1588: I’ll protect you – Chapter 5

Title: I’ll protect you
Author: Sessh-Amy
Media: Video Games
Topic: Slender: The Eight Pages
Genre: Romance/Hurt/Comfort
URL: Chapter 5
Critiqued by Ghostcat

 

 

Happy Double Eleven Day, dear Patrons!

We’ve finally reached the halfway point of this meandering little fic! It’s become painfully obvious that the author has run out of ideas, as the last chapter was nothing but Slendpai walking Thaddeus home after the attack in the woods.

Aside from a few hints that Gerald is going to be seeking non-specific vengeance on someone, possibly Thaddeus but it is also equally likely that it could be Slendpai, that’s literally all that happens in the entire chapter. I’m not really looking forward to the second half of the fic.

Authors Note*

The lack of proper punctuation almost makes it look as if this work was a collaborative effort with someone else.

Hello everyone. I have returned with another chapter to “I will protect you.” I apologies for the long wait, I’ve had terrible writers block.

Well, you’ve already admitted to running out of ideas for this fic and starts soliciting your readers for more. That’s usually a sign that you should take a break and come back to the work later, when you have a fresh pair of eyes.

I was also busy with my last year of high school. You can only imagine how stressful it was :P

:snorts:

Oh, you sweet summer child. If you think your senior year of high school is as bad as it gets, then life is going to kick your ass so very hard.

But now I’m back and I’m here to stay. I would like to thank UrBestCeilingFan for encouraging me to update. Thanks to them I got, how you say, inspired to write future chapter. I thank you humbly! And now here’s the chapter.

Ah, now we know who to “thank” for the rest of the fic.

Enjoy!

Doubtful.

Warning: this story contains Yaoi/ slash/ MalexMale, violence and sexual content.

:headdesk:

You know when it would have been a good idea to add an extra warning? Back in Chapter 3, which featured the attempted rape scene. The fact that there was no warning on that chapter but there is one on this chapter fills me with apprehension.

A reminder! Slender man has been created in my own way. So whatever you think slender man is, he is not in my story.

Yeah, no kidding.

Thaddeus P.O.V.

Fucknuggets.

“What are you doing here? I told you not to show your face around me again!”

Hello, Unattributed Voice! You sound very angry this morning.

‘”That’s an impossible task considering I live here,” I shouted back as my eyes pierced through her evil soul.

AHHHH!

:falls out of chair:

Don’t suddenly throw purple prose at me like that! I had my mouth open and everything.

“Don’t you dare talk back to me, who do you think you are?!”

Honey, I don’t even know who you are.

“I will talk to you however I want! You don’t control me!”

“Shut up you murderer! Why don’t you leave the house?! No one wants you here anyway!”

Still the same old song, I see.

“Why don’t you leave?! You’re basically an old woman now, Jesus, stop freeloading off dad and get a life!”

Ah, the Unattributed Voice must belong to the phantom sister, Anna.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

Yeah, it’s a bit unsettling when characters suddenly appear out of nowhere.

“I wish I could leave but I can’t because of your sorry ass! Why did you have to be born in the first place?! I should be in college by now but no! Dad wanted me to watch over you instead! You’re ruining my life!”

Wow. It looks as if Thaddeus isn’t the only one in the family who likes to crank the angst knob up to eleven.

“Shut up! I didn’t force you to stay or anything! Get out of my face!” I growled before shoving past Anna, my sister, and marching angrily towards my upstairs bedroom.

Thaddeus does have a point. Staying home would not negate her ability to attend college. It’s possible that there was a particular school outside of the area that she wanted to attend but her father refused to fund her education, but there are a wide variety of schools out there. If she really wanted to attend a specific school and was of legal age, she could defy her father’s wishes and leave the house. It would likely lead to the estrangement of her father and she would have to pay her own way, so it would be a difficult choice to make. But we can’t have any of that drama cluttering up the fic, though.

“That’s right, leave and don’t bother coming back down! I never want to see your face again! Do you hear me? I hope you die in your room!”

Now call him a poopyhead!

“Shut up already,” I growled under my breath before slamming the door to my room shut and sliding down against it. It’s like this almost every day, arguing with my sister about stupid and small things. I can’t even drink a glass of water without her yelling at me.

Welcome to the wonderful world of siblings!

Frankly, I surprised that all she does is yell; I once ended an argument between my sister and myself by blowing my nose on her socks while she was still wearing them. (I still contend that it was justified; she kept poking me in the face with her feet, and I did issue a verbal warning first.)

I took deep breaths, trying to calm my raging heart. I wiped the tears from my eyes and tried to calm myself. I open my window, allowing the breeze to push against me, and looked out towards the forest.

If he gets any calmer, he’s going to fall asleep.

