1601: I’ll protect you – Chapter 7

Title: I’ll protect you
Author: Sessh-Amy

Media: Video Games
Topic: Slender: The Eight Pages
Genre: Romance/Hurt/Comfort
URL: Chapter 7

Critiqued by Ghostcat

 

 

Happy Black Friday, beloved Patrons! I hope you’re enjoying and/or enduring America’s annual Festival of Consumerism.

The last chapter featured quite a lot of awkward face-grabbing and snuggling that I’m desperately trying to forget, so let’s move directly into this chapter!

Slender Man P.O.V.

Huh. Looks like we’re sliding right into Slendpai again. I think the lack of prefacing Author’s Notes may be a sign that the author is starting to lose enthusiasm for her fic.

A howl, no, a loud roar came from the forest.

So which was it? Those are two very different sounds.

A low growl erupted from my throat. The pesky creatures have returned to the town.

Oh, no! They might try to do stuff WITH THINGS!

I slowly propped myself up on my elbows, careful not to wake Thaddeus, and listened closely to the passing wind outside the house.

Stop listening to the house farting and concentrate on the howl-roar, dude.

It seems that there is more than just one of them coming this time.

And he can tell that based on the wind?

I looked down at the sleeping boy’s face. He had a small smile plastered on his face.

That looks very odd to me; when I think of a smile “plastered” on someone’s face, I think of a big goofy grin and not a small smile.

I’m glad that I was always to bring such a content smile to him,

Except for when he thought you were a monster who was going to brutally kill him. Oh, and when he thought you hated him.

but I must leave now.

“Slender… man,” he sighed, snuggling closer to my chest.

If Thaddeus keeps snuggling deeper into Slendpai’s chest, he’s going to eventually burrow through to the other side.

I groaned, silently. I don’t want to leave my child, but I must.

STOP CALLING HIM THAT!

The Wendigoes are probably planning on breaking into one of the houses.

Huh. That would require a level of organization that you don’t usually see in mindlessly insatiable beasts. And predators tend to be very thrifty with their resources, preferring an easier target that offers a better chance of success and a lower risk of injury to themselves. The wendigoes would likely look for unprotected humans walking alone or in small groups (depending on how many wendigoes there are) first rather than trying a much riskier maneuver like breaking into a house.

With a heavy sigh, I ever so slowly lied Thaddeus on his bed and placed the blanket covers over his shoulders.

Why just his shoulders?

The smile never left his innocent face. I brushed his golden hair away from his ear. I will return soon my Kitten.

I can’t wait.

I walked over to the window and glanced at Thaddeus one more time before teleporting outside. I was now at Thaddeus’ back yard, scanning the area and listening to the rustling trees.

Why did he have to walk over to the window before teleporting? It would make sense if he could only teleport within his line of vision, but that’s never been a restriction before.

The distant sounds of growls and roars were coming from the far north. My suspicions are correct, there were more than one.

That is far more plausible than guessing how many there are based solely on how the wind sounds.

I made my way through the shadows, heading towards their direction.

The direction of the shadows?

Animals of all kinds, birds, rabbits, deer, even the proud wolves were scurrying away in fear.

There’s wolves in the forest? Seriously? Thaddeus was strolling through that forest without a care in the world, which isn’t something that happens if you know there’s a vicious predator nearby. And this tiny town is home to Slendpai, more than one wendigo, and the gods only know what other horrifying creatures; how is there any wildlife left to scurry?

I must be close. I came to a stop when I saw a pale, naked, human sitting on his knees and cradling something in its arms.

Something tells me you’re REALLY close to a wendigo.

I became skeptical of the creature.

No, I’m sure it’s totally fine. Humans love sitting out in wolf-infested forests in the middle of October wearing naught but their skin.

Whatever it was, it’s not a human anymore.

…But you just described it as a “pale, naked, human!”

I was about to walk out of the shadows, to approach the creature, before I heard heavy stomping sounds.

I became still and watched as the Wendigo, the one that Thaddeus saw early, approached the kneeling creature.

It was after midnight in the last chapter, so Thaddeus saw the wendigo yesterday. I would also like to point out that Slendpai also saw the wendigo at that time, but the author seems determined to involve her OC in scenes in which he doesn’t even appear.

The creature looked up towards the Wendigo and growled warningly. The Wendigo backed a few steps from the creature. I grew closer towards the two until finally I was able to see the creature better.

So is the pale humanoid another wendigo or isn’t it? You keep calling it a creature as if it is yet a different flavor on non-human monster.

  Its skin wasn’t pale but instead was a grey color.

