1623: I’ll protect you – Chapter 10

Title: I’ll protect you
Author: Sessh-Amy
Media: Video Games
Topic: Slender: The Eight Pages
Genre: Romance/Hurt/Comfort
URL: Chapter 10

 

 

 

Hello, Patrons, and welcome to the final chapter!

:does Last Chapter Dance:

For now, anyway. There’s been no activity on the fic for several years, but it’s not listed as completed so there’s always a chance the author will update it.

Most of the last chapter was dedicated to an extended flashback featuring a large group of campers who were attacked by a Spanish witch flinging around pixie dust who forced at least two of the campers to eat human flesh and causing them to transform into wendigoes. (The flashback doesn’t really even show the transformations, just that at least two people were forced to eat human flesh that had been doctored with a strange powder and afterwards they convulsed in pain and blacked out.) There was also something about “helping her son”, but that wasn’t really touched on very much before Spanish Witch started chopping up people with an axe. The whole thing was supposed to explain something about the wendigoes, but it really just raised more questions.

Onward to the fic!

Author’s note*

And it looks like we’re back to having the chapter start with an Author’s Note. Peachy.

 Okay y’all! Here’s the next chapter! Excuse the long wait, I was busy and then procrastinated a little here and there. Not to mention that Tumblr distracted me a little.

Which is fairly par for the course; with the vast number of distractions available online I’m surprised anyone can get anything done.

Anyway, here’s the chapter! We are taking a trip down memory lane!

Enjoy!

What, again? The bulk of the last two chapters were nothing but flashbacks!

Slender Man P.O.V.

And then there’s this again.

~Memory Lane~

But this is new. What the hell is this? The author has already established the formatting for flashbacks/memories/dream sequences. You don’t need a scene tag on top of that.

“Goodbye tall man!”

“Let’s play again tomorrow!”

“Bye, bye!”

…Unless you decide to disregard the established formatting protocol. It’s probably a bit hard to tell for our Patrons who use the mobile site, but the previous flashbacks were done in all italics, while this is not.

Also – hello, unattributed voices! Good to hear from you again.

The children bide their farewells before embracing me one last time. With a grin on their innocent features, they waved goodbye before running back towards the cul de sac. I watched as they made their way out of the forest and towards the sidewalk.

Are they grinning in unison, or is this a collective of children forming a big Character Blob that is grinning?

Sweet innocent souls, it’s almost time to leave them and let them fend for themselves.

Are these human children or baby birds?

It never gets any easier leaving them. I suppose it’s all worth it in the end. They grow to become fine, respectable, adults.

So they’re not children? If they are big enough that you’re releasing them into the wild, or whatever it is you are doing, then they probably aren’t kids anymore.

I stood behind a large tree and made my way through the shadows.

How are you doing both of those things at the same time?

Getting closer towards the cul de sac, I made sure each child made their way home safely.

He found a way to disburse a Character Blob? I wish he’d share with the rest of the fanfic-writing world.

I can hear them speak to their parents in excitement, saying how much fun they had playing with the “tall man.” I chuckled when their parents humored them and shared their own stories about the “tall man.” I’m amazed some of the adults here were able to remember playing with me. Well I shouldn’t be too surprised; children become wiser by the generation.

Maybe it’s just me, but if a child told me they had spent the day playing in the woods with a tall man then I would call the police.

Watching as the last child made it home, I was about to make my way back towards my own home until I heard what sounded like whimpering. I look back towards the empty sidewalk.

This is an extremely rural town in the middle of a big-ass forest – why are there sidewalks in front of the houses? Sidewalks are a feature of urban settings, not rural ones.

The crying wasn’t coming from any of my children, no, this whimpering was from another child. The source of the crying was coming from the forest.

The sound of an unseen child crying coming from a dark and foreboding forest? There’s no way that would end badly.

I rushed through the shadows, desperately looking for the child in hopes that he, or she, wasn’t injured. I came to a stop when I saw a small figure hunched over with something in hand.

I feel like I should start playing some ominous music.

It was a the small child, trembling and sobbing onto its ripped up teddy bear. His aura demonstrated sadness and heartbreak as he tried to put the teddy bears stuffing back inside its ripped body. “I’m s-sorry M-Mr. Bear,” he sniffled, repeating his words again and again. My heart clenched tightly at the scene before me.

Yet another scene where the author beats audience over the head with a Sorrow Stick while screaming “FEEL BAD FOR HIM!” I did feel a bit bad the first few times, but now it’s just tedious.

Poor thing, I wonder what’s happened to his stuffed animal?

You’ve spent how much time around kids and you’ve never had to deal with a broken toy before?

More importantly, how did he get here in the forest? Weren’t his parents worried about him? I don’t hear any panic coming from the town, maybe this child came to the forest unnoticed.

Brilliant deduction, Holmes.

I grew closer to the small child. It was a little boy no more than four or five years old. His short hair was a beautiful yellow color, his skin looked almost porcelain, and his eyes were hazel with long lashes. I was mesmerized with the boy’s appearance. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a creature with such natural beauty. He looked angelic.

:sounds of distant growling and plasma charging:

Okay, I need you to back away from the jailbait nice and slow and keep your hands and appendages where I can see them or I’m going to release the anthropomorphic lioness.

I was snapped out of my thoughts when the boy’s whimpers became louder. “Grandma, why d-did you have to g-go?” the boy hiccuped. “N-Now I-I’m all alone.”

:sighs:

You’d think the author’s arm would get tired eventually, but it doesn’t look like that’s the case.