“…Slender man,” I sighed as I rested my elbows on the window sill. It’s been a week since I last saw the tall creature.

Sudden time-skip is sudden. The last chapter ended with Thaddeus arriving at his house and this chapter began with him apparently arriving home, so it didn’t look as if any time had passed at all.

When he saved me from Gerald neither he nor his friends have bothered me since. Though, Gerald keeps giving me random smirks from time to time, it’s kind of creepy.

Baaa?

I’m sorry, sugar; he still has his Designated Asshole card.

Baa. Ba.

Yeah, I agree; it would be really annoying if someone constantly smirked at you for no reason. That’s kind of why you have a job, though.

Ba-baaa.

No, I don’t mind if you hang out for a bit. Here, I even had Gumdrop make a batch of buttercup crumpets just in case.

Baaa?

He assured me that they are less than twenty percent hoof and/or talon.

Baa-AA!

The autumn air blew against the trees, causing some of the yellow and red leaves to fly away. “I like your hair; it’s as lovely as a yellow gingko leaf.” I blushed at the memory of his kind words.

That he stole from an anime.

That’s the first time I’ve ever received a compliment from anybody.

In this era of “Every Student is A Special Little Snowflake” schooling, I find that very hard to believe. Kids get a gold star for remembering to wear shoes to school.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

…I have no response to that.

“I wonder where he is… is it strange that I want to see you?” I sighed, squinting my eyes in an attempt to fix my vision.

Yes, it is. Very much so. And squinting doesn’t “fix” your vision, that is what corrective lenses are for.

Maybe I might see him wondering around the forest?

I think you’re confusing the Slender Man with Thoreau.

“Or maybe not,” I snorted. Should I go looking for him? Psh! What should I even say if I do run into him? Hey Mr. Slender Man! I just wanted to say hi because I missed you? Like I’d ever say that!

Congratulations, author; you managed to capture the bubbly essence of the first stage of a crush. You’ve earned a redemption crumpet!

Brrrrr…

I mean … :digs through desk drawer: a redemption paper clip!

“I know! I’ll make him a thank you gift…but what do I make him?” I asked myself as I walked towards my bed and lied flat on my stomach.

My familiarity with shōjo manga and anime tropes tells me that Thaddeus is going to make cookies or some other baked good for his Slendpai.

I should make him something to eat!

:headdesk:

There was a time when I actually enjoyed being right about things; but then I became a Librarian.

Does he even eat? Well duh, he wouldn’t be alive if he didn’t right? Is he even alive?! Is he like a vampire or something!? The walking dead perhaps!?

Opinions differ and there’s a number of different fan theories as to what Slendy really is but they tend to break down into three camps; he’s either paranormal or supernatural entity, he’s an extraterrestrial, or he’s an unknown cryptid. If it’s one of the latter two he probably would need to ingest something in order to maintain his bodily functions, but if he’s of a purely paranormal or supernatural origin then he may not need to eat anything. The author doesn’t seem particularly interested in exploring any of these avenues, though.

“Okay Thaddeus calm down! You’re getting in over your head!” I told myself before resuming to my thoughts. “I know! I will make him apple tart, he loves apples tart! Wait… how do I know that?”

…I don’t know. I assume it’s part of the author’s less-than-subtle attempts at hinting at some Deep And Meaningful past connection between Slendpai and Thaddeus.

Now that I think about it, he did mention something about my childhood.

You mean the childhood you are likely still experiencing?

Did I meet him once before? A headache began to form on the right side of my head from my intense thinking.

I thought I smelled something burning. I assumed it was just Cerbs.

Baaaa!

Yes, I noticed the necklaces of little tree air fresheners. That was very thoughtful of you, dear.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

“Hell, why don’t I just ask him?” I told myself before pushing myself off my bed and heading towards the door. I made my way down the stairs and headed to the kitchen and surprise, surprise, there was Anna!

Is that meant to be sarcastic? The two of you were just having an argument, so I would assume she would still be in whatever room she was in during that conversation.

“Again?! How many times do I have to tell you to get lost?”

You two live in the same house; if you rehash the same fight every time you cross paths then you probably tell him that several times a day.

“As many times as you like, oh, maybe if you stop talking bullshit then I might listen!” I sneered as I walked towards the kitchen counter.

If you keep acting like a sassy bitch you’re going to be in danger of losing your Sorrow Sponge card.

“Go to hell you bastard-” and just like that her voice disappeared as soon as I put my headphones on and blasted my music.

Why wouldn’t he have done that before? Were the headphones in the kitchen? Did he have them with him the entire time?

I will say that headphones are fantastic for avoiding conversations with people. You don’t even need to have them plugged into anything; wearing a large pair of headphones is an excellent way of transmitting the message “I do not desire any social interaction at this moment” to everyone who sees you. They are the introvert’s best weapon.

