRIEND LEIDER IS BACK.

      • Leider Hosen says:

        Hiiiiii. *tiny wave*

      • Angie says:

        I missed you many much.

      • Leider Hosen says:

        Feeling’s mutual. I should have gotten over my angsting and just come back sooner.

      • It was partly inexperienced writing, partly inexperienced living. I’m extremely outgoing and sociable, so the concept of being shy was something I had no personal experience with at that point, so I tended to equate nervous stuttering with introversion based purely on observation of media. I’m older and wiser now.

    • TacoMagic says:

      Social anxiety is an extremely complicated thing to wrestle with and also very inconsistent since it can drag lots of other stuff into it like a really big, prickly snowball. Kinda hard to accurately capture that.

      Missed an opportunity for using a Katamari metaphor. I am disappoint.

      • Leider Hosen says:

        Sqweeeeee! We Love Katamari was the tits when I was a Little Hosen. Now I’m imagining a guy asking for a Katamari to be rolled all over his brain, sponging up all the depression, so it can be launched into space and dubbed Planet Sadsack. (It’s the kind of game where that is not entirely implausible)

      • TacoMagic says:

        We Love Katamari was the tits when I was a Little Hosen.

        Welp, now I feel old. The first Katamari Damacy was given to FPM and I the same year we were engaged.

        • GhostCat says:

          They recently re-released the first three Crash Bandicoot games as a remastered trilogy and there’s been a lot of videos posted on YouTube of people playing them and talking about how good these “retro” games are and how they were childhood favorites and I’m thinking “Crash isn’t that old, he came out when I was in high school”. Then I did the math and realized that was about twenty years ago.

  12. TacoMagic says:

    Cyber: Eh, I was probably going off the logic that a ramshackle house in the desert with no AC would be hot in the morning.

    Luckily the void is fairly neutral in temperature. It’s never really too hot, too cold, or even just right. But it certainly is temperature most of the time.

  13. Swenia says:

    How else was she supposed to feel, waking up in some stranger’s house completely naked?

    I call that “Thursday.”

  14. TacoMagic says:

    *angrily scribbles something on a piece of paper* For fuck’s sake, Cyber. You just know every cliche in the book. From ‘and everything went black’ to ‘not knowing name after being unconscious’, it’s all there.

    Cyber: Well, to be fair, the main character of Fallout: New Vegas having amnesia is a very common and popular fan theory. It would explain why the player character seems to know so little about the Mojave Wasteland despite having lived there for quite some time.

    This is one of the cases where amnesia is somewhat believable/allowable since your character was shot in the head and brought back to life, presumably with either some kind of regenerative medicine or cybernetics. Both techs exist and are relatively common in the Fallout universe, but New Vegas is a bit vague on the particulars because video game mechanics. Given what happens later in the DLC, regeneration is the more likely option.

    Even so, the whole thing is just flat out game mechanics. The Courier is supposed to be a blank slate for the player to mold to their liking, so the developers needed at least a superficially plausible way to make that happen. One of those “We need something easy so we can get back to designing content!” Amnesia from getting shot in the head? “Close enough!, Go with it!”

    • Angie says:

      I guess it’s at least marginally better than having the Courier be the movie teenage girl stereotype, what with a blank gaze with little to no social commentary (no I am not referring to Juno or The Edge of Seventeen, because those are both masterpieces of cinema). At least it’s a funny kind of weird, and makes for many jokes. “She’s quirky, she’s shy, she has giant boobs, she’s missing an eye. Just like you!”

      All things considered, I don’t exactly blame the amnesia thing on Cyber, if that’s the popular theory. It’s just a tired trope and I tend to groan if and when I ever see it. If anything, I should be cursing out Obsidian Entertainment or Bethesda. Which both sound infinitely more fun.

      Hiraani: I guess the moral of the story is Angie kinda hates the Fallout universe.

      • TacoMagic says:

        I think the bigger issue at play here is that Cyber was just going with the standard canned player start without realizing that, plot wise, the start is pretty horrible because it’s being used as a game mechanic to have the player set-up their character. It would be like starting an Elder Scrolls fanfiction with the character creation screen.

        You go through this lengthly question-and-answer section where you set up your skills, S.P.E.C.I.A.L. stats, and the like. The mirror comment the Doc makes is straight from the game where you’re handed the mirror and it takes you into the character-customization window where you can set all your physical attributes (sex, height, skin color, build, facial features, tattoos, etc).

        From a standpoint of a good story, none of that belongs. A more mature writer would dare to write a more interesting start instead of going on-rails with the more dubious portions of the game.

      • Angie says:

        Keep in mind that this Prologue goes on for three more riffs, which means we’re not even halfway through, which most likely means more of the same shit.

        And I totally agree. Although staying close to the source material is better than completely straying away from it, repeating it line by line and action by action is lazy and bad writing.

        One time while I was looking through FanFiction.net to find a new fic to review before I settled on The Girl and Brego’s Mistress, I found a really weird The Fox and the Hound 2 fic where the opening scene is taken straight from the movie. (I will not review this, at least not in the foreseeable future, so I don’t really care about spoiling that.) That fic is much, much worse, but even then at least it’s not so tedious that it takes 5,000 words to talk about customizing your character.

        I don’t know that I agree with Cyber’s stance that this is her worst fic, but it’s certainly got her touch. Like, if you had me compare one of her passages to someone else’s without telling me whose is whose, I could pick hers out.

        It’s a shame, really, considering how much she’s grown from this. I almost feel weird reviewing the fic. But hey, I’ve got to fill up the weekly mark somehow, and she told me to go wild.