I should do something; it hurts too much to see this innocent soul cry. Tugging at my suit with my left hand I used my free hand to reach inside my inner pockets. I pulled out several small sheets of colored paper and quickly folded them each, with the help of my appendages, into different kinds of flowers. After finishing, I detached a few of my appendages from my back and quietly sent them towards the boy along with the paper flowers.

…Is he using origami to comfort a crying child? Why? And why detach his appendages to deliver the flowers? If I saw long snake-like things bringing me paper flowers, I would freak right the hell out.

“Hng,” the little boy sniffled as he wiped the tears from his face. He straightened his back from his hunched position and was about to start walking who knows where.

So he could be running off to pine for the fjords, but there’s an equally good chance that he could be going back home.

Little boy? I whisper in a soft voice inside his head. He gasps from the sound of my voice and quickly analyses his surroundings. I held back a chuckle; the children always react like this at first.

“H-Hello?” the boy asks in a shaky voice.

Bastard. I bet you like scaring kids.

I move one of my free appendages towards a bush behind the boy and made a small ruffling noise to catch his attention. He quickly turns towards the bush and trembles fearfully.

Wow. He really does enjoy scaring kids – which would actually be true to the original character, now that I think about it.

Don’t be afraid, I said as I pull out an origami lotus flower out of the bush and waved it around a little, I’m a friend.

I bet Frankenstein’s Monster said the same thing before he drowned that little girl.

“A f-friend?” he asks in an unsure town. His aura shifts slightly and showed little fear and a lot of curiosity. The boy slowly approaches the bush and hesitantly reached his hand out towards the flower. Letting a small chuckle escape my throat,

How, through that mouth you don’t have?

I move the flower closer to him and let his fingers brush against the paper. He gasps in surprise and snatched his hand back.

AHHH! IT BURNS US!

Do you like flowers? I ask, pulling out another flower from the bush, a lily this time.

Hell, no! He only likes trucks and guns and other toys that perpetuate gender stereotypes!

The boy batted his eyes, I’m guessing because he wasn’t sure what to do, and places his stuffed bear on the ground.

He definitely doesn’t know what to do if he’s batting his eyes; that typically indicates a flirtatious behaviour.

He reaches both hands out towards the flowers and grabs them.

Crushing them into little wads of paper and then promptly bursting into tears because he’s FIVE.

While he examined the paper flowers in his hands, I let my appendages return to me and reattach to my body.

Oh, so he can reattach them. He’s been detaching the things all through the fic, but I thought it was a permanent thing since none of them ever returned.

A tiny smile crosses the boy’s face as his aura became calm. “They’re pretty,” he sighs.

He was weeping inconsolably about his torn teddy, and possibly the death of his grandmother, but all it takes is a few paper flowers to make him calm and happy again? I know kids can change moods fast, but he’s going to give himself whiplash.

Would you like more flowers? I asked. The boy nods his head and turns around, looking at his surroundings. He’s probably in search of me.

:headdesk:

Apparently Thaddeus this kid has never head of “stranger danger” before.

Look above you, I instructed. The boy looks up towards the tree above him and beams when he saw paper flowers of many different colors hanging from the branches.

That he can clearly see despite the fact that night is falling and they are in a forest.

“Wow!” He giggles loudly and jumps up towards the flowers, in an attempt to grab them. I released the flowers and let them fall down towards the boy.

How? You already called back all your appendages. If you can reach the flowers without detaching the appendages, then why detach them in the first place?

In a fit of giggles, the boy grabbed as many flowers as he could. “Did you make them?” he asks as he picked up the remaining flowers from the ground.

And how many of these origami flowers did he make? The narration made it seem like he only did a few, but now there’s a waterfall of the damn things. Those things can be time-consuming as well, but apparently Slendpai was okay with letting the boy cry his heart out while Slendpai folded all those flowers and then strategically placed them in the canopy.

I did, I nodded, knowing that he can’t see me.

:headdesk:

I.

:headdesk:

Don’t.

:headdesk:

Care!

“They’re real nice!” With all the flowers in his arms the boy jumps up in the air and threw the flowers up above him, letting the flowers sway and fall to the ground once again.

Apparently Slendpai, who is a self-appointed protector of children, is having no problem actively encouraging this little boy to stay in the wolf-infested forest at night rather than returning to his safe and secure (if emotionally barren) home.

A chuckle escapes my throat.

:growls: I will stab you in your frickin’ faceless skull, so help me!

Feel better? I asked, still not letting myself become seen. My monstrous appearance could scare, even traumatize the boy.

But he’s totally fine forcing you to witness the first-hand memories of a savage cannibalistic rite at some point in the future!

Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve never found Slender Man to be that scary-looking, just very unsettling; it’s his behaviour more than his appearance that makes him terrifying.

“Mhm, thank you,” the small boy answered, nodding his head. Completely forgetting about the paper flowers, the boy began walking around. “Where are you?” he asks, looking behind a tree.

Around, I answered with a chuckle.

“Can I see you?”

Let me guess; he’s going to show himself to Thaddeus the kid even though he just stated that it could be traumatizing.

If you see me, you might get scared, I said, reattaching all of my lose appendages back to my body. I hid behind another tall tree, away from the boy when he grew closer.

Didn’t he just attach all of his appendages? Do they just fall off at random intervals?

“No I won’t!” he argued as he looked behind a bush, “Grandma says I’m a brave boy.”

But not too bright, bless his heart.

Are you sure you won’t be afraid once I show myself?