I searched through the cabinets and sure enough, we don’t have enough ingredients.

Wait, I thought you were going to go ask Slendpai if he liked apple tarts? Are you going to make them and then ask him if he likes them? Because that seems very counterintuitive to me.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

…Okay then.

“Maybe I should just buy them, I’m not a great cook anyway,” I told myself before walking towards the living room,

:headdesk:

Then why on Earth were you planning on cooking him something? You don’t typically make something for someone unless you’re confident in your ability to do so. I know the basics of leathercraft, but I wouldn’t attempt to make someone a pair of shoes.

And if he’s not that good of a cook, why does he have the recipe for apple tarts memorized so completely that he can tell at a glance if they have the right amount of ingredients?

leaving my still bickering sister behind, and leaving out towards the front door.

If you’re not interacting with her I don’t think it would technically be bickering, that’s more along the lines of nagging.

I took a deep breath and savored the autumn aroma. Oh how I love this season. I watched as the little boys and girls played on the cul de sac. Enjoy your youth while it last because the teen years won’t be so fun.

Spoken like a newly hatched teenager unaccustomed to shouldering responsibilities.

I made my way down the street and watched as some of the adults were setting up their Halloween décor.

Why aren’t any of the kids helping decorate? That was always my favorite part.

That’s another reason why I like this season, it brings out the scary vibe. I may be a big chicken, but when it comes to scary stuff such as horror movies, pumpkins, and scary costumes, I can’t help but get giddy.

Dichotomy, thy name is Thaddeus.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

No, I doubt his name means “compassion”.

The smile on my face suddenly faded when I saw Gerald placing a few pumpkins on the stairs of his front porch.

If only the adults are decorating, then that would mean that Gerald is an adult. That adds another layer of squick to the previous attempted rape scene.

He noticed me and gave me another one of his creepy smirks.

Baa?

Sure; you want honey-walnut, maple, or just regular butter-flavored?

Baa’a?

No, it’s not real butter. Kanai-san has been cracking down on the clan recently, their cholesterol levels are through the roof.

Ba-baa. Ba.

Well, you tell her that. I prefer the real thing, too; but I also prefer having my internal organs remain internal.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

Flinching, I quickly hurried my speed and made my way towards town.

Must go fast, feet too slow?

I gulped harshly. Hopefully he won’t follow me.

Since he appears to be occupied with a task, and there are numerous adults around as witnesses, he probably won’t.

“Hello sir, found everything weh- Thaddeus, hi!”

“H-Hey Carlos,”

Oooh, awkward.

“What’s up?” he asked me giving me a big toothy grin.

I assume you two are in a store of some kind where you, Carlos, work as a cashier. That would mean that “what’s up” is that Thaddeus is buying stuff that is none of your concern.

“I’m g-good, just getting something for a friend,” I said, trying my best to smile back. Wait, should I even consider myself a friend of Slender man?

Smoooth. :thumbs-up: It’s the perfect cover story! Too bad you don’t have any friends.

“Really a friend?” he asked in a surprised tone.

“Yeah, weird right?”

I know; caring about someone other than yourself is such a bizarre concept!

“No it’s not weird! I’m just glad you have someone you can trust enough to be your friend. I’m kind of envious,” he chuckled as he checks out my food.

That almost makes it sound as if Carlos likes Thaddeus.

“Envious? Why?” I asked, raising my eyebrow.

I raise free-range eyebrows in one of the sub-basements; they make fine moustaches. Someone keeps dyeing them pink for some reason, but I can’t figure out who.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

I KNEW it!

Why would he be jealous of Slender man? No one wants to be my friend here.

Dude. You cannot possibly be that clueless; you know Carlos has been trying to make friends with you! And possibly get into your pants.

“That will be $6.45,” he suddenly says changing the conversation.

:THWACK!:

I don’t usually thwack for prices or dollar amounts, but this is dialogue and numerals don’t belong in dialogue.

“Here you go,” I said, almost in a whisper, as I handed him a ten dollar bill.

Hey, you got it right! That deserves a redemption cr … paper clip.

Maybe I should drop the subject. I don’t want Carlos to get annoyed with my questions.

Wait, what? Carlos was the one asking uncomfortable questions, not you.

“Thank you, see you later Thaddeus,” Carlos waved after giving me my change. I waved back before turning to leave.

Oh, thank goodness the awkwardness is over.

“Wait Thaddeus! One more thing,” he stops me.

DAMMIT!

I turned and faced him. “Listen sorry about last Saturday, suddenly canceling on you and all, I had a family emergency,”

“It’s fine, don’t worry about it,”

Oh, that’s right; Thaddeus was going to go over to Carlos house to … do activities. It was such a memorable conversation that I’m surprised I completely forgot about it until now.