Grey is typically a pale color; although I guess it could have been a dark grey. But then wouldn’t Slendpai have called it “the dark grey creature” instead of “the pale creature?”

His face was of a human but its features were different.

:headdesk:

So it’s “like X, only Y, where Y is actually nothing like X.” That’s …different.

His large, black, eyes were almost hollow, his face was skinny but long with high cheek bones, his ears were short and pointed, and he has two large horns growing from its forehead. The creature was small and skinny, but the aura around him shows that he is far from being a weakling. This creature was another Wendigo.

If this is another wendigo, why does it look nothing like the first wendigo? The description makes it sound more like a horned Gollum!

Does anyone else find it odd that Every. Single. Character. except Anna the bitchy sister has been male? I know it’s common in yaoi works to have a high percentage of the cast of characters be male, but even the wendigoes are dudes.

The taller and much broader Wendigo growled at the smaller one. The aura around it demonstrated fear towards the other. So it seems the smaller is more powerful.

Ah, I think I see why the author brought in that “Slendpai can see auras now” trait; so that he can learn things he shouldn’t know without putting any effort into it.

The skinny Wendigo stood on its feet and let the object in its hands drop. It was a red, damaged, sweater.

That. Belonged to. William. Shatner.

Once the taller Wendigo saw the smaller rise, it hunched down in surrender and shuddered.

I assume this is meant to show that Horned Gollum is a real badass, but Deer Skull Hat backed down from Slendpai and failed at attack Thaddeus the Sorrow Sponge even though the boy was within reach so this is just reinforcing his reputation for being a big wuss-bag.

The smaller one looked up towards the sky and hissed under its breath before reaching down and taking a hold of the sweater.

Why did he drop it if he was just going to pick it back up?

It walked towards the opposite direction of the town.

So somewhere that way. :points into Void: Probably.

The taller straightened its back before following the smaller close behind.

I hope these two get names soon, because this is going to get awkward fast.

I walked out of the shadows and watched as they walked away. I looked up towards the sky, only to see the moon setting.

:headdesk:

If you’re looking up and the moon is starting to disappear, then you’re probably watching an eclipse. The moon sets when it sinks below the horizon, which may or may not happen depending on where on Earth you are and what time of year it is. Since Slendpai has been slinking through a shadow-shrouded forest, I doubt he’d even be able to see the horizon much less watch the moon set.

Could it be that the smaller, of the two Wendigoes, can’t be out on the daylight? Can it not tolerate the sun? The taller Wendigo seems to be fine with it though.

That’s quite an assumption to make – maybe it’s just past Horned Gollum’s bedtime? – although I am a bit surprised Slendpai didn’t just read it in Horned Gollum’s aura.

A huff and a loud growl were heard from behind me.

Suddenly!

…It’s just not the same.

I quickly teleported behind the creature before it had a chance to tackle me to the ground.

Is this one of the two wendigoes that he just saw walk off in another direction? Does that mean that they can teleport as well?

The creature stood from the ground and growled as it turned to face my person.

I prefer to stand on the ground, but I’ve always been a bit of a rebel in that way.

It was another Wendigo.

Of COURSE it’s another wendigo! And I bet it looks nothing like the other two.

It had the head of a moose with glowing red orbs, it had a mane that was thick and black, and its upper body was larger then it’s lower, giving him an ape like appearance.

That also describes a regular bull moose, which have humped shoulders and a relatively narrower rump, but the ape reference leads me to believe that this wendigo is supposed to be a bipedal humanoid like the other two. The “red orbs” are a bit of a puzzle, though. I assume that’s supposed to be its (or likely his) eyes, but it really doesn’t specify so I’m going to picture a moose with red twinkly lights strung through its antlers.

It roared a loud roar that almost made the ground tremble,

:alarms blare:

Dammit! And me without a minion handy.

“Don’t worry, dimples; I’ll get it.”

:looks around: What the hell? That sounded like Syl.

:the Library’s resident Free Trader drops out of the rafters, landing feet-first on Ghostie’s desk:

:jerks backwards, nearly falling out of her chair: THE HELL?!?

“Did you really think I’d stay away while you were riffing yaoi all by your lonesome?” :pats Ghostie on the head: “You are just too precious. Back in half a jiff.”

:Syl hops off the desk and runs to the door, flinging it open wide:

“Darlings!”

:the Riffing Chamber door swings slowly shut, cutting off the sounds of panicked screams:

:sighs and takes out phone: Time to send another condolence basket to the DRD.

in an attempt to terrify me but I stood tall, completely unfazed.

Because you can teleport and thus would be able to easily remove yourself from danger.

