1797: Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said – Chapter 2

 

Title: Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said
Author: seclinalunica
Media: Video Game/Creepypasta
Topic: Slender: The Eight Pages
Genre: Horror/Suspense
URL: Chapter 2
Critiqued by Ghostcat

 

 

 

 

Hello, dear Patrons, and welcome back to more Slender Man fic! Hopefully it will eventually contain some actual Slender Man, but who know when that might happen? This fic moves slower than molasses in January.

In the first chapter we were introduced to the Nameless (and thus far genderless, faceless, and all around made of Void) Narrator, who is incredibly bad at planning even a short trip to a friend’s party, leaving them stranded out of gas and sans cell phone on the side of the least busiest highway ever. They do happen to be located just across the highway from a farm/forest, which is presumably where they will run afoul of The Slender Man.

AN: SLENDER CHAPTER 1! PLEASE READ, REVIEW and ENJOY!

Technically this is the second chapter, not the first.

Chapter one: Page 1

You really don’t have to label the chapter twice, we understood you the first time.

6:45pm:

I kind of want to thwack you for that, but it’s a time-stamp and not part of the actual narration. It’s still janky as hell, though.
But wait a second… The last chapter stated that Nameless Narrator left their car at 6:30, crossed the road, and stopped in front of the open gate leading into the farm/forest. Even a very slow walker wouldn’t take that long.

As I entered through the opened gate, I noticed that it was starting to get dark.

That’s kind of early for it to be getting dark, unless this is happening in the wintertime – unfortunately there hasn’t been any hints in the narration as to what season it currently is so I don’t know if it is winter or not.

I quickly scanned the area around my feet, but I couldn’t find anything. There wasn’t a shed present or a building of any sort.

You’re standing in the middle of an open gate that presumably leads to a road of some kind, yet you’re surprised that there’s not a building directly under your feet?

I don’t think you understand how roads or buildings work.

It seemed as if the short building I saw earlier had disappeared before my eyes. Or it was in the heart of the forest.

You don’t really seem to understand how perception works, either. It’s probably a good thing you’re not driving now.

I stared ahead and looked through the empty hole of darkness between the trees.

And long I stood and looked down one as far as I could to where it bent in the undergrowth … No, wait; that’s something different.

I walked past the gate, and took a few steps closer toward the entrance of the forest.

If you walked past the gate then you would be on the side of the highway somewhere, not approaching the forest/farm. You walked through the gate.

CrrreeeeaaAAAKKK…SLAM!

Ooh, onomatopoeia. I should probably dispatch the clan with some Pies of Calming for Herr, just in case.

I quickly glanced behind me. Instead of seeing an opened gate, I observed a closed gate.

That’s a very calm and detached way of phrasing the situation. I’d probably be freaking the hell out right about now.

I want to know what kind of gate this is. It wouldn’t have opened into the highway, that’s just stupid, and apparently it didn’t slide shut, so that means either one very wide gate or two smaller gates would have had to swing towards the opening – the opening the Nameless Narrator was still standing in. They should have been pushed out of the enclosure by the slamming gate/s, or at least stopped the gate/s with their body.

I ran toward the steel gate, attempting to open it. Then…I heard a faint –

Click.

The thing just slammed shut by itself, how is a barely audible click more ominous than that?

I used all of my might to free the gate open, but it was no use…it was locked.

Is there any locking mechanism visible on the gate anywhere? Does it have a manual release of some kind? These are things that you should be looking for right now, and things most gates would have.

I scanned the fenced area, looking for a way escape.

You should probably walk around a bit instead of just standing in one spot, since you probably can’t see much of the fence due to the forest/farm around you.

I shifted my eyes to the left, and noticed the elongated metal fence.

:headdesk:

You were just looking at the damned thing! How can you be noticing something you were staring right at?

“I could climb over it and run back to the car,” I thought.

Hey, that’s actually a good idea! Provided the fence is low and/or climbable enough for you to do that in the first place. Of course, the gate/s might be a better place to start, since it is directly in front of you.

I walked up to the fence.