“Alright, and one more thing,” he says as a faint red blush formed on his cheeks. Huh? Why is he blushing all of a sudden?

This feels like more trope abuse to me, but Thaddeus could just be this hopelessly clueless when it comes to relationships given his crapsack past and limited social interactions.

“I was wondering if, you know, since you have a friend you wouldn’t mind having another one…” he asked, narrowing his almond shaped eyes at anywhere but me.

Carlos’ facial expression doesn’t match his words; he’s saying something embarrassing but the squinting make it seem as if he’s doing something shifty.

I smiled genuinely. Wow, this is a new and strange feeling. “Sure,” I said as Carlos finally looked at me. He had an astonished looked in his features but it quickly faded into a bright smile.

Carlos has it BAD for that boy.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

“Awesome! Well I’ll see you around! Maybe we can hang out after school or something?” he asked hopefully.

“Yeah sure, sounds fun,” I said halfheartedly. That’s when I noticed a twinkle in his eye. Wow, I didn’t think I could make anyone this happy… has he always had a small mole next to his left eye? It looks nice on his tan skin…

:blinks:

Well, that was unexpected. The author has been pushing Thaddeus and Slendpai together, but now it looks as if there’s a love triangle in the works.

“Thaddeus, are you okay?” he asked, breaking me out of my thoughts.

“Huh? Oh yeah sorry,” I apologized. “Well I got to go, bye Carlos,” I waved before making my way out the exit.

“Goodbye!” I heard him yell before I stepped out the door.

I thought Thaddeus was supposed to be moody and depressed all the time; this chapter is painting him as anything but that.

I took a deep breath of air and calmed my speeding heart. I didn’t even notice I was holding my breath. I looked back behind me and smiled shortly before making my way down the street and walking back towards the direction of my house.

I have a sinking suspicion that the author is setting things up so that Thaddeus is going to have to make a decision between Carlos and Slendpai, probably because Twilight. Thaddeus is Bella, Carlos is Jacob (which means he’s probably going to get friend-zoned at some point) and Slendpai is Edward. The only thing missing is the revelation that Carlos is a werewolf or some other flavor of supernatural creature.

Carlos is such a nice guy; hopefully he isn’t like everyone else in this town, mean and heartless. He and his family moved into town about a year ago. I’ve heard rumors of his family being into voodoo and witchcraft and what now. Whatever, it’s just a rumor.

:headdesk:

I swear, I didn’t read ahead.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

You take that back!

Large Warship the Owl: Ooh.

That’s better. I am wondering where Thaddeus heard these rumors, though. By his own admission, he doesn’t have any friends.

Based on what little is known about Carlos’ physical appearance – dark skin, almond-shaped eyes – I really hope the author doesn’t turn him into a Magical Ethnic Person.

“Now where do I go?” I asked myself. Should I just head towards the forest from here? If I do then where do I go? I don’t exactly know where Slender man lives.

Why are you going to see Slendpai now? I assume you bought the ingredients to make the apple tarts, since that was your plan, but you don’t actually have tarts yet. You couldn’t have bought the tarts, because you didn’t spend enough money. You did think about going to ask Slendpai if he liked apple tarts, but if you were going to do that then you should have done so before going to the store to buy all that stuff.

“Ehg, I might as well just walk around and hope for the best-wah AH!” I was suddenly yanked by the arm towards an alley and was smashed against the wall.

:porno music blasts from the Library speakers:

Unless Carlos managed to teleport himself into that alley, I don’t see this ending well.

“Shh, it’s okay Thaddey baby, it’s only me,” Gerald cooed as a chuckle left his lips.

“Wh-What do you want?” I asked, swallowing the lump in my throat.

:porno music intensifies:

GUYS! That is NOT appropriate!

“I don’t want anything Thaddey baby, I just came to warn you,” he smirked as he closed in on me.

Baa.

No, I don’t blame you. You’d be disinfecting your gong for a week.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

Dude, you’re not even supposed to be here today.

He pushed his knee in between my legs and faintly brushed his lips against my right ear. I shuddered in disgust.

:porno music abruptly cuts off:

Finally! I guess even the Society of Smut has standards.

“Next time your little hero decides to interfere, I won’t guarantee your or even his safety.”

Are you referring to Slendpai?  Dude, he kicked your ass – and the collective asses of your assorted minions!

I gasp in shock and stare at Gerald with wide eyes. He wouldn’t dare hurt Slender man! “You-You-You wouldn’t!” I stuttered.

I don’t really think he could, unless the author has given Slendpai some bullshit weakness specifically for Gerald to exploit.

… Shitbiscuits. That’s what’s going to happen, isn’t it?