Two more growls were heard around me. I turned my body only to see that the other two Wendigoes were surrounding me as well.

Why is he turning his body to look at them instead of just his head?

They growled threateningly at me.

They just growled! It would be very redundant if they growled twice like that.

:glances up at the alarm, which remains silent:

Oh, right; Syl is out there.

:the door slams open, cracking in two:

“You called?”

No, I didn’t. I never do. You just show up unwanted, like a dead fly in a punch bowl.

“You must go to different parties than I do.”  :takes a step into the Chamber:

Hey, wipe your feet! I don’t want you tracking blood all over the floor; Housekeeping has been raising hell after that little incident in the Armory.

:Syl makes a face, but carefully wipes her feet of a rug:

“That explains those diagrams in the Lounge.”

Yeah, apparently raising Minor Infernal Spirits is a lot easier than actually cleaning up our messes themselves.

I thought I warned you to stay away from the town, I growled inside their heads; it seems you have a death wish.

:Ghostie headdesks:

“Are you doing that because of your strange aversion to telepathy?”

No, I’m headdesking because he :points to Slendpai: is a touch-telepath.

“…And?”

HE’S NOT TOUCHING ANYONE!

“He can touch me, if he likes.”

I don’t think you’re his type.

Both the tall Wendigoes roared at me, their auras expressing both fear and anger.

“Wouldn’t he learn the exact same thing with his little mind-molestations?”

Huh. You’re right; his telepathy would give him the same information, making the aura-sensing completely redundant.

:Syl looks up at the silent alarm:

I don’t think they want to play with you anymore.

“Humpf!”

The smaller approached me on all fours. “Tahl Man,” it said in a raspy voice, sounding as though it’s struggling to form words. “Why pro-tect the mor-tals,” It asked.

“I thought he was interested in just the one mortal?”

I doubt Thaddeus would be in the mood if everyone around him got eaten by wendigoes.

“That can be a mood-killer.”

Do I need a reason? I questioned, facing the smaller Wendigo. Maybe the reason I protect the mortals is the same reason you’re protecting that old sweater.

“I thought males in this dimension used old socks for that?”

Ewww…

It held the red sweater against its body protectively and roared a high pitch roar at me. The irises of its hollow black eyes began to glow gold.

“I hate it when that happens.”

When would that ever happen?

“Allergy season.”

What the hell are you allergic to?!?

The other two Wendigoes roared along with it before they charged at me.

“I have a question.”

Oh, gods.

“Hush. The three widgees…”

Horned Gollum, Christmas Moose, and Deer Skull Hat.

“Right, those widgees. They are in a circle around Slendpai?”

Yes?

“And Slendpai can teleport at will?”

Yes … OH! Ooh, this won’t end well.

“Does it ever?”

The appendages from my back sprang out as I dodged both the larger creatures, causing them to collide together.

:double spit-take:

AHHHH! IT BURNS! :Ghostie races out of the Riffing Chamber:

“What a baby; this is only moderately caustic.” :sniffs glass: “I think.”

:several minutes later Ghostie, now soaking wet, trudges back into the Chamber:

“Honey, you look like a drowned rat.”

They thought I was crazy to have eye wash stations and emergency showers installed every fifteen feet, but who’s laughing now?

:Syl giggles:

You don’t count. :sits back down at desk: Now, where were we?

“The widgees attacked Slendpai and the dumbass dodged rather than teleporting out of the way.”

Right. That.

They groaned in pain before recollecting themselves. The one with the moose head scraped its hind legs against the earth, like a bull would when it’s about to attack.

Pawing; it’s called pawing. As in “pawing the ground?”

“I like the other kind better.”

You would.

The one with the deer skull cackled, almost like a chuckle, and extracted its claws.

“Which of the other widgees did he have to extract them from?”

:shrugs: Both?

I bent my legs and hunched my body. Curse my height; it’s a big disadvantage when trying to protect yourself from a foe.

“This is embarrassing; I thought the Slender Man was meant to be this big badass?”

He is!

“Honey, I’m a card-carrying badass; this … thing is no badass.”

They have cards for that?

“Sure!” :hands Ghostie a card: “See?”

This isn’t yours.

“Yes, it is.”

:squints at card: This says it belongs to someone named ‘Jun Takahashi.’

:snatches card back: “Well, it’s mine now.”

The moose head came charging towards me, with its antlers pointed directly at me.

“That is how a charge typically works, you know.”

Yeah, Christmas Moose wouldn’t charge in feet-first.

“He could, but the hopping would make maneuverability an issue.”