“Yes!”

As you wish, I sighed as I walk out of the tree’s shadow.

Because five-year-olds are well-known to be able to accurately judge how they will react to a particular situation and definitely don’t have to sleep with the lights on after watching a scary movie that they begged and pleaded to see.

The boy still had yet to see me; he currently had his back towards me. Turn around, I said.

I think this asshole really does enjoy scaring kids. It’s probably the most in-character he’s been for the entire fic.

The boy instantly turned around and gazed at my appearance. He had a puzzled look in his features and his aura kept shifting into different emotions. I wasn’t sure if he was afraid or not.

Typically it’s pretty easy to tell when a child is scared, there’s usually quite a bit of screaming and crying involved.

“You’re the tall man,” the boy mumbled. “I see you play with the other kids in the forest outside my bedroom window.”

Damn. Thaddeus This kid must live out in the middle of nowhere.

Is that so? I ask as I knelt down on my knees in front of the boy.

You mean, rather than kneeling down on his elbows?

He nods his head and approached me with immense curiosity. “Can I-” he starts as he reached his hands up towards my face, “-touch you?” Not answering his question.

Oh, no; now he’s going to be transported through a mystical portal to Muromachi Era Japan!

No, wait; I’m thinking of another Touch the Shiny moment.

I hunch down and stretched my neck as far as I could. He steps on his toes and touched my pale skin. His warm fingers trace over every inch of my face. “Whoa…” he sighs.

:THWACK!:

HE’S FIVE!

While he was distracted I was able to read his mind.

Oh, you asshole! I don’t like it when you violate the mind of an adult, but to do that to a child?

:THWACK!:

I can see a teenage girl, about 13 or 14,

:THWACK!:

:THWACK!:

No numerals in the narration.

Also, if he’s seeing the boy’s memories then wouldn’t he know exactly how old the sister is?

holding the boys stuffed bear and cutting its stomach open with a kitchen knife.

That’s a bit over-the-top, but they are siblings; it’s not unheard of for siblings to destroy each other’s possessions out of spite.

“You see how it feels now, to have someone you love die in front of you? This is how I felt when mom died giving birth to you.” She sneered as she continued cutting the stuffed bear open.

She regarding her mother with the same level of affection that she would a toy? That has disturbing implications.

The boy continued to cry and beg for mercy but the girl wouldn’t stop. “You’re a monster for taking my mother away from me. I wish she was here instead of you!”

What a bitch.

Her torment came to a stop when her father came into the room and took the knife away from her. He scolded her saying things like, “stop bothering Thaddeus,” and sent the teen to her room.

Wait, that’s it? That’s all the punishment she gets? What the hell?

I was shocked to see that the father, instead of comforting the boy named Thaddeus, just walked away letting the boy cry onto his ripped up bear. Thaddeus probably ran into the forest to escape his family, to escape the torture.

:blinks:

Holy shit, he is a terrible father! There’s neglect and then there’s ignoring very obvious warning signs. If you have to disarm your teenaged daughter, then you’ve badly fucked up somewhere along the line.

“How do you see?” the boy asked, bringing my attention back to him. “You don’t have eyes. Can you see me?”

I can see everything, I said as I reached my hand up and gently traced my long fingers over his cheeks. I can see your gold hair, I can see the trees behind me, I can even see the birds flying above us.

Still not entirely sure how that happens, it just sort of … does.

“Really?” the boy gasped as he looks up to see a few birds flying away. “How do you do that?!” he asks, still touching my face.

Magic, I chuckled as I straightened my back from its hunched positions and let my hand fall to my side. What is your name?

:headesk:

We’re never going to get even a half-assed explanation for how he’s able to do half the things he can, are we?

“Thaddeus McCormick,” he said, smiling wide at me. “What’s your name?”

Ten chapters to get a last name and an eye color.

I don’t have a name, but you can call me Tall Man.

“And these are my brothers, Fat Man and Little Boy.”

“Okay, nice to meet you tall man,” he greeted as he grabbed my hand in both of his and shook it. “Let’s be friends!”

Thaddeus verbs weird.

As you wish, I nodded as I stood up on my legs.

Instead of standing on his head, as was the custom at the time.

“You’re so tall!” he nearly yelled, as if I couldn’t hear him from where he was. I chuckled and reached down towards him, picking him up in my arms. “Whoa!” he shrieked in excitement “We’re so high up!”

So sad. Much depression. Very tragedy.

Yes we are, I chuckled as I began to walk towards the direction of his house.

“Where are we going?” the boy asked, looking down at the ground.

Slowly insane.

The sun is setting, it’s time for you to head home, I answered, knowing where the boy lives from reading his thoughts. He tensed in my arms and his cheery aura changed to displeasure and sadness.

They are in a deep forest and thus cannot see the sunset.

“I don’t want to go home, nobody wants me there,” he said with a pout.

No one wants you here, either.

Why do you say that?

Dude, you witnessed the scene where his sister was disemboweling his bear. I don’t care how naïve and innocent you are trying to act, there’s no good way to interpret something like that.

There was a long pause before the boy finally answered. “When I was a baby I was living with my grandma. She said that Mommy loved me very much and that she died trying to save me,” the boy let out a shaky breath before continuing.

That seems like a reasonable way to explain a childbed death to a small child.

“A few days ago, grandma got really sick and I had to go live with my daddy and sister. My sister is really mean and daddy doesn’t like to look at me… Anna said I killed my Mommy.”