“Yes I would,” he chuckled before releasing me, letting me fall to my knees. He looked down at me in pity. “Make sure you tell him to back off, or there be trouble. See ya Thaddey baby,” he warned once again before leaving.

Baaa-ba ba.

Yeah, I think the bastard knows something.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

My heart ran a mile in fear of him hurting Slender man.

Unless Thaddeus’ organs can leap out of his body, I think the author words there.

“I can’t let him hurt you,” I mumbled, before grabbing my grocery bag, that I have dropped when Gerald surprised me, and running straight to the forest.

Thaddeus may have fractured his tense when Gerald slammed him against that wall.

This whole town is in the middle of a huge forest. So it’s easy for me to just enter the forest whenever.

Entering the forest might be easy, but you’d still need to enter the correct part of the forest to reach your intended destination. Technically I could walk into the forest near my house and eventually end up in the Appalachian Mountains, but it would be a long damn walk – and if I picked the wrong direction it is equally likely that I would wind up in South Carolina, Virginia, or the Atlantic Ocean.

I ran as fast as I could, turning different directions and occasionally tripping over a rock or roots. I was tired but I couldn’t seem to stop running.

:headdesk:

This is how people end up lost in the woods and dying of exposure.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

Or find themselves getting fed mice by a large owl, although that’s an atypical situation.

Maybe the reason I haven’t seen Slender man in a while is because Gerald did something to him! I have to find him, I have to make sure he’s okay.

He’s worried that the terrifying tentacle monster – who has the ability to teleport away from danger if need be – has been hurt by the same frail mortal whose ass he recently kicked?

My speed came to a stop as I took deep breaths.

:headdesk:

This fic makes my think-meat hurty.

I continued to walk towards the forest, letting my heart relax, as I scanned the area. This is no good, everything looks the same. I don’t think I know my way back home either. A sigh of despair left my lips as I continued walking who knows where.

I don’t like to  say “I told you so”, but I FRICKIN’ TOLD YOU SO!

I jumped when I heard a twig snap from behind me. I jumped at the sudden noise and quickly turned to face whatever was behind me.

:spins Wheel-o-Forest Creatures:

C’mon, baby! Ghostie needs a rabid chipmunk!

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo?

Yes, I’ll share.

“Oh, it’s just a deer,” I sighed, as I watched the antlers of the animal move behind a tall bush.

Dammit!

:kicks Wheel:

:Wheel collapses on top of Ghostie:

:muffled: Double dammit.

Baaa?

It would be much appreciated, thank you.

I shouldn’t get to close to it or it might attack me.

You shouldn’t have been able to get anywhere near it; if you’re running through the trees at full-tilt, tripping all over the place, then you’re going to be making a lot of noise. That noise would scare off any deer or other wildlife in the area.

I quickly turned and continued my way through the trees. My paranoia got the best of me when I heard noises come from all around me. I could have sworn I saw something run past me as well. “Hello?” I called, looking around. “S-Slender man?” I asked, hopefully.

It’s a bit unsettling to see a character that wants to be stalked by the Slender Man. That’s typically a bad thing.

That’s when I saw the antlers again. Is the animal following me? I gulped when I saw the deer’s figure emerge from behind a tree in front of. My eyes widened when I took in its appearance.

:crosses fingers:

Please be a zombie deer.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo?

You can have it if you can carry it.

This is no animal, it’s a monster! The deer’s head was just a skull of the animal.

Oooh, I might get my wish!

Its fury neck had skulls attached to it, not just animals, humans as well.

It must have a very robust neck; the human skull isn’t a little thing, and this creature is wearing more than one plus an unknown number of additional skulls from unknown animals.

Its arms were large, full of muscles, and had paws for hands.

I think the zombie deer has been juicing. And is wearing mittens on its hooves for some reason.

The rest of his body was cover in brownish, red, fur and bones, and in the center of it, just under the neck area, was the top half of a human body, looking at me with deadly red eyes.

:blinks slowly:

Wha?

This is the most description the audience has gotten for anything in this entire fic, and I have no idea what the author is trying to describe. It’s a large creature covered in brownish-red fur and bones, with paws, a deer skull for a head, and is wearing half a human around its neck along with an assortment of skulls, and has some glowing red eyes thrown in somewhere.

And I don’t even want to know how Thaddeus can tell it’s a male.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

I’m not listening to you.

I wanted to scream but I couldn’t, my throat felt like it was clogged up.

I could see how facing Darwin’s grab bag would be a bit unsettling, but you were practically spooning with Slendpai while he was in full tentacle mode.

The creature walked, like a human, towards me.

Does that mean it has human legs? Deer legs? [ERROR: ANIMAL NOT FOUND] legs? Or is it just bipedal like a human?