Which should be very close, since you were just tugging on the gate/s.

Placing one hand on the fence, I –

ZAP!

“Ow!” startled, I jumped away from the fence. “It’s an electric fence?!” I shook my hand in pain. “…ouuuuch…”

Nandatte? Nameless Narrator was just pulling on the gate; if the fence is electrified, then the gate should have been electrified as well since the gate would complete the circuit. And what kind of electric fence is it? Most typical electric fences are simply posts with thin wires stretched between them;

They can be backed with wooden posts and rails, or wire mesh, or even chain-link which is what you see in the game, but the primary deterrent is the electrical current and not the fence’s physical presence. The fence pictured would be one of the easiest for a determined person to get past; just kick down a post and walk over the downed fence to freedom, protected from the current by the rubber soles of your shoes.

7:15 pm:

That had better be a time-skip because there’s no way that took a full half-hour.

The sun had vanished. In autumn, the sun would set early, and it would be dark by approximately seven.

Yay, we finally have a season!

Still standing by the gate, I looked back into the forest.

Has Nameless Narrator just been standing there, staring at the gate, for that long? Damn, but they are completely useless.

I listened carefully. All I heard was the sound of silence. It was a humble sound.

I’m just going to add “sound” to the list of things you don’t understand.

Then I heard a voice in my head, an eerie voice. As I focused on the voice, it became louder and louder screaming, “Get out get out…GET OUT!”

I think the Nameless Narrator might have accidentally stumbled into the Amityville Horror house by mistake. They should probably check to see if the gate or trees are bleeding.

Again, there was silence.

Are you absolutely sure about that?

I turned on the flashlight, and started to walk toward the vast forestry before me.

I don’t think that’s the word you are looking for, but it’s very close.

Once I reached the entrance of the forest,

I’m picturing those giant gates like they had in Jurassic Park.

I noticed a small sign posted on one of the tree trunks. I read the sign carefully.

“Please do not piss on our rabbits.”

DANGER:

MONSTER INSIDE FOREST

ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK

Oh. Well, shouldn’t that be something you post on the outside of the fence, not pinned to a tree in the frickin’ forest you’re warning people about?

I scratched the side of my head. I was perplexed. Was there a wolf, coyote, cougar, or some kind of other animal in there? It said a monster…

Wouldn’t the more pressing question be “Why is there a monster INSIDE THE FENCE?” And the gate was wide open for who knows how long; the ‘monster’ might have run out to play in traffic by now.

Then I noticed a handwritten note posted underneath the danger sign.

“Hedgehogs are not suppositories.”

SLENDER:

FIND THE 8 PAGES AND THE GATE WILL OPEN

AVOID SLENDERMAN

ONCE THE 8 PAGES ARE COLLECTED RUN BACK TO THE GATE AND ESCAPE BEFORE HE CLOSES IT AGAIN

Is that it? That’s all the information you get? What a crock of shit. Go back to the fence and start kicking, Nameless Narrator.

The note was vague.

Exceptionally so.

Find the eight pages and you survive?

I know! It sounds so far-fetched, doesn’t it? How would the gate even know when you collected all these pages? Do you have to bring them back and show the gate, or will there be some kind of signal transmitted once they are brought together?

I had no other choice.

You have a lot of choices, you’re just ignoring them all to follow what happens in the game.

If I want to escape from this farm, I must listen to the note.

:points:

You didn’t even try to break down the fence, or find the source of the electricity, or anything!

So I accepted the challenge and entered the forest to find the eight pages.

For reasons that are beyond my comprehension.

I know this is the basic premise of the game, but this makes no logical sense in context. Nothing has been explained in any way that would make me think “Yes, this is what the character has to do now.”

8:00 pm:

Yay, another precision time-skip.

I had been wandering around the forest for at least forty – five minutes.

No, you’ve been wondering around for exactly forty-five minutes. I know this because there have been time-stamps. If you had just stayed by the fence you probably could have flagged down a passing motorist by now.

My breathing was heavy, and I was exhausted.

You also appear to be out of shape.

Where were these pages? What do they look like?