Which is a very harsh thing to say to a five-year-old, but after having it repeatedly hammered over my head that Anna is a super-bitch I have lost to ability to give any damns.

I stopped at my tracks. Hush child, I cooed as I embraced the shacking boy tightly. You did not kill your mother Thaddeus. You are her child, the love of her life, she wanted you to live so you can be happy.

:THWACK!:

BAD TOUCH!

That’s comforting and all, but it makes Slendpai’s later romantic feelings all that much more squicky. It’s like someone suddenly developing the hots for a kid they used to babysit.

I reached deep inside the boys mind until the day he was born and saw a fragile, ill, woman, holding him in her arms. She had a bright smile on her face and said a few words with her last breath before dying.

“Carry on, my wayward son”?

Do you know what you’re mother said when you were born? I asked. He shook his head “no” as he sniffled.

And he really shouldn’t be able to, since a newborn baby isn’t physically capable of processing a lot of sensory input straight out of the oven.

I began to walk towards the direction towards his house. The last words she spoke were, “Thaddeus… my only son. I’m sorry I won’t be able to play with you, to take you on your first day of school, or to see you grow up to be a fine young man… but I promise I will always be in your heart. Life will give you many hardships, but I know you will face them with a smile. Become strong for me my love, live for mommy…”

She said all of that with her dying breath? Mommy was quite the chatterbox, wasn’t she?

“S-She said that?” the boy hiccuped, barely able to form a sentence.

I know; I find it hard to believe, too.

She did, I assured him, seeing his house from a distance. Your mother loved you very much and will always be with you even if you can’t see her.

This has gone from Slender: The Eight Pages to Slender: The After-School Special.

“T-Thank you,” the boy hiccuped. Although he didn’t say it aloud, his thoughts told me he was grateful for telling him what his mother had said to him.

:headdesk:

This is another reason why I hate telepathy in badfics – it’s just plain lazy. Interpersonal relationships require a lot of complex interactions to be built up properly. However, Slendpai doesn’t have to actually interact with Thaddeus, he just yanks what he needs out of the boy’s skull without his knowledge or permission. The telepathic abilities are being used as a shortcut so the author can avoid establishing an actual relationship between the two.

You’re welcome, now stop crying, I cooed as I reached a hand towards his cheek and wiped away a few stray tears.

If you can get a kid to stop crying that fast, I’ll eat my shoes.

I came to a stop when we finally reached the boys backyard.

Which shouldn’t have taken very long since Thaddeus could watch Slendpai playing with the other children from his window.

“T-That o-one is my bedroom,” the boy said, pointing his index finger at a window.

:headdesk:

Do NOT tell the creepy stranger where your bedroom is, dumbass!

I nodded before analyzing the bedroom, trying to see if any of the boy’s family members were inside it.

And you’re doing that … How are you doing that, exactly? Do you have X-Ray Vision now? Did the wind frickin’ talk to you again?

Once I was sure it was empty, I teleported inside the fairly large room.

So the kid who is hated by his entire family gets a large private room rather than being forced to sleep under the stairs like Harry Potter. Of course he does.

“Whoa!” the boy gasped. “That was cool!”

Yeah, instantaneous teleportation through solid materials is just bitchin’.

I chuckled before walking over to Thaddeus’ bed and laying him down upon it. It’s time for little boys to go to sleep.

Clearly the author has never tried to get a five-year-old to go to bed before.

And where the hell is Thaddeus’ father during all of this? There should be a night-time routine; dinner, bath, story time, bedtime, stuff like that. Even an indifferent parent should remember to feed and bathe their child occasionally.

“Okay,” the boy nodded as a small smile formed on his lips. He pushed himself off of the bed and reached his hands up towards me. I bend down to his eye level and was complete off guard when he embraced me from the neck and gave me a small kiss on the side of my face. “Thank you for making me feel better, Tall man.”

I would really appreciate it if you refrained from hugging, or kissing, or doing anything that makes either of you “feel better” while you are in Thaddeus’ bedroom. Please and thank you.

It was my pleasure, I said, feeling my stomach flutter. A feeling I haven’t felt in centuries.

:THWACK!:

:THWACK!:

:THWACK!:

He’s FIVE YEARS OLD, くそったれ! It’s one thing to have romantic feelings for Thaddeus when he’s physically mature (even though I doubt he’s emotionally mature enough to handle any kind of relationship), but this is happening when he is still a child. There should be zero tingles going on.

I pulled the boy away from me and lied him back down

AHHHHH!!!

while placing the bed covers back over his body.

Oh, thank the gods.

Goodnight, child, I said while ruffling his hair.

Good-night, moon. Good-night, creepy otherworldly goon.

“Wait! Will I see you again!?” the boy asked, giving me a desperate expression.

Why do you insist on making this even weirder?!?

If you promise to keep this safe- I start to say before pulling out one of my “special” sheets of paper from my suit, that had a kids drawing of the forest on it, -then I promise to never leave your side.

“Okay,” he said, gladly receiving the paper. A heavy yawn escaped the boy’s lips, “goodnight Tall man.”

We already know from earlier chapters that Slendpai abandons Thaddeus, so I’m already skeptical about this paper’s magical ability to bond the pair in any permanent way. At least this time he half-way explained the paper’s meaning; the first time one of these bonding-papers showed up in the narration, Slendpai used it like a sheet of flypaper to trap Thaddeus into this strange bond-thing.

Goodnight, Thaddeus, I said as I ran my hands through his yellow hair. And always remember, child, no matter how bad a situation gets I will not let that be the reason for my downfall, I will live on… The boy sighed before finally drifting off to sleep with a content smile on his face.