        But yes. Very stupid, I agree. That’s the “too long didn’t read” version of my comment.

      • I’m actually planning a (hopefully good) Fallout fanfic that has a Courier who does NOT have amnesia, and actually picks up a bit after his adventure has begun. He’s also not even the viewpoint character. And, to further distance myself from this piece of shit Angie is riffing, he has a penis. XD

      • Angie says:

        He has a dick? Nice.

        I, uh. Guess I should be more excited. Hold on.

        *clears throat*

        HE HAS A DICK. HE HAS A DICK. LEO DICAPRIO GAVE BACK HIS OSCAR, DAVID BOWIE HAS BEEN RESURRECTED, AND THE WORLD HAS BEEN SET BACK INTO MOTION.

      • Well, I figured that it would be easier to avoid the trappings of this fic by making the Courier male. ^^;

      • SC says:

        It would be like starting an Elder Scrolls fanfiction with the character creation screen.

        Dude, that’s basically what The Ratways did. That fic started with everybody being carted to Helgen, followed by Alduin’s very timely attack on Helgen (ironically sparing the very creature he was trying to kill from being killed). As far as I know, the fic is still stuck at the part where Ralof fucking murders Hadvar and runs into Helgen Keep with the Dragonborn in tow.

        …It occurs to me that Skyrim would have ended in apocalyptic disaster if Alduin had just been patient for a few more seconds before fucking up Helgen.

    • Leider Hosen says:

      As someone who’s played entirely too much Fallout NV, I’m pretty sure the Courier was in critical condition but didn’t actually fully die. It’s been awhile, but I’m pretty sure Victor (who’s secretly a minion of Mr. House) recovered her body within minutes of her being shot and took her to the Doctor before her vitals completely went flat. It’s possible IRL to survive a bullet to the head as long as it doesn’t break anything vital, so I don’t see why it couldn’t happen here. Also, Lonesome Road confirms the Courier was always an unstoppable badass, in fact moreso in the past then now, so by videogame logic she’s considerably more durable than the average joe.

      In Old World Blues, I’m pretty sure it mentions the brain removal procedure finally did what it was supposed to because the assassin’s bullet was still entombed in her head, so the machines had to work around the obstruction and that actually course-corrected the issue (which is some bullshit, now that I say it aloud lol).

      So I’m pretty sure that Benny put a couple bullets in her, poked her with his foot, and said “Eh, looks dead to me.” and left, when really the Courier was in a trauma-induced mini-coma. Victor was able to grab her very quickly and get her immediate medical attention to stop the bleeding. Doc Mitchel pulled out the remains of one bullet, but there was actually a second round buried deeper in he couldn’t operate on, so he applied Stimpacks and just let it heal over since it would be more dangerous to attempt removal than to let it lie.

      So, it’s well within the realm of probability she lost her memory, and the amnesia persisted on account of a hunk of lead where her think stuff used to be. It’s still a cop-out, but I feel like they put at least some effort into adding in bits of clever hints and explanation.

      Cleverness that probably could have gone towards an OP that didn’t try to make the Courier a vital centerpiece to the story that was ALSO oblivious to everything and needed lengthy exploration and exposition to be in the know.

      • TacoMagic says:

        There are several problems with the simple surgery explanation which is why I go with regeneration of some kind. Yes, you can survive a bullet to the head, but in order for a bullet to do enough damage to your frontal cortex to cause amnesia, it also has to destroy/impair quite a few other things, like fine motor control, spatial problem solving, language, social understanding, and a few others. Since the Courier doesn’t noticeably suffer from any of these (not without directly gimping them as part of a special run), it’s next to impossible that the healing that took place after the gunshot could have been due to simple surgery alone.

        As you say, OWB is the reason why it pretty much can’t be cybernetic reconstruction, which is what I alluded to when I mentioned the DLC.

        The bullet lodged in the part of your brain dealing with memory makes sense form the standpoint of being unable to regenerate part of the brain, and if it was in just the right spot, it might prevent structured recall. Even that is super unlikely, just not as unlikely as the brain taking a shot and only having memories be impaired. That would akin to driving your car through a china shop but only breaking the tea cups.

        Then again, like a lot of games, sometimes you just have to apply the MST3K mantra and go with whatever they’re serving up.

      • Leider Hosen says:

        I’m inclined to agree with all those points, yeah. I mean, they did attempt to explain it, but I agree it’s not a terribly good explanation and the odds of all the stars aligning for that to happen without turning the character into a vegetable is astronomically low.

        I watched an interesting documentary on amnesia a long time ago… can’t remember when, but something I always remembered was an aside about how amnesia isn’t about LOSING memories, it’s about losing the connection to those memories. Like, the file is there, but all the shortcuts and commands responsible for accessing that information are broken or corrupt.

        It’s how chronic amnesiacs can relay what it’s like to have amnesia and not remember things, and why they still have long-term skills and the ability to speak. The info is there, so they can recall it subconsciously, they just can’t recall certain details with conscious effort because the information is misplaced when it’s moving from one point to the other.

        The point I’m leading to is that memory loss seldom has to do with some vital part of the brain being destroyed outright, in fact amnesia on the level we’re talking here is extremely rare. So if she was shot hard enough to induce instant and permanent amnesia, there’s no way other parts of her brain aren’t fucked up to, definitely agree.

        But you know, videogame I suppose.

      • Unfortunately, my defense of this is extremely shoddy. I was young, stupid, and thought that the common fictional depiction of amnesia was pretty much the standard form of it. Only later in life did I realize that amnesia isn’t quite like this, and my later writings reflect this. So, sadly, my only defense is “I was young and stupid.”


Leave a Reply