With my appendages, I grabbed a hold of his arms, neck, and antlers, and forced it to run past me and hit a tree instead.

Yet another instance where teleportation would have been very useful.

“What the point in having special powers if you aren’t going to use them?”

Don’t you have a special power that you never use?

“I don’t want to talk about it.”

It knocked the tree down and fell against it, groaning in pain.

“I think you mean dying in pain. When a squishable meat sack strikes a tree hard enough to knock it over, things go badly for the squishable meat sack.”

Poor Christmas Moose; he broke his everything.

Releasing the creature, I turned to face the other tall Wendigo.

“Wait a tick, he was still holding on to Christmas Moose? He just crushed his appendages.”

It’s okay, they appear to be detachable.

:Syl looks at Ghostie, a slow smile spreading across her face:

Why are you looking at me like that?

“No reason.” :starts inching her hand towards the video files:

What are you doing?

“Nothing!!”

The hell you aren’t – I can see you … :Syl touches one of the files: No! Not that!

No! :grabs head: The earworm! :glares at Syl: I hate you. So much.

:Syl blows a kiss at Ghostie:

I flinched away when it tried to claw my body. It kept cackling its disgusting laugh as it continued to try and claw my body. I dodged its attacks as best as I can and managed to grab a hold of its body with my appendages.

“He’s completely forgotten that he can teleport, hasn’t he?”

It’s probably meant to be more dramatic this way, or some such nonsense.

  It struggled under my grip as I hoisted it up. Right when I was about ready to fling it towards a tree, the smaller Wendigo latched onto my shoulders. It brought its face close to mine, practically shoving its nose on my face, and gazed it’s piercing gold eyes at me.

…Oh-kay? What is this supposed to accomplish?

“Maybe Horned Gollum is going to bite Slendpai’s finger off?”

He’s not really Gollum and I doubt Slendpai has the One Ring.

My heart beat quickened and shivers ran though my back and appendages. The smaller snickered, not batting an eye. I tried to push it away, but I can’t move my body. I’m paralyzed! The appendages holding the other Wendigo up became limp and soon dropped the creature to the earth. It cried from the blow but quickly brushed it off with a cackle.

:Ghostie looks at Syl:

:Syl looks at Ghostie:

“So do you have any idea what’s going on?”

Not really, but I smell a bullshit weaksauce weakness brewing.

“That might be the still I set up in the broom closet.”

You did WHAT?!?

“I mean, the still Bifocals set up in the broom closet.”

Release me! I warned while an audible growl erupted from my throat.

Possibly literally, considering he doesn’t have a mouth to articulate sounds with.

“Ouch.”

“Death to Tall Man,” the smaller Wendigo said without stuttering his words. Its golden orbs faded back to black and it quickly pushed itself off my body. Finally finding the ability to move, I was going to attack the creatures in front of me until something large and hard crashed against my back.

Huh.

“Uh-oh. You’ve got your thinking face on again.”

It almost looks as if Horned Gollum hypnotized or mesmerized Slendpai with that golden-orb trick, but that’s wrong.

“Let me guess; you have ‘moral concerns’ about a hypnotic power that can only be used at kissing distance?”

No, not that kind of wrong! I mean, that would be a really bad ability to have, but it shouldn’t work on Slendpai. He doesn’t have any eyes.

“Does the author know that?”

She seems to forget that little fact quite a lot.

I groaned in pain and went flying towards a fairly large tree. Reacting fast, I use my limbs to grab onto the branches and swung myself around the tree.

Just like she has apparently forgotten that he can teleport.

“I could almost forgive it while he was kicking ass, but now it’s getting embarrassing.”

I landed on my feet and growled loudly at the Moose head, for attempting to harm me.

Attempting? Then what was all that grunting in pain you were doing?

“He was just roleplaying to make them feel better?”

My jagged teeth were exposed,

Fucking HOW?!?

“That must have been a hell of a throat eruption he had earlier.”

my claws were twitching, and my appendages were trembling. These vermin will die. No mercy. No pity. Just kill them. Make them experience all kinds of pain known to man.

You talk a good game, but so far you’ve failed to kill anything in this fic.

“I can fix that.” :a very large knife appears in Syl’s hands: “A moose-skin rug would look spectacular in my lounge.”

All three of the creatures cackled and walked towards me.

“If they aren’t snapping their fingers in unison, they are doing it wrong.”

You watch too many movies.

Growling, I let my jagged teeth form into a smirk before I disappeared out of their sight.

:Cerbersheep stumbles in, looking very confused:

Baaa?

No, you’re right. He shouldn’t even have a mouth to smirk with.