…What the hell is he talking about? He’s not going to let what be the reason for his downfall? Thaddeus? The bonding-paper? What the frickin’ hell is he trying to say?

Thaddeus P.O.V.

Dammit.

~Back to the present~

I prefer Back to The Future – specifically the third one because I like the steampunk elements, especially the train at the end.

When my eyes slowly fluttered open I saw that I was back in my living room with Slender man still sitting on the ground with his long arms embracing me.

Unless you’re extremely poor, the horizontal bit inside a house is called a floor, not the ground.

I can’t believe I forgot such a beautiful memory.

Did you not see the part where your sister disemboweled a teddy bear with a knife right in front of you? And the part where you were lost in the woods?

How could I forget something like that? I do remember Grandma sending me to live with my father after she past away, but I don’t remember Anna doing such a mean thing.

:headdesk:

Please explain to me how your grandmother could send you to live with your father after she died.

Most importantly, how could I forget my mother’s last words?

Dude, you were literally a newborn baby! You wouldn’t have been able to understand that the sounds she was making were words because you had no language skills! She probably sounded like one of the adults in the Charlie Brown cartoons.

How could I forget ever meeting Slender man?

You were five; most people don’t have a lot of memories from when they are that young.

Don’t blame yourself, Thaddeus, kids forget even the most important memories, Slender Man explained, answering my thoughts. He tightened his hold on me, making me blush slightly.

:THWACK!:

BAD TOUCH!

Dude, you were just reliving memories from when he was five. That should not be conducive to romantic thoughts.

“Slender man…” I sighed, trying to form words in my head.

You don’t really have to do that since he can understand regular speech just fine.

“Thank you for being there for me at the time, for taking care of me… I really appreciate it but… why did you leave?”

Technically he didn’t leave since he’s still in the same forest he was in before, he just started avoiding you.

When you were turning six years old you were very dependent on me, so much as to not wanting to play with the other boys or girls.

If I had a choice between hanging out with a bunch of assholes my own age or being besties with Slender Man, I’d probably pick Slender Man. Especially if he can teleport me into the movies without paying.

You were already old enough to start fending for yourself.

Slendpai seems to be under the impression that human children are similar in nature to kittens or puppies.

I had to leave you soon, or you would never grow.

…Is Slendpai secretly Peter Pan?

One day, a week after your birthday, your Aunt came to visit you and if I recall, you were the happiest you’ve ever been with your family.

He didn’t remember meeting you, what makes you think he’d remember a specific visit from his aunt? I imagine she made several visits over the course of his childhood.

You fought less with Ana, your dad spoke more to you… Your Aunt treated you like her son.

So why isn’t Thaddeus living with his aunt?

Not only that, a boy transferred to your school and he had an interest in you,

I just bet he did. Because Thaddeus is apparently man-catnip.

I thought he would be a suitable friend for you…

Yeah, that’s what every kid looks for in a friend – someone who is “suitable” for them. It almost makes it sound like he’s shopping for a bride in a Regency romance novel.

I never knew how wrong I was…

Were you wrong? I have no idea. And how would Slendpai know? Until a day or so ago he didn’t remember Thaddeus at all.

“I think I remember…” I interrupted, “that boy was Gerald… right?”

Wait, what?

The tall man nodded his head in response to my question. I remember that day, the first time I met Gerald. He transferred to my school and everyone wanted to be his friend.

Which would make Gerald the Bella in this scenario, I guess?

I’ve never been the new kid in a school – but in my experience with new kids coming into schools I attended is that there was a brief period where some of the students showed some heightened interest since the person was an unknown quantity, but it eventually passed.

I don’t know what I did to attract his attention but he suddenly offered to become my friend.

I told you, it’s because you’re man-catnip. Your ass is irresistible – possibly literally.

Of course I said yes since I didn’t have many friends… but he was only teasing me. Since then, I suffered years of torment.

This just makes Thaddeus’ earlier acceptance of Carlos’ offer of friendship even more puzzling. He’s been burned before, so he wouldn’t want that to happen to him again.

When I thought your life was starting to look up for you, I decided it was time to leave.

Don’t you mean “time to release you into the wild”?

I went to see you one last time before taking the sheet of paper from your room and ripping it, to break the bond between us.

That’s really all it takes? Did Thaddeus know it was that easy to break the bond? Kids are really destructive, he could have “broken the bond” at any time. A misplaced cup of juice probably would have done the trick.

“So that paper you gave me, what does it do exactly?” I asked, remembering that Slender man gave me a similar sheet of paper weeks ago that read, I’ll protect you.

This is really something you should have asked earlier.

Wait a second – weeks? WEEKS?!? There’s been no indication that so much time has passed, I was under the impression that it had been maybe one or two days since Thaddeus’ first encounter.

Like creatures such as ghost and vampires need permission to enter one’s home, I to need permission to be near a human. That paper allows me to be in your life. It’s the bond that we share… In order to break our bond, I need to rip the paper.

Seriously? So does that mean that everyone that Slendpai has interacted with – Gerald, and the assorted minions who were chasing Thaddeus, and all of those kids Slendpai was playing with in the flashback, and all of their parents who apparently still have memories of Slendpai, and possibly the formerly human wendigoes – they all have these bonding-papers? Slendpai must be bonded to most of the town.

What a slut.

“And after you rip it… you just leave?” I asked, trying hard not to sound hurt. I know he left for a good reason but…

That’s just mean. Especially if you’ve been eating boiled cabbage.

