1501: My Moon Princess: A Fantasy Life Oneshot – …Er. Oneshot.

Title:My Moon Princess: A Fantasy Life Oneshot
Author: Have a Little Feith
Media: Video Game
Topic: Fantasy Life
Genre: Romance/Friendship
URL: My Moon Princess
Critiqued by SC

Hello, and welcome back to the Library of the Damned! I’m your host, SC, and for some reason, I couldn’t get off my lazy ass and finish part two of my element riff on time, so this is an emergency filler oneshot!

Expect poor quality and probably not much funny stuff. That’s usually what happens when I’m badly rushed. Sorry in advance.

So, the riff. This week, we’re heading back to Fantasy Life, which has seen a growth in fics from the eleven that it once was, to twenty-six, including this one! I’ve also been tossing the idea around of maybe writing one myself, but it’s probably not gonna happen because, oddly, I can’t seem to write a fic about a game that is largely a fantasy life (no pun intended) simulator.

Our fic is an incredibly short little story called, “My Moon Princess: A Fantasy Life Oneshot,” by author Have a Little Feith. I’m gonna to be nice to this one and presume that Feith is not a misspelling, but rather the name of an important character of theirs or something that they’re making a pun about. The fic is only five hundred-some-such words long, and is a yuri fic!

“A what now, SC?”

Oh, my apologies. Though I imagine I don’t REALLY have to explain, as it’s defined in the Library’s dictionary, I will anyhow: “yuri,” in this instance, is not a dashing rogue doling out vigilante justice against a corrupt bureaucracy –

That is not how you draw your sword, you fucking imposter.

That is not how you draw your sword, you fucking imposter.

– Nor is it a Russian soldier in any number of FPS games –

Ladies and gentlemen: Yuri.

Ladies and gentlemen: Yuri.

– instead, it is Japanese jargon used to indicate a romantic relationship between two women.

But you don’t need me to tell you that! The author does that well enough herself! (I’m assuming it’s a her.)

I wrote this a while back, when I had an iPod that ended up giving out on me. Since I got a new one, I figured I might as well finally post it here. As it says in the summary, this is a F/F story, or at least it has not so explicit mentions of it.

See? Told you.

I had better not see her whine about how hard it is to write quality material on an iPod, though.

It could be more subtle than that, I dunno. I’m not a very good judge of that, despite having written it.

Sounds like one of those, “just wrote it, didn’t think too much of how heavy it was on the details” kind of situations.

Anyways, there are also spoilers for the story in this, so if you haven’t beaten the game yet, be prepared to have it spoiled for you.

Oh please, I spoiled the shit out of Fantasy Life last time I did a riff of a fic about it. Here, I’ll do it again, too: spoiler alert, your ultimate objective is to stop the world from ending.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy the story, and if you did, please leave a review, but not anonymously, as I have anon reviews off.

Well if you have anonymous reviews off, I don’t think you really need to tell people. I’m sure the aforementioned anonymous reviewers will figure that out on their own.

•—•

Brother?

Brother?

| My Moon Princess |

•—•

…Oh God, was that part of an obnoxious attempt at text bordering? Ugh.

I love my Moon Princess.

Title drop!

*SC dings the bell*

She’s sweet, kind, kinda naïve at times, but she’s mine.

…Oh, alright, that was actually kind of precious. I’ll admit it.

When we first met, I didn’t think she was anything more than a talking butterfly.

Yuellia in a yuri fic? Huh. I mean, definitely, after the main game (and more strongly hinted during Origin Island), I can see where a romance plot could come from, because she does exhibit signs of having grown close with your character. And there’s no gender bias in the game, her dialogue towards your character remains the same, so a yuri fic with her as one of the two ladies is actually totally plausible. I guess I’m just surprised someone actually did it, really.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “How is a talking butterfly not suspicious?” And to be honest, I didn’t really care, because her voice sounded soo~ cute.

Besides, Yuellia out and tells everybody her big secret near the endgame, anyhow.

Anyways, I helped her out, and we became friends. Soon after, the Doomstone Incident occurred, and we recovered the doomstone, restoring Butch’s pet Fairy Dragon, Chompy, back to normal by destroying the stone. Butch became a better person, and Flutter, my cute moon princess, glowed.

Ooh. Putting aside the canon stuff, the fact that you’re just very quickly telling us about how the romance sparked and not properly building the romance up as you go so as to give it a more genuine feel has hacked this fic’s quality all to pieces. Damn, and you weren’t even doing that bad up to now, author.

Next came the Port Puerto Problem, which was solved easily. We gained some new allies in Olivia and Andy, and Flutter glowed once again.

Another issue is how she’s just vaguely going over the bare basics of the canon details. Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of romances between characters that have started in media res which are actually very well done, but they still put more time into the details than that. If you just want to skip ahead to the good part, fine, but you can’t neglect the backstory.

After that, there was the Al Maajik Conflict, (which really was a minor problem that started when the King of Castele and the Dark Sultan at the time started pranking each other, resulting in the King being deaged, but keeping his personality, and the Dark Sultan being sealed in a statue).

So, you’ll talk about the prank war that almost became a real war, but not about how Olivia came to terms with her duties as governess of Port Puerto, while also staying true to her adventurous sailor spirit? Uh, okay…

We made more allies, befriending Damien, Sir Odin, and Magnificus. Once again, Flutter glowed.