:Ghostie notices Syl staring at her:

What?

“You speak Giant Demonic Sheep?”

Sure. Doesn’t everyone?

They growled in response and scanned their surroundings. Ganging up on an individual, how low, I chuckled.

:snorts: “This is a fight, sugar, not a meeting of the International Tea-Drinker’s Society.”

I guess that means he doesn’t have to keep his pinky up.

Their auras grew darker with anger.

I really hope he’s not going to start urging the wendigoes to let their anger and hate consume them. It’s bad enough when Crunchy starts rambling about the Dark Side.

“You’d rather listen to his epic cloaca poem, ‘Ode to a Vent’?”

Suddenly I’m fine with letting him ramble on about the Dark Side.

The taller Wendigoes were growing agitated, flinching and growling at every sound they heard, while the smaller remained calm. That’s right… fear me…

Dude. They’re angry, not scared. There’s a difference.

“His aura-sense must be on the fritz.”

I appeared behind the Wendigo with the moose head. Before it had time to react, I wrapped my appendages around his neck, arms, legs and waist.

Yes! Finally! He’s using his teleportation!

“This calls for a toast!”

:Syl removes a flask from her vest and takes a healthy drink before offering it to Ghostie:

“Care for a snort?”

No thanks, I choose life.

It yelped in surprise, alarming the other two Wendigoes. I tightened its neck and brought his back close to my chest, giving the other two Wendigoes a full view of what I’m about to do next.

:Syl starts buttering the popcorn:

I really hope you don’t get to use that.

I’ve warned you to stay away, I growled, tightening my grip on the struggling beast. I pressed four jagged limbs against its back. Now you will suffer, I said before piercing my limbs through its back. It hollers in pain as my limbs burst through its chest.

“BOO!” :throws popcorn at fic: “That’s not the kind of penetration I wanted!”

I thought you enjoyed alternative forms of penetration.

:Syl throws popcorn at Ghostie:

The aura around the Wendigo with the deer skull shifted to fear. It hunched down and backed away from me. The smaller Wendigoes aura shifted to anger. Instead of backing away like the other, it stood were it was.

“I thought Horned Gollum was already angry?”

I guess now he’s leveled up to Ultra-angry.

The Wendigo in my grasp continued to cry out and struggle under my grip.

Christmas Moose is still alive even after a quadruple chest-bursting?

“Or he’s dead and Slendpai has turned him into a literal meat-puppet.”

Ewww.

Let this be your final warning, cretins. I said before tightening my hold on its arms and legs. If I come to find out a human has died by your hands, then this will be your karma, I said before ripping it’s arms and legs out of its body. It screamed in pain before falling limp.

“Karma must have a very different meaning in your dimension.”

Not that different. Karma is often synonymous with fate or destiny, so I think this is another case of the author making a wonky word choice.

I let its body drop to the ground and watched as its skin dissolved and red smoke evaporated from it.

I don’t have a lot of first-hand knowledge on the subject, but I don’t think that’s what a dead body is supposed to do.

“Depends on how it came to be dead, really.”

I’m better off not knowing some things, thanks.

The taller Wendigo shrieked fearfully before dashing off into the forest, which leaves me alone with the smaller Wendigo.

“What a nancy-boy, running off from a little thing like dismemberment.”

Deer Skull Hat is such an embarrassment to monster-kind.

I watched as it stood on two legs and stretched out its back, dropping its sweater to the ground.

Oh, no! NOT THE SWEATER!

“Now what will he wear to the office Christmas party?”

The irises in its black orbs glowed gold again as it walked closer to me. “Death, death, tall man, death,” it repeated as its gold orbs glowed brightly.

Crap, not this again.

:Syl shakes her flask: “Having second thoughts about that drink?”

Before I could look away from its gaze,

“With your nonexistent eyes.”

I found myself paralyzed again.

For reasons that still aren’t entirely clear.

“You sound quite bitter about that. Well, more bitter than you normally do.”

It’s such a lazy way of writing the character! The author doesn’t even attempt to show how Slendpai perceives his environment differently than a sighted being would, she just writes him like he’s any other character with eyes despite his complete lack of them.

“Must… Die,” it growled as it extracted large fangs.

“Hey! Why does Horned Gollum get to scavenge the dead?”

If you saw Horned Gollum jumping off a bridge, would you jump off a bridge, too?

:shrugs: “Maybe. How much will I have been drinking that day?”

Never mind, I forgot who I was talking to for a second.

“Don’t you say the sweetest things?”

“Die- Ahg!” It hissed when a beam of light hit its body.

Syl!

“It wasn’t me, I swear!”