Once I break a bond, I disappear from the town for a few years.

How does that work? Do you involuntarily teleport a certain distance away as soon as the paper is torn?

So I wouldn’t be tempted to visit the children.

Hold on – breaking the bond with one child breaks the bond with all of the other children? That doesn’t make any sense.

Once the bond is broken the child will slowly start to forget about me, which was part of the contract. Though they don’t forget me completely, they end up believing I’m just an imaginary friend.

What contract? A contract is an agreement between two or more parties; you tricked Thaddeus into accepting the bonding-papers both times. You still haven’t fully explained what this “bond” actually entails.

“That explains why I forgot about you so easily then,” I chuckled, halfheartedly.

No, it really doesn’t.

I’m sorry, Thaddeus, the tall man says in a sincere tone. If I had known how things would have turned out, I would have never left your side, if only I stayed-

You did kind of drop the ball here. You knew there was a boy who was “suitable” to be Thaddeus’ friend, but never determined what his true motives were or if he was going to be a good friend to Thaddeus, and you knew Thaddeus was happier when his aunt was visiting them – but a visit implies that she would be leaving eventually and there was no guarantee that she would take Thaddeus with her when she left or if that was ever even an option.

“-Whoa, whoa, it’s okay!” I interrupted as I pull away to turn and face him. “It wasn’t your fault things turned out so bad. No one can predict the future; you couldn’t have known how things were going to be.”

But he didn’t really do anything to improve your circumstances, did he?

I placed my hands on either side of his face and gave him the most sincere smile I could give. “Besides, we ended up meeting each other again,”

He DOES NOT have a face! And probably can’t see you smiling!

You’re right, the tall man answered. I gasped at the feeling of his arms suddenly wrapping themselves around me again and bringing me close to him. I let my hands slip from his face to his chest.

:THWACK!:

:THWACK!:

BAD TOUCH! BAD TOUCH!

I still want to apologize, for leaving unannounced. Could you ever forgive me?

I cannot forgive nor forget anything you’ve done in this fic.

“I already have,” I blushed as I wrap my arms around his neck and kissed his cheek before resting my head on his shoulder.

:headdesk:

He’s cuddling with his former babysitter! How does he not have a problem with this?

I don’t care if I grew up with an un-supportive family, I don’t care if I grew up with Gerald’s bullying, I don’t care about any of that anymore. It’s all in the past now.

Last I checked you still lived at home with your unsupportive family (and a sister who might be a Jane the Killer expy) and you still go to school with Gerald the Designated Asshole, who not only wants a literal piece of your ass but has already sworn to get revenge on you and Slendpai. And let’s not forget the threat of the wendigoes.

So long as Slender man stays with me, then I can finally find a reason to smile and be happy.

…It really doesn’t take much to make you happy, does it? That’s quite a contrast to your earlier Sorrow Sponge status.

I can feel the tall man’s heart beat at a faster rate against my chest. I wonder why?

If Slendpai’s anatomy is analogous to a human male’s then you’re probably feeling a lot more “changes” than just an increase in his heart rate given that you’re straddling him.

Your kiss and sweet thoughts is what’s making me react this way, he answered. I blushed harder; I need to stop thinking embarrassing things!

Yes! For the love of all which is held sacred and holy, please stop.

“Ha, ha, well kissing and hugging is the only way I know how to show affection,” I said, trying not to mumble.

No wonder you don’t have any friends.

“My Grandma and Aunts did it all the time when I was with them,”

:blinks:

They … ewww! EWWW!! EWWW!!!

:grabs emergency flask of Brain Bleach and starts chugging:

Dude, I did not need to know that.

Although I guess an alternative interpretation could be that Grandma and the Aunts weren’t blood related and were instead a lesbian couple (or couples or a triad) who kissed and hugged each other like that rather than doing anything questionable with Thaddeus.

I see, they must be great people,

Depends upon which version is the correct one.

“Mhm… Well, I really need to start cleaning around the house,” I said as I pushed away from the tall man.

It’s probably a bit late to be getting started; with all those flashbacks going on it is probably close to the time when your father gets home.

Boy he really is tall. Even when he’s sitting down on the floor he’s still an inch taller than me, and I’m a tall 5’9!

:THWACK!:

No numerals in the narration!

So this version of the Slender Man is only five feet, ten inches tall? That’s not very tall at all; that’s actually the average height of Caucasian males in the United States. The Tall Man is really the Average Man.

Do you require assistance? He asks as he lifts himself off of the ground.

If you’re asking if he needs help, then yes; you both do.

I giggled slightly as he stood tall. He had to hunch down so the ceiling wouldn’t hit his head.

Thaddeus must live in a hobbit hole or something, because that ceiling is not up to code. According to the IBC (International Building Code) the minimum height for a ceiling is seven feet – most are closer to ten.

“No it’s alright,” I chuckled. The tall man tilts his head to the side, questioning my laughter I assume.

He’s probably thinks you’ve gone crazy.

What is so amusing? He asked. Hey, I was right!

Did you forget that he’s telepathic and doesn’t respect personal boundaries?

“Oh it’s nothing,” I giggled as I made my way towards the kitchen. I shouldn’t tell him why I was laughing, he might get offended or something. Also, it’s fun to tease him.

You wouldn’t have to tell him, because HE IS TELEPATHIC.

I looked over my shoulder, only to see that he wasn’t there anymore. I raised an eyebrow and turned back around. “Slender Man?” I called. I felt my spine shiver. Don’t tell me he’s right behind me? I turned my head and jumped at the sight of him standing so close behind me.