He was 6ft tall and looked down at my frozen body.

First off;

:THWACK!:

That’s for the numeral and abbreviation. Secondly, what does the first half of that sentence have to do with the second half?

Some type of sound left its throat, giving me the impression that it was chuckling, and reached its paw towards me.

The sound was reaching its paw towards you? How is that possible?

I watched with wide eyes as its paw came closer.

This would probably be more suspenseful if I knew how far apart these two characters were.

I felt like a deer caught in headlights, the irony, I couldn’t feel my body at all.

So you’re frozen in fear, but that’s somehow ironic because your body is numb?

… I don’t get it.

I’m sure my heart stopped moving as well.

That may be why you’ve lost sensation in your body. I’d seek emergency medical attention immediately if I were you.

Right when its fury paw was about to brush against my cheek, I felt something yank me back by my waist.

Let me guess; Slendpai swoops in to save the day again?

“WAH!?” I screamed, finally coming to my senses. I looked down at the ground. I was a few feet from the ground.

Which wouldn’t really take you out of paw-swipe range. If Evolution’s Crazy Quilt is six feet tall, it can still reach you if you’re only a few feet off the ground.

“I’m flying?!” I gasped, thrashing around to see if this was really happening.

What? How does wriggling around like a worm on a hook in any way validate this experience?

“What’s happening, why am I up so high, what’s going on?!” I screamed.

ENGAGE PANIC MODE!

Because that always makes everything so much better.

I then heard a high pitch scream. I looked back towards the creature, only to see a tall man in a suit hovering over the hunched creature.

Thaddeus was face to face with Grimm’s Leftovers before he was  pulled backwards (and apparently raised into the air slightly) so he should still be facing the creature.

“Slender man!?” I cried, smiling immensely. He’s here, he’s really here!

Slendpai noticed you! And didn’t let you get eaten by that taxidermist’s night terrors.

Something tightened around my waist; I looked down to see what it was. It was one of Slender man’s tentacles. “So I’m not flying,” I told myself. Duh, as if I have some sort of powers to do that.

Yeah, it took you way too long to realize that. All that thrashing around you were doing should have made it immediately evident that there was something around your waist holding you up.

I won’t repeat myself, if I see you and your kind around my forest again, I will terminate all of you, the tall man warned in a low, threatening voice. Chills ran down my back at how scary he sounded. The creature roared at slender man before dashing through the forest, out of sight.

Question; why isn’t Slendpai killing the thing right now? Letting your enemy go with a verbal warning is one of the classic blunders.

Baa-a?

No, not quite as bad as getting involved in a land war in Asia.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo?

I don’t think we have any Sicilians in the Library, but it is a big place.

“Whoa!” I gasped as I was suddenly brought closer to Slender man and was gently placed on the ground.

Awwww. I was hoping he’d drop you.

Why are you here? He asked, in a harsh tone, while still facing the direction the creature left at.

I flinched at the anger in his voice. “Well, I-”

-You shouldn’t be here! He growled. I jumped when he finally faced me. The wendigo could have killed you!

The what now?

:scrolls back up and reads creature’s description again:

That’s supposed to be the description of a wendigo? Seriously?

A wendigo is a creature found in Algonquin myths; they are either humanoid monsters or humans who have been possessed by a malevolent spirit. They are creatures of the cold and winter, associated with famine and starvation, and are typically depicted as being gaunt or almost skeletal in appearance. (In some versions they are giants, growing in proportion to the meals they consume so that they are never satisfied, but most are of human proportions.) Above all they are cannibals, possessing an insatiable hunger for human flesh. The mythic beast, like many cannibalistic creatures and spirits found in a wide variety of folklore such as the European werewolf or the Asian preta, likely came into being to help explain and cope with instances where people were driven by madness or circumstances to break the ultimate taboo. It was much more mentally palatable (and socially acceptable) to say “We were possessed by a wendigo” than “We were starving to death so we ate Grandma.”

A wendigo would not have paused to try to pat Thaddeus on the cheek, it would have immediately torn out his heart and eaten it while it was still beating.

“I’m sorry, I-I didn’t k-know,” I stuttered, feeling a lump in my throat. “I just wanted to see you”

And to ask you about your tart preferences.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo?

I’m fairly certain Gumdrop already offers a squirrel tart on his regular menu, but it never hurts to ask.

Thaddeus-

“-I’ll leave then, I don’t want to bother you anymore!” I said before dashing off into the opposite direction the creature disappeared too. My chest tightened painfully as I continued my running.

Looks like we’re back to the sorrow sponge version. I’m going to miss Sassy Thaddeus.

The sun was already setting, and thanks to that I can see some of the towns lights.

Despite the fact that the town in surrounded by dense forest and you’ve been wandering around aimlessly for an unknown period of time.