And why is it taking you so long to find them? If this was the game then Slendy would have caught you a half-dozen times already. And since you apparently don’t know what they look like, is it possible you’ve found them already and just don’t know it?

I understand that finding the eight pages will help you survive from a terrible fate, but why eight pages?

Don’t you mean “me”, that finding them will help me survive from a terrible fate since this is first-person narration?

Why not eight teddy bears?

That’s a weird item to pick, but there’s probably a mod for that. There’s a number of different versions of the Slender game with different items, like candy canes or bowls of pudding, that you have to find.

But then again, why eight of anything? It makes a kind of sense as a gameplay mechanic; it gives the player a definite goal to achieve and with each item collected the antagonist (in this case, The Slender Man) becomes steadily more aggressive to make the game more of a challenge. But outside of a game this is just ridiculous; collecting X number of Y in order to Z is just nonsense. It’s just one of those things that isn’t practical outside of a game.

The voice in my head entered again. Don’t ask why; just find the eight pages, and then GET OUT!

Maybe it’s just me, but if I suddenly started hearing strange voices in my head (more so than usual) then I probably be more concerned about the voices than this alleged monster that hasn’t made its presence known in the hour and a half Nameless Narrator has been in the forest/farm.

I tilted my head upward, and gazed at the stars above me.

That you can somehow see despite being in a thick forest.

Compared to the dense and creepy atmosphere, the night sky was absolutely beautiful.

And mostly obscured thanks to the aforementioned thick forest.

I waved my flashlight around. I was clicking the flashlight on and off, trying to save battery power.

And I’m sure waving it around for no reason is a good way to conserve battery power.

If I kept it on for too long, it would die; and if there really is a monster in the forest, a dead flashlight wouldn’t be good.

I seriously doubt that there’s much a flashlight would do against most ‘monsters’, but if light is one of your main concerns then I have a solution for you – GO BACK TO THE HIGHWAY, DUMBASS! There’s probably streetlights along the road, and even if there’s not, there would be more open ground so you would have more light than under the trees. You might also be able to attract the attention of motorists with your flashlight; hell, you could build a bonfire in the middle of the road if you really wanted to.

This is one of the main issues that occur when an author tries to translate gameplay mechanics directly over into a written work; in a game, the player’s character has limited options available to them. Game designers want their games to progress in a certain way, so they tailor the player’s options to those ends. In a game like Slender, you don’t really have an option not to look for the pages – if you’re not going to look for them then why even play the game? – but in a written work the character’s options are nearly limitless. If you are going to have a character in a written work do what the game character does, then there must be a good reason for them to do so – and “because it happens in the game’ is NOT a good reason.

8:15 pm:

Yet another time-skip. You’d think Nameless Narrator would have been eaten by a grue or something if they’ve been wandering around for more than two hours.

I focused on the path straight ahead, and noticed I was heading toward a lone tree. There was a small, circular path surrounding it. The tree was odd shaped, and the unnerving.

The what was unnerving? The tree? The path? The fact that you’ve spent this long in a forest/farm inhabited by an unknown number of unknown monsters with fuck-all happening to you?

It was a calm and quiet night; I wouldn’t think that there was anything weird going on in the forest.

Because thus far nothing has happened; you could have chopped down a tree with a butter knife, sawn it into planks, and built a footbridge over the fence by now.

The atmosphere and environment was breath taking.

:stares into tree-filled Void:

I’ll have to take your word for it.

Suddenly,

And from behind!

I saw a white object resting against the tree.

Ah, the PCC finally delivered that milk I ordered. Of course, it’s been over a week so it’s probably closer to cheese by now.

I sprinted toward it, and switched the flashlight off.

:headdesk:

What new dumbassery is this? Why would you turn off your only source of light while running through the frickin’ trees?

Once I reached the tree, I noticed that the foreign object was a white page with hints of yellow on the corners of the paper. This must have been one of the eight pages the sign was talking about. However, there was something written on the front of the page. I turned on the flashlight.