:headdesk:

Forgot he was telepathic and forgot about his ability to teleport.

He chuckles before one of his tentacle, like, arms grabs me from the waist.

:THWACK!:

BAD TOUCH!

Hm, you find my height amusing? He asked me while hoisting me up towards his height.

“Ha, ha, no, not at all,” I tried to lie. Well this was going to be a fun morning.

…Is this supposed to be romantic? Because it looks like Slendpai is threatening Thaddeus. And the lack of expression from Thaddeus makes me think he may be scared of Slendpai.

Authors note*

WOO-HOO! That means the chapter is almost over!

So what did you think?

Oh, I think I’ve made that obvious.

I know i have mistakes here and there and I will try to get back to them XD

:headdesk:

Edit first, then post.

Anyway, leave me reviews on what you think wil happen next.

Probably nothing, since the fic appears to have been abandoned.

Give me your thoughts on Thaddeus family, what do you think about them treating Thaddeus so bad?

I think you really piled it on way too think. Adding heaps of tragic things to a character’s back story does not necessarily make them a tragic figure, especially if you’re use those tragic things as a substitute for character development.

58 Comments on “1623: I’ll protect you – Chapter 10”

  1. AdmiralSakai says:

    And it looks like we’re back to having the chapter start with an Author’s Note. Peachy.

    Okay y’all! Here’s the next chapter! Excuse the long wait, I was busy and then procrastinated a little here and there. Not to mention that Tumblr distracted me a little.

    Great, now she’s going to get

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    ~Memory Lane~

    But this is new. What the hell is this? The author has already established the formatting for flashbacks/memories/dream sequences. You don’t need a scene tag on top of that.

    And a punny scene tag, no less.

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    Maybe it’s just me, but if a child told me they had spent the day playing in the woods with a tall man then I would call the police.

    Well, in between the loud wendigoes in the forest, the bullies actively beating and raping other children near the school, and the constant, low-grade domestic disturbance that is pretty much everyone’s home life they probably have their hands full as is.

  4. AdmiralSakai says:

    I feel like I should start playing some ominous music.

    Did somebody say…. ominous??

  5. AdmiralSakai says:

    It was a the small child, trembling and sobbing onto its ripped up teddy bear. His aura demonstrated sadness and heartbreak as he tried to put the teddy bears stuffing back inside its ripped body. “I’m s-sorry M-Mr. Bear,” he sniffled, repeating his words again and again.

    Looks like somebody’s missed the point of playing Fiduspawn.

  6. AdmiralSakai says:

    Do you like flowers? I ask, pulling out another flower from the bush, a lily this time.

    Hell, no! He only likes trucks and guns and other toys that perpetuate gender stereotypes!

    HEY! Zoids were what first got me into robotics!

  7. BatJamags says:

    “Goodbye tall man!”

    “Let’s play again tomorrow!”

    “Bye, bye!”

    Oh, for the love of-

    “See ya later, alligator!”

    “Buh-byes!”

    “Peace!”

    “Live long and prosper!”

    Why won’t you leave me alone?

    “It’s simple, BatJamags.”

    “Yeah, I can’t believe you haven’t figured it out.”

    “It’s just because we hate you!”

    Yeah, well, I can tell that much.

  8. BatJamags says:

    This is an extremely rural town in the middle of a big-ass forest – why are there sidewalks in front of the houses? Sidewalks are a feature of urban settings, not rural ones.

    I could buy it being vaguely suburban, which seems to be what the author’s going for, but I don’t know why a suburb would pop up in the middle of a damned forest.

    • GhostCat says:

      I don’t think the author knows what she’s going for. Everything is walking distance from everything else; Thaddeus can walk to a grocery store from his home, or walk to school, and he can’t go ten feet without getting lost in the woods.

  9. AdmiralSakai says:

    “No I won’t!” he argued as he looked behind a bush, “Grandma says I’m a brave boy.”

    You mean grandma said you’re a brave boy. Since, you know, she’s dead now.

  10. AdmiralSakai says:

    “You see how it feels now, to have someone you love die in front of you? This is how I felt when mom died giving birth to you.”

    That’s awfully eloquent for a thirteen-year-old. Ana’s going to grow up into a fine, upstanding Bond villain someday.

  11. AdmiralSakai says:

    I can see everything, I said as I reached my hand up and gently traced my long fingers over his cheeks. I can see your gold hair, I can see the trees behind me, I can even see the birds flying above us.

    Creeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeepy…

  12. AdmiralSakai says:

    “You’re so tall!” he nearly yelled, as if I couldn’t hear him from where he was.

    Gosh, maybe that’s why they call him the Tall Man!

  13. AdmiralSakai says:

    That seems like a reasonable way to explain a childbed death to a small child.

    A what now?

  14. AdmiralSakai says:

    I nodded before analyzing the bedroom, trying to see if any of the boy’s family members were inside it.

    “We’re getting traces of carbon, oxygen, and phosphorous; no clear deviations from the thermal background; thaumostatic signatures are negative…”

  15. AdmiralSakai says:

    I chuckled before walking over to Thaddeus’ bed and laying him down upon it. It’s time for little boys to go to sleep.

    JEFF COMBO TIMES TWO!

  16. AdmiralSakai says:

    And where the hell is Thaddeus’ father during all of this? There should be a night-time routine; dinner, bath, story time, bedtime, stuff like that. Even an indifferent parent should remember to feed and bathe their child occasionally.