Now I know where to run too.

:points into the Void:

That way. Probably.

BAAA!

Well, how was I supposed to know that was where your summer cottage was located!?! It’s all Void!

  I felt fresh tears run down my cheeks. Why am I crying? I shouldn’t be crying! I was saved again buy Slender man, I should be happy right? I should at least be happy that Gerald didn’t do anything to him.

Thaddeus seems to have forgotten that he was almost attacked by that reject from Disney’s Fantasia.

I finally made it to my house, and locked the door behind me. “Thaddeus is that you?” I heard my father’s voice come from the living room.

No, it’s just the local cat burglar. They aren’t very good at their job.

“I’m home dad,” I said before making my way towards the stairs.

And I’m Library Ghostie.

Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

Ba. Baaa.

“Anna made casserole, if you’re hungry help yourself,” he said.

Yum! Casserole™ is one of my favorite brands of Food™!

I could hear him ruffling on the couch, probably about to come up to me and give me a pat on the back.

What a heartless bastard, I guess? I thought Thaddeus’ father was supposed to be neglectful and uncaring, but that doesn’t appear to be the case.

“I’m not hungry,” I simply said before making my way up to my room and locking the door behind me.

I slid down the door frame once again, and brought my knees to my chest. I’m so stupid. I never should have gone looking for him. Now he hates me!

You also lost your bag of groceries, so you’re going to have to go through another awkward social interaction with Carlos to get more. And I’m not sure where your headphones went after you left for the store, so those got sucked into the SDQF as well.

Authors note*

Yay, the chapter’s over!

Oh no, Slendy is mad!? Why is he mad?

I don’t think he’s really mad, it’s just fear being expressed as anger.

And who was that creature that attacked Thaddeus.

According to Slendpai’s comment, it is allegedly a wendigo. Anyone who wasn’t already familiar with the creature would probably Google it to figure out what the hell Slendpai was talking about since the narration isn’t very helpful on the subject.

Make sure to review your thoughts and favorite this story.

I don’t really want to review my thoughts; that typically leads to me questioning my life choices and I end up sobbing into a pint of Cherry Garcia or contemplating changing my name to Windflower and joining a nomadic tribe of artisanal cheesemakers.

40 Comments on “1588: I’ll protect you – Chapter 5”

  1. BatJamags says:

    A reminder! Slender man has been created in my own way. So whatever you think slender man is, he is not in my story.

    This particular sort of AU always bothered me. If you’re going to make everything different, just change the names and make original fiction.

    • GhostCat says:

      I don’t mind if authors make a few minor changes, but not altering the character to the point that it’s just an OC with a canon name pasted on.

      • Andiliteman says:

        Hear, hear!
        It makes me think of a fanfiction I wrote in which I created a caregiver for a specific character so I wouldn’t have to write about her father, who had only been mentioned in canon until that point.

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      Probably still really shitty original fiction, though.

      I’ve actually been sort of doing this myself in Palaven’s Dogs, where a number of characters have been drastically reinterpreted to fit the story’s new premise (most prominently Miranda, and by extension all of Cerberus).

      Of course, there it’s much less haphazard- I am more asking myself “what would someone with this same personality be like if circumstances were drastically different?”, but I’ll also admit to deliberately orchestrating those circumstances to make the new characters fit into specific roles that I wanted them to have in order for the plot to move forward.

      It’s a fine balance that takes a lot of effort to maintain- I’d like to think that while PD certainly doesn’t feel exactly like Mass Effect, it’s still recognizable as canon with some elements less or more emphasized and others expressed in different ways. I’ve noticed in particular a sort of ‘conservation of tone’, where whenever I make one element of the world lighter I almost unconsciously make another darker and grittier (at the moment this has resulted in astropolitical relations and the status of associate species like the quarians being drastically improved, while the general galactic economy is somewhat worse off and military engagements are a lot bloodier).

      All of which, of course, would probably melt Sessh-Amy’s brain to even attempt to comprehend.

  2. BatJamags says:

    I should make him something to eat!

    Hang on. How the hell do you know that Slendy is even capable of eating? I mean, you’ve said yourself that the guy has no mouth (unless he does).

  3. BatJamags says:

    I raise free-range eyebrows in one of the sub-basements; they make fine moustaches. Someone keeps dyeing them pink for some reason, but I can’t figure out who.

    Large Warship the Owl: Hoo.

    I KNEW it!

    Look, I had the dye left over from a failed DRD trap, so I had to do something with it.

  4. BatJamags says:

    “Alright, and one more thing,” he says as a faint red blush formed on his cheeks. Huh? Why is he blushing all of a sudden?