It backed away while covering its face with its hands.

“Why is he doing that? I thought the beam of light THAT I TOTALLY AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR hit his body?”

Often the standard reaction to any injury is to cover your face with your hands and run away like a little bitch.

It’s skin seem to bubble and burn.

“Should have lead with that part, dumpling.”

It does seem like a pretty important thing to leave out.

“It is just an optical illusion, so it isn’t that important.”

Frickin’ fic authors and their obsession with passive voice.

It growled menacingly at me before it ran away, leaving its red sweater behind.

NO, DAMMIT! NO SWEATER LEFT BEHIND!

“Have you been sneaking nips out of my flask?”

Immediately after the Wendigo ran away, I found myself able to move. I walked over to the red sweater and picked it up. Why does it value this messed up piece of clothing so much?

“Probably has some unreasonable emotional attachment to the thing, like Ghostie and that nasty old teddy bear of hers.”

You leave Bluebeary alone!

I look back towards the direction the Wendigoes ran away at.

“Grammar done got broked.”

It happens a lot in this fic.

There is no sign of them. Curses, I should have sent one of my appendages after them, to track them down.

But that would have been the logical thing to do, and we can’t having you doing that.

“Bet you your VISA card he goes to see his sorrow sponge.”

:Ghostie snatches her credit card away from Syl:

Give me that!

“Tall m-man,” a raspy voice coughed out. I looked back towards the fallen Wendigo, only to see a human instead.

I thought Christmas Moose dissolved into red smoke?

“He got better?”

I walked over to him and knelt down. Smoke was still leaving his limp body and the antlers on his head had fallen off. He looked at me with worn out, hazel, eyes.

Not much better, by the looks of it.

“Smoking will do that to a body.”

I think “ripping off all his limbs” would be far more lethal than a little smoking.

“P-please forgive them, they can’t control their actions,” he coughed out. I contemplated the idea of healing him, but the wounds I’ve inflicted on him were too severe. Nothing can help him now. “Please save them,” he begged.

“Fuck that noise.”

He’s concerned about his friends!

“They abandoned him to die!”

They probably thought he was already dead, due the aforementioned limb removal.

Remain silent, you’re much too weak to speak, I said before resting my hand on his back.

He really should be too dead to speak, but whatever.

“You just can’t let that go, can you?”

I know it might be hard for you to believe since you can reattach your limbs at will, but for most people that’s a very serious and life-threatening injury.

I read his thoughts, watching, listening, and fearing everything that he has experienced since he became a Wendigo.

“He can do that?”

Apparently so. I assume that’s the only reason he didn’t die immediately; Slendpai needs expositional info-dump.

“The witch… she… caused this… she…” he said before finally drifting off into his never ending slumber.

“Now’s not a good time to take a nap.”

It’s a euphemism for death.

“Well, it’s a stupid one. Death is nothing like sleep.”

How would you even …. No, forget it. I don’t want to know.

Worry not human. I will put an end to her, I said, knowing that he isn’t listening to a word I said.

“Then why say anything? He’s beyond caring about your useless and self-serving oaths.”

Sounds like something touched a nerve.

:Syl makes a rude gesture:

Now I know the cause of the large number of Wendigoes.

“Three is considered a large number? They couldn’t even scrounge together a game of bridge.”

Maybe it’s me, but any number over zero would be too many.

Someone is calling them forth, but what is the reason of doing this?

“Is it ‘because reasons’?”

Or “because blue” – although it could be that the author just played too much Until Dawn.

I must find her before more people are forced to become a Wendigo.

“It takes more than one human to make a wendigo?”

I guess it technically takes two since the transformation requires the soon-to-be wendigo to consume human flesh, but you could probably use the same human corpse as a food source for multiple wendigoes if you wanted to streamline the process.

“I bet you’re fun at parties.”

Author’s note*

Yay!

“you’re …happy to see an Author’s Note?” :squints at Ghostie: “Are you sure you haven’t been in my flask?”

It means the chapter is nearly over.

WOW. What happened?!

There was a poorly paced fight sequence and not much else.

“Don’t forget that business with the red sweater that totally clashes with my eyes.”

Put that nasty thing back in the fic!

That escalated quickly, now there’s other Wendigoes? What’s going on?

“If you don’t know, sunshine, how are we supposed to?”

I hate it when you make sense.

and what did the man try to say before he died?

Something about a witch, I think? It was kind of hard to make out.

“The multiple holes in his thorax didn’t help matters.”

Review your thoughts on what the man tried to say ;D

“Damn it all! If I’d have known there was going to be a bloody pop quiz I would have stayed up in the rafters with the rest of the Carnal Clan.”