    Dad gives exactly as many fucks about Thaddeus as the audience does.

  17. BatJamags says:

    It’s been a long time since I’ve seen a creature with such natural beauty. He looked angelic.

    NOPE

    NOPENOPENOPE

    *Jumps out window*

    NOPENOPEnopenopenopenopenopenope

  18. BatJamags says:

    I was snapped out of my thoughts when the boy’s whimpers became louder. “Grandma, why d-did you have to g-go?” the boy hiccuped. “N-Now I-I’m all alone.”

    *Sigh*

  19. BatJamags says:

    Hell, no! He only likes trucks and guns and other toys that perpetuate gender stereotypes!

    Aw, yeah, man! I love toys that perpetuate gender stereotypes! As my five-year-old self would tell you (and rightly so), trucks are much better than flowers because flowers have bees on them.

    Little kid logic is awesome sometimes.

    • GhostCat says:

      I had these awesome Tonka trucks (dump truck, front end loader, crane, etc.)when I was little and I vividly remember an incident where a boy was trying to take one away from me because “girls can’t play with boy toys”. I told him since I was a girl and it was mine, that made it a “girl toy”. His rebuttal was to throw sand at me, so I think I won that argument.

  20. BatJamags says:

    Oh, no; now he’s going to be transported through a mystical portal to Muromachi Era Japan!

    Oh, no. One’s bad enough. One’s more than bad enough.

  21. BatJamags says:

    holding the boys stuffed bear and cutting its stomach open with a kitchen knife.

    My childhood would’ve been so much cooler with siblings…

    • GhostCat says:

      They can be both the best and worst thing in the world; on one hand it’s nice to have someone who knows everything about you, but on the other hand they know everything about you.

  22. BatJamags says:

    I don’t have a name, but you can call me Tall Man.

    That’s funny, I thought this character had some other kind of man-related name. Like…

    Ah, yes, that’s it.

  23. BatJamags says:

    As you wish, I nodded as I stood up on my legs.

    *SLAP*

    Remind me of better stories one more time and I’ll fight you to the pain.

  24. BatJamags says:

    So sad. Much depression. Very tragedy.

    IT’S TRAJEDY!
    When the drama’s gone but you’re going on
    IT’S TRAJEDY!
    When no one cares ’cause your life just sucks
    It’s hard to bear
    Reading about how shitty your life is!

    TRAJEDY!
    When you’re sister’s mad and your dad is bad
    IT’S TRAJEDY!
    When you’re bullied at school and you’re just not cool
    It’s hard to bear
    Reading about how much your life sucks!

  25. BatJamags says:

    “Where are we going?” the boy asked, looking down at the ground.

    Slowly insane.

    “Slowly?”

  26. BatJamags says:

    I can see a teenage girl, about 13 or 14,

    So, Thaddeus is five when Anna is thirteen or fourteen. We’ll say thirteen to make the age gap as small as possible. Anna’s still living at home, so she’s not going to be above college age, so we’ll call present day!Anna 22, even though that’s kind of an unreasonably high estimate. She’s eight years older than Thaddeus and nine years older than she was when he was five, which makes Thaddeus… fourteen at the absolute oldest. On the one hand, that would just barely put him in high school, but on the other hand it doesn’t make sense for Anna to be home during the school year if she’s a college student. If she’s eighteen, that makes Thaddeus ten.

    • GhostCat says:

      It never really says how long ago this flashback was, but if Present!Thaddeus is in high school he’d be between fifteen and eighteen and Anna should be twenty-three to twenty-six. As far as I can tell Anna isn’t actually in college, she bitched at Thaddeus in an earlier chapter that she could have gone to college if she didn’t have to take care of him. It still doesn’t make a lot of sense since she was still a kid when Thaddeus came to live with them and clearly isn’t to be trusted with the care of a young child, but it has already been established that their father is very not good at parenting.

  27. BatJamags says:

    You’re welcome, now stop crying,

    After the previous interaction, this sounds very terse.

    Slendpai: Thaddeustu, I want you to know that your mother loved you very much and would’ve wanted you to carry on. NOW SHUT UP!

  28. BatJamags says:

    So this version of the Slender Man is only five feet, ten inches tall? That’s not very tall at all; that’s actually the average height of Caucasian males in the United States. The Tall Man is really the Average Man.

    So, that makes me three or four inches taller than Slenderman?

    Seems legit.

  29. AdmiralSakai says:

    Also, Bats, I just sent you a PM on your ff.net account.

  30. Delta XIII says:

    “Grandma says I’m a brave boy.”

    “Then again, she also said that aliens killed Lincoln so they could take over the Illuminati.”

  31. Delta XIII says:

    Yeah, instantaneous teleportation through solid materials is just bitchin’.

    Don’t I know it!

  32. AdmiralSakai says:

    Also, Bats, I just sent you a PM on your old ff.net account a while ago.

  33. AdmiralSakai says:

    Does anybody know why my comments are disappearing?

  34. TacoMagic says:

    Are you sure you won’t be afraid once I show myself?

    “Yes!”

    As you wish, I sighed as I walk out of the tree’s shadow.

  35. TacoMagic says:

    “Thaddeus… my only son. I’m sorry I won’t be able to play with you, to take you on your first day of school, or to see you grow up to be a fine young man… but I promise I will always be in your heart. Life will give you many hardships, but I know you will face them with a smile. Become strong for me my love, live for mommy…”

    I still prefer, “More weight.”


Leave a Reply