    *BOOM*

    *Chk-CHKT*

    I’m not sure where this shotgun came from, but if you don’t stop blushing you’re going to get your head blasted off your shoulders again.

  5. BatJamags says:

    “Shh, it’s okay Thaddey baby, it’s only me,” Gerald cooed as a chuckle left his lips.

    Oh, god fucking dammit.

  6. Angie says:

    And now we’ve returned with another edition of Slandere: The Eight Pages. Woot!

  7. BatJamags says:

    This is no animal, it’s a monster! The deer’s head was just a skull of the animal.

    So what the hell is this?

  8. BatJamags says:

    I watched with wide eyes as its paw came closer.

    Slenderman shows up and saves him.

    • BatJamags says:

      Right when its fury paw was about to brush against my cheek, I felt something yank me back by my waist.

      Yeah, thought so.

      • GhostCat says:

        That’s essentially all their relationship is; Slendpai stalks Thaddeus and waits for an opportunity to rescue him. I kept waiting for him to pop up and deck Gerald during the alley scene.

  9. AdmiralSakai says:

    But now I’m back and I’m here to stay. I would like to thank UrBestCeilingFan for encouraging me to update.

    With a name like that, I’m betting they’re a troll. If so, encouraging Sessh-Amy to update another one of her ‘fics was just mean.

    • GhostCat says:

      I had a similar thought. I meant to look them up and see if they had a profile or any fics, but it slipped my mind.

      • Andiliteman says:

        Ooh! Ooh! I can help!
        *Tappytaptaptaptaptoo-CLICK.*

        Eh, his profile isn’t giving me any troll vibes, but someone may want to verify that. He has some attempts to be “quirky” or “cute” in his bio, and he appreciates yaoi works. All his favorited stories are along the lines of this one, but most are anime/manga related, with the exception, of course, of I’ll Protect You. He hasn’t written anything, though.

  10. AdmiralSakai says:

    Thanks to them I got, how you say, inspired to write future chapter. I thank you humbly!

    Are you 100% sure that this person actually speaks English?

  11. AdmiralSakai says:

    “I know! I’ll make him a thank you gift…but what do I make him?” I asked myself as I walked towards my bed and lied flat on my stomach.

    I should make him something to eat!

    How do you even know that he does eat??

  12. AdmiralSakai says:

    I smiled genuinely. Wow, this is a new and strange feeling. “Sure,” I said as Carlos finally looked at me. He had an astonished looked in his features but it quickly faded into a bright smile.

    Carlos has it BAD for that boy.

    Oh for fuck’s sake! What proportion of this town is homosexual, anyway?

  13. AdmiralSakai says:

    The rest of his body was cover in brownish, red, fur and bones, and in the center of it, just under the neck area, was the top half of a human body, looking at me with deadly red eyes.

    :blinks slowly:

    Wha?

    This is the most description the audience has gotten for anything in this entire fic, and I have no idea what the author is trying to describe. It’s a large creature covered in brownish-red fur and bones, with paws, a deer skull for a head, and is wearing half a human around its neck along with an assortment of skulls, and has some glowing red eyes thrown in somewhere.

    Considering that this is supposed to be a wendigo, I think the way it’s supposed to work is that this is a bipedal creature with a deer’s skull for a head (which has glowing red eyes), mounted on a furry neck, which comes out of a human upper body that has crouched down with both its arms (terminating in paws) and legs being used to move around the ground.

    What is described is either a large biped with a human torso encased within its chest, or some kind of a double centaur where a human torso and a deer head/neck are both growing out of the same quadruped body one behind the other.

    I am not sure which of the three options would be more terrifying, but they’re all for different reasons.

    • GhostCat says:

      I was picturing something humanoid with glowing eyes, partially naked but draped in furs with a deer skull for a hat, but I’m basing most of that off he traditional “possessed human” model of a wendigo and not so much on this description.

  14. andiliteman says:

    “Does he even eat? Well duh, he wouldn’t be alive if he didn’t right? Is he even alive?! Is he like a vampire or something!? The walking dead perhaps!?”

    I’m actually pretty sure he eats children, so that’s going to be a tad difficult for Thaddeus.

  15. andiliteman says:

    “A headache began to form on the right side of my head from my intense thinking.”

    Hahahahaha. Thaddeus gets headaches from thinking! How’d he manage to get to his senior year?

  16. Delta XIII says:

    “Go to hell you bastard-” and just like that her voice disappeared as soon as I put my headphones on and blasted my music.

    And I think we all know what he’s listening to.

  17. Delta XIII says:

    The only thing missing is the revelation that Carlos is a werewolf or some other flavor of supernatural creature.

    My money’s on zombie goast.

  18. Delta XIII says:

    And I’m Library Ghostie.

    And I’m Saiyan Delta.


Leave a Reply