I didn’t realize you could daybook a plot as wacky as Fantasy Life’s. Color me surprised.

Then the Elderwoods happened.

That sounds so much like the result of the Specs and Co. being in an area for longer than a day. Like how the pie titan happened.

We had to rescue a young girl, who’d been bitten by a Doomstone-controlled Wolf. We collected shards of doomstones to synthesize a cure, which came just in time. We can thank the now-revealed-as-Yuelia’s (Flutter’s) sister, Noelia, for that.

The only reason I’m so forgiving of this, in ask honesty, really annoyingly whimsical narration, is because it’s meant to be from the point of view of the main character, but that doesn’t excuse her poor tense-minding.

We met the Great Spirit, who was FREAKING HUGE!

GACK!

*SC falls out of his chair*

Don’t startle me like that, author!

Then we found out that what we sook

Sought. You meant sought. Sook ain’t no word I’ve ever heard.

was in the Tree of Life. It was Yuelia’s Mother, Celestia’s ship.

The Lunarian Eclipse was about to occur, so we set off to save the day. Yuelia made a wish to live as a human, so now she’s living with me, sleeping with her girlfriend (me, a Master Blacksmith, Heroic Carpenter, and Master Tailor, among other things).

Before anybody says anything, that’s not Mary Sue status as far as Fantasy Life’s canon is concerned. Your character is capable of becoming a god in twelve different Lives in-game (but only if you’ve purchased the Origin Island expansion pack), and this lady’s only Master in two and Heroic in a third.

As for Yuellia living as a human… well, the author admits that she hadn’t played Origin Island before writing this, so I can give her a pass for not knowing, but the truth of the matter is that Yuellia and Noellia are both already half-human, because the Life Goddess Celestia was a human shrine maiden who was raised to godhood so that she could marry Divinus. It goes a long way towards explaining why, for being gods, they’re such a bunch of goofballs. (Although it’s pretty safe to assume Divinus is all god, all the time.)

Anyhow, so when Yuellia wished to live as a human, she was merely sent back to Reveria exactly as she was, which is what allowed her to continue to freely travel between Lunares and Reveria even in spite of the warnings that she would never be able to again.

Really, though, it’s more accurate to say she’s my girlfriend.

…But you already said that.

Fuckity fuckbiscuits-!

*Alarms Blare*

SIC ‘EM, MOMO!

*Momo, Destroyer of Worlds, screeches mechanically and flies from his nest up in the rafters out into the hall, raining arcane doom on the DRD agents*

I bet people were thinking I’d never put him in a riff again, huh?

All while I was reminiscing, and staring out my window at Lunaria’s pale, silvery glow,

…It’s Lunares. The moon is known as Lunares.

my moon princess was sleeping, slowly stirring due to the lack of body heat (I’m practically a furnace, who knew?).

One of your Master ranks is in Blacksmith, is anybody really surprised?

Finally she woke enough to register that I wasn’t in bed.

“Enough… *yawn* Enough thinking, Love. Come back to bed,” she said, yawning cutely.

Fuck fuck-mothering fuck!

*Alarms Blare*

SIC ‘EM AGAIN, MOMO!

“Okay,” I replied to her, and climbed back in bed, almost instantly spooning Yuelia.

tumblr_nsb3knTCt71re3x32o1_500

“Night, Love,” she said tiredly, kissing me briefly before falling back asleep.

I smiled, and closed my eyes. My last thought, before I fell asleep, was “I wouldn’t change my Moon Princess for the world.”

As if you could. Yuellia does her own thing, whether you like it or fucking not.

Well, that’s gonna do it for this week! Thanks for reading, folks, and stay tuned for next time! Hopefully, I’ll be able to give you guys a better riff than… well, this. In the meantime, I’m SC, and on behalf of Momo, Destroyer of Worlds, since nobody else is here, I’ll see you next time!

…You got blood in your sockets, bro.

*Momo growls and grudgingly sets to work cleaning himself off*

I mean, hey, if you wanna rust, go right ahead, man.

11 Comments on “1501: My Moon Princess: A Fantasy Life Oneshot – …Er. Oneshot.”

  1. AdmiralSakai says:

    was in the Tree of Life. It was Yuelia’s Mother, Celestia’s ship.

    Yulia’s mother was Celestia’s ship?

  2. S.M.F. says:

    Momo made this riff for me. Also Baymax.
    /thumbs up

  3. BatJamags says:

    I think this fic is a new contender for the “Most pointless thing I’ve ever read” award. It regurgitated plot for a couple paragraphs, and then [ERROR 404: NAME NOT FOUND] went back to bed.

    *Headdesk*

  4. CrunchyRaptor says:

    Soon after, the Doomstone Incident occurred, and we recovered the doomstone, restoring Butch’s pet Fairy Dragon, Chompy, back to normal by destroying the stone.

    What was that!?

    Chompy

    *Splutters indignantly*

    • SC says:

      Yeah, sorry bro, he’s chosen Butch over you.

      If it makes you feel better, it’s quite possible to slay many of his kin in-game.

  5. Koori says:

    *Momo growls and grudgingly sets to work cleaning himself off*

    *bursts in with a rag and a jar of polish*

    Poor baby!


Leave a Reply