What?!?

:Ghostie takes a flashlight out of a desk drawer and shines it upwards:

…How on Earth did you get the tea trolley up there?

“That new girl is very eager to join our little club.”

If you let Koori-san join you, Lyle will skin you alive. :sweeps beam back and forth: I don’t see her, but is that…?

Hie, Goosee!”

:facepalm:

You brought Jiwe with you?

Swenia: Couldn’t find a sitter.

That’s right; Crunchy has macramé class on Fridays.

 BTW I dont have a beta or anything

Which doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone.

:general murmurs of agreement grow to a dull roar:

Seriously, why do we even bother having a security system?

“I assume it’s strictly for recreational use, like nipples on a man.”

55 Comments on “1601: I’ll protect you – Chapter 7”

  1. AdmiralSakai says:

    Huh. Looks like we’re sliding right into Slendpai again.

    PLEASE don’t say that.

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    It had the head of a moose with glowing red orbs, it had a mane that was thick and black, and its upper body was larger then it’s lower, giving him an ape like appearance.

    That also describes a regular bull moose, which have humped shoulders and a relatively narrower rump, but the ape reference leads me to believe that this wendigo is supposed to be a bipedal humanoid like the other two. The “red orbs” are a bit of a puzzle, though. I assume that’s supposed to be its (or likely his) eyes, but it really doesn’t specify so I’m going to picture a moose with red twinkly lights strung through its antlers.

    I’m just going to go with a moose with glowing red testicles.

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    It roared a loud roar that almost made the ground tremble,

    You know, with all this loud growling and… wind generation(?) and everything, you’d think the authorities in the town would be getting curious as to what was going on in the forest.

    • GhostCat says:

      Apparently the authorities aren’t very good at their jobs; unless these are vegan wendigoes there should be reports of missing people and the remains of the wendigoes’ meals are probably all over the place, but according to the last chapter there hasn’t even been any rumors of that kind of thing going on.

      • AdmiralSakai says:

        I won’t take issue with the fact that the Wendigoes should be much more aggressive, but I’m not sure if they should actually be succeeding in making any remains- they seem kind of dumb, and this is a small town in the middle of a forest where people will already be on the alert for animal attacks to begin with. I think it’s very probable that they’ve just been going around at night clawing at windows and rattling doorknobs, but haven’t actually managed to corner a human yet.

      • AdmiralSakai says:

        And then there’s the Wendigoes themselves, who started out as humans and probably haven’t been collecting their mail recently.

        Unless none of the Wendigoes are actually from the town, in which case they wouldn’t need to have killed anyone nearby to transform.

  4. It held the red sweater against its body protectively and roared a high pitch roar at me. The irises of its hollow black eyes began to glow gold.

    OH GREAT CTHULHU SOMEBODY KILL IT BEFORE IT BECOMES A MEYERPIRE!

  5. AdmiralSakai says:

    The moose head came charging towards me, with its antlers pointed directly at me.

    Only the head, though; the rest of its body stayed behind.

  6. AdmiralSakai says:

    It struggled under my grip as I hoisted it up. Right when I was about ready to fling it towards a tree, the smaller Wendigo latched onto my shoulders. It brought its face close to mine, practically shoving its nose on my face, and gazed it’s piercing gold eyes at me.

    Hot Wendigo-on-meme action?

  7. AdmiralSakai says:

    These vermin will die. No mercy. No pity. Just kill them. Make them experience all kinds of pain known to man.

    Maybe I’ve been hanging around with the Commissar too much, but it seems like killing them as quickly as possible and making them experience all kinds of pain known to man are kind of mutually exclusive.

  8. I guess it technically takes two since the transformation requires the soon-to-be wendigo to consume human flesh, but you could probably use the same human corpse as a food source for multiple wendigoes if you wanted to streamline the process.

    I hear UNITY’s managed to get it down to using two wooden blocks and 3cc of mouse blood.

  9. BatJamags says:

    Oh, no! They might try to do stuff WITH THINGS!

    Doing stuff with other stuff would be one thing, but now they’ve gone too far!

  10. BatJamags says:

    I was about to walk out of the shadows, to approach the creature, before I heard heavy stomping sounds.


    4:23, but the entire show is made of awesome and you should watch it

  11. BatJamags says:

    I assume that’s supposed to be its (or likely his) eyes, but it really doesn’t specify so I’m going to picture a moose with red twinkly lights strung through its antlers.

    Festive!

  12. BatJamags says:

    Yeah, apparently raising Minor Infernal Spirits is a lot easier than actually cleaning up our messes themselves.