:headdesk:

:headdesk:

:headdesk:

Nameless Narrator can see the paper well enough to describe it down to the yellowing at the edges even though they are in a deep forest in the middle of the night and don’t turn on their only available light source until AFTER they describe the paper.

The page was a typical size; 8½ x 11.

Eight and a half inches by eleven inches is the standard size for writing paper in the US, and the pages in the game do appear to be some sort of ruled paper – but they are lacking the margins and top border, so it’s possible they have been cut down from standard sheets of notebook paper.

:THWACK!:

:THW!:

:THWACK!:

That’s for the numerals.

The writing on the page was in a pencil medium,

I think it’s actually supposed to look like crayon, it looks too thick to be done with a pencil even with all the repetitive scribbles.

and the words seem distressed and in a state of panic.

:alarms blare:

Speaking of repetitive… :picks up Xenodoken Gun: Back in a second, Patrons.

—SCENE REDACTED DUE TO EXCESSIVE VIOLENCE—

I’ll have to let Bifocals know that the new trigger assembly is working out splendidly; and it’s so plush and comfy, now! I could fire explosive aliens all day.

It read:

DON’T LOOK!

OR IT TAKES YOU!

In the bottom right hand corner of the page, there was a simple drawing of a man.

I’ll give the author credit, that’s a pretty good description of one of the pages.

Wasting no time, I snatched the paper that was placed firmly on the tree; and shoved the first page in the pocket of my sweater.

I thought the “white object” was just resting against the tree, but now it’s ‘placed firmly’ on it? And what does that mean, exactly? Is it pinned to the trunk, or leaning against it in a forceful manner, or what?

I turned around.

Right round, like a record baby, right round, round round.

BOooommm…

BOooommm…

BOooommm…

What the hell is that sound!?! Is Gumdrop doing jumping jacks again?

The atmosphere was no longer calm. Instead of the sound of silence, the only sound that I heard was…

Something not written by Simon & Garfunkel?

Constant bass

…Is there a rave or some kind of party going on in the forest/farm? Because I’ve heard it’s all about that bass, about that bass, (no treble) and then something about bringing booty back, which I’m all for.

After you find the first page in the game there is a steady drumming noise, much like thunder, that signals the beginning of The Slender Man’s pursuit. Until you find the first page, you’re relatively safe; each successive page makes Slendy more aggressive and the sound grows in intensity into a deep thrum I associate with heavy machinery that is working hard in a nearby room.

Chapter 2: Page 2 coming soon…

Hopefully it’s not as tedious as this chapter. Is it really going to take Nameless (and still genderless, faceless, and otherwise made of Void) Narrator this long to find each page? They’ll be caught in minutes.

48 Comments on “1797: Slender: Find the Eight Pages They Said – Chapter 2”

  1. AdmiralSakai says:

    I walked past the gate, and took a few steps closer toward the entrance of the forest.

    Good to see that the story is complying with OSHA Policy 2301(b), which dictates that all forests, copses, meadows, and other agglomerations of plant life must have a single clearly-marked entrance.

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    Instead of seeing an opened gate, I observed a closed gate.

    “Therefore, using my Sherlockian deductive skills, I hypothesize that the gate has in fact been closed!

    My God. This changes everything!

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    I listened carefully. All I heard was the sound of silence.

  4. AdmiralSakai says:

    SLENDER:

    FIND THE 8 PAGES AND THE GATE WILL OPEN

    AVOID SLENDERMAN

    ONCE THE 8 PAGES ARE COLLECTED RUN BACK TO THE GATE AND ESCAPE BEFORE HE CLOSES IT AGAIN

    Is that it? That’s all the information you get? What a crock of shit. Go back to the fence and start kicking, Nameless Narrator.

    I am now immensely tempted to go around and post notes like this on locked doors in the building where I work, claiming that if you do some sort of random annoying fetch quest the doors will magically open.

  5. AdmiralSakai says:

    Compared to the dense and creepy atmosphere, the night sky was absolutely beautiful.

    That’s why most modern astronomy is performed using orbital telescopes.

    The Earth’s atmosphere is just too creepy to permit accurate measurements.