    Oh, there was a reason we were doing that? Other than sending them forth to cause mayhem and murder and possibly play pranks on the Riffleet?

  13. BatJamags says:

    “That can be a mood-killer.”

    “Can be?”

    Nevermind, please don’t clarify that.

  14. BatJamags says:

    What the hell are you allergic to?!?

    Kane: There was an eldritch abomination who-

    Just shut up.

  15. BatJamags says:

    He’s not really Gollum and I doubt Slendpai has the One Ring.

    That’s what you think.

  16. BatJamags says:

    I’m paralyzed!

    You mean…

    It’s close to midnight, and something evil’s lurking in the dark!
    Under the moonlight, you see a sight that almost stops your heart!
    You try to scream! But terror takes the sound before you make it!
    You start to freeze, as horror looks you right between the (lack of) eyes!

    YOU’RE PARALYZED!
    ‘Cause this is THRILLER! THRILLER NIGHT!
    And no one’s gonna save you from the beast about to strike!
    You know it’s THRILLER! THRILLER NIGHT!
    You’re fighting for your life inside a
    KILLER
    THRILLER
    Toniiiiiiiight!

    OK, proceed.

  17. BatJamags says:

    Possibly literally, considering he doesn’t have a mouth to articulate sounds with.

    Well, he sometimes doesn’t. Other times he does.

  18. BatJamags says:

    You watch too many movies.

    No such thing.

  19. BatJamags says:

    I’ve warned you to stay away, I growled, tightening my grip on the struggling beast. I pressed four jagged limbs against its back. Now you will suffer, I said before piercing my limbs through its back. It hollers in pain as my limbs burst through its chest.

    On the one hand, this is a much more convincing Slenderman.

    On the other hand, our hero, ladies and gentlemen.

  20. BatJamags says:

    I let its body drop to the ground and watched as its skin dissolved and red smoke evaporated from it.

    Oh, so they’re Grimm now?

    What the hell is with these things?

  21. BatJamags says:

    I found myself paralyzed again.

    HORNED GOLLUM used GOLDEN EYES (there’s another RWBY reference in there with the precious-metal-eyes thing, but fuck it, I’m doing Pokemon right now)!

    It’s super effective!

    SLENDERMAN was paralyzed!

  22. BatJamags says:

    It growled menacingly at me before it ran away, leaving its red sweater behind.

    *Grabs sweater*

    YOINK!

    • BatJamags says:

      I walked over to the red sweater and picked it up.

      “Don’t forget that business with the red sweater that totally clashes with my eyes.”

      Put that nasty thing back in the fic!

      *Looks down at sweater*

      How many of these things are there?

  23. BatJamags says:

    I look back towards the direction the Wendigoes ran away at.

    But has anyone gone as far as to- blah, however that thing goes.

  24. BatJamags says:

    Curses,

    FOILED AGAIN!

  25. BatJamags says:

    “The witch… she… caused this… she…” he said before finally drifting off into his never ending slumber.

    My god, the witch got them, her pretties, and their little dog too!

  26. AdmiralSakai says:

    You know, in another context those Gollum-type Wendigos that hew a little closer to the original ‘spirit possession’ approach and apparently retain enough knowledge of their former selves to hold onto items that were important to them could actually be extremely creepy.

    The author, however, seems entirely disinterested in them as anything other than a tool to further inflate Slender’s manhood.

  27. SC says:

    Happy Black Friday, beloved Patrons! I hope you’re enjoying and/or enduring America’s annual Festival of Consumerism.

    You shut your ass up.

  28. SC says:

    No, I’m headdesking because he :points to Slendpai: is a touch-telepath.

    “…And?”

    HE’S NOT TOUCHING ANYONE!

    Auren: Well, shit, at least I can keep to my gimmicks.

    I see you trying to brush my shoulder, you little fuck. You don’t need to know my secrets.

    Auren: Buddy, if I was interested in your secrets, I’d just ask the ninjas.

    Son of a-!

  29. andiliteman says:

    Today: 1602: I’ll protect you – Chapter 7

    Wednesday: 1600: Heroes and Villains – Chapter Ten, Part One

    We seem to have a slip, here.

  30. Delta XIII says:

    Looks like we’re sliding right into Slendpai again

  31. Delta XIII says:

    So somewhere that way. :points into Void: Probably.

    *points to different section of Void*
    Actually, it’s that way. The other way leads to a Wal-Mart.

  32. Koori says:

    If you let Koori-san join you, Lyle will skin you alive.

    No one ever lets me do anything fun!


Leave a Reply