  6. AdmiralSakai says:

    I was clicking the flashlight on and off, trying to save battery power.

    Actually, as most types of bulb have a higher current draw when just powered up, this will drain your battery faster.

    • SC says:

      Well, there’s that video game logic, again: In the Slender games, you actually do conserve battery power by pretending your flashlight is a rave light.

  7. AdmiralSakai says:

    The atmosphere was no longer calm. Instead of the sound of silence, the only sound that I heard was…
    Constant bass

  8. BatJamags says:

    But wait a second… The last chapter stated that Nameless Narrator left their car at 6:30, crossed the road, and stopped in front of the open gate leading into the farm/forest. Even a very slow walker wouldn’t take that long.

    It was a wide road, alright?

  9. BatJamags says:

    There wasn’t a shed present

    Aw, shit. That means Santa didn’t read my letter!

  10. BatJamags says:

    CrrreeeeaaAAAKKK…SLAM!

    Like, zoinks, Scoob! Let’s get out of here!

  11. BatJamags says:

    I quickly glanced behind me. Instead of seeing an opened gate, I observed a closed gate.

    As opposed to seeing the one gate be both open and closed?

    *Alarms blare*

    Well, crap.

  12. BatJamags says:

    The thing just slammed shut by itself, how is a barely audible click more ominous than that?

    Wind can blow doors shut. Wind can’t blow locks… locked.

    *Alarms blare*

    I should’ve seen that coming.

  13. BatJamags says:

    I used all of my might to free the gate open, but it was no use…it was locked.

    Why would a gate like this be locked from the outside? Presumably, it’s there to keep people out or animals in (or animals out, I suppose). Animals don’t have opposable thumbs, so it would make sense to have a way to unlock it from the inside in case a human gets stuck in there.

  14. BatJamags says:

    I listened carefully. All I heard was the sound of silence. It was a humble sound.

    Yes!

  15. BatJamags says:

    SLENDER:

    FIND THE 8 PAGES AND THE GATE WILL OPEN

    AVOID SLENDERMAN

    ONCE THE 8 PAGES ARE COLLECTED RUN BACK TO THE GATE AND ESCAPE BEFORE HE CLOSES IT AGAIN

    Hooray for game mechanics in the narrative!

  16. BatJamags says:

    If I want to escape from this farm, I must listen to the note.

    And notes are well known for producing sound which can be listened to.

  17. BatJamags says:

    So I accepted the challenge and entered the forest to find the eight pages.

  18. BatJamags says:

    I’ll have to let Bifocals know that the new trigger assembly is working out splendidly; and it’s so plush and comfy, now! I could fire explosive aliens all day.

    Pillow bunker construction is speeding up.

  19. BatJamags says:

    Constant bass

  20. SC says:

    I’ll have to let Bifocals know that the new trigger assembly is working out splendidly; and it’s so plush and comfy, now! I could fire explosive aliens all day.

    *Bifocals giggles and twirls her ponytail girlishly*

    Shades: …Well, this is a bad sign.

    • agigabyte says:

      Goddess: If you ever need any spare funds or resources, Bifocals, I can provide them as long as you provide blueprints of the tech for my engineers to examine.

      Cain: Please, don’t accept the offer. Please.

      • BatJamags says:

        That sounds like-

        Hm.

        *Puts on tuxedo and fake mustache and then initiates horrible Marlon Brando impression*

        That sounds like an offer she can’t refuse.

  21. agigabyte says:

    I’m just going to add “sound” to the list of things you don’t understand.

    Cain: We could make a novel out of that.

    Goddess: Hmm.

    Cain: How much of this trend of you considering idiotic ideas legitimate, and how much is simply you being an asshole?

    Goddess: Classified.

    Cain: Really?

    Goddess: She’s not on shift as a bodyguard for another twelve hours, right?

    *Cain doesn’t dignify that with a response. Good on him.*

    • BatJamags says:

      Cain: How much of this trend of you considering idiotic ideas legitimate, and how much is simply you being an asshole?

      If she’s anything like GoodJamags, it’s almost entirely the second one.


Leave a Reply

