1257: Tomorrow Is Always Better – Chapter 9

 

Title: Tomorrow Is Always Better
Author: LaRae and Ninjas Incorporated
Media: Anime/Manga
Topic: Ouran High School Host Club
Genre:  Romance/Hurt/Comfort
URL: Chapter 9
Critiqued by Ghostcat

Welcome back, dear Patrons!

I’m here with the second-to-last chapter! Almost time to do the End-of-Fic Dance!

The last chapter was quite short and essentially existed only so that Kyo-Sue/the author could have a chance to sing one of her favorite songs. Disappointing times were had by all.

XOXOXOXOXO Disclaimer….. something about not owning anything but oc I don’t rememberXOXOXOXOXOXOX

:headdesk:

If you’re going to half-ass it, why even bother putting up a disclaimer?

Chapter 9: Unexpected Airplanes

That sounds like a bad thing. Airplanes showing up where they aren’t expected to are rarely happy occurrences.

It was Monday morning three weeks after that day with Gale,

Whatever day that was supposed to be.

and to be honest I noticed more changes, I’m getting FAT! NOOOOOO…..

If you were abused and neglected before, then you would likely be under-nourished so a little weight gain wouldn’t be unheard of. If this turns into more Pretty Ugly Girl body shaming like I had to sit through for that Kore wa Zonbi Desu Ka fic, I’m going to be pissed.

Anyway I not at school today I’m sick and feel really bad, I’m getting Fuyumi to take me to the doctor in a minute I’m getting ready….

… I just had an unsettling thought, and I really hope I’m not right.

I walk out of me and Kyoya’s room and down stairs,

:eye-twitch:

I see Fuyumi waiting in the living room, she smiled and said good morning and lets go.

All in one breath, like she was trying to get the words out as fast as possible. Kind of like this fic.

We get in the car, I text Kyoya, who I made go to school this morning.

I see the epic daybooking is going to continue.

‘Hey baby, we are on our way to the doctor I’ll call once they tell me why I have been feeling bad’ I send him he didn’t reply his in class.

Or he doesn’t really like you, which is my theory. Even by his aloof standards, Kyouya-senpai hasn’t been very affectionate towards Kyo-Sue.

We pull up at Ootori’s privet hospital,

Which matches their privet airport.

we walk in the front door of the Hospital I look around this is the largest Hospital I’ve ever been it like OMG really big…

:headdesk:

Doesn’t your family own some kind of super-important medical company?

Anyway so Fuyumi walks up to the front desk they talk

The desks can talk? Wow, this is a fancy hospital.

then a nurse comes and gets me and takes us to a privet room…. then the doctor walks in.

The Ootori family is really committed to their shrubbery decor.

” Good morning Mrs. Ootori.” She say to me.

Why is she calling you that? You aren’t married to Kyouya-senpai yet.

“Good morning to you also.” I reply …

He tells me to sit down, I do as I’m told.

:yawns:

So. Boring.

“What kind of symptoms have you had?” She asked she look at the chart.

Wait, wasn’t the doctor a he? Was there a gender switch between two sentences?

“Well unusual weight gain, it the past couple of months and I’ve started eating more than I would normally…

Ummm, excuse me? If you’ve been eating more than usual, that would explain why you’ve been gaining weight.

I also been vomiting a lot…”

Maybe it’s just me, but if I was vomiting a lot I probably wouldn’t feel like eating more than usual. I’d probably eat less due to the nausea. Of course, if she’s eating to the point where she makes herself sick then that would be another story.

I name more as the Doctor writes them down.

You named three things; weight gain, increased appetite, and vomiting. There could be almost anything wrong with you at this point.

“When was you last time you menstruated?” The Doctor asked.

This is a very common question that doctors ask women, because the female body is all kinds of weird, but I have a feeling he’s asking her so that he can confirm that she’s pregnant.

Oh, you knew that was where this was going.

“You know now that you think about, I’ve missed four periods,

:spit-take:

WHAT?!?!

but I didn’t think anything about it I’ve always had a very irregular period.” I wonder off.

:snags Kyo-Sue and drags her back to the exam room:

Oh, no; you’re not getting out of this that easily.

An irregular period is a very ill-defined term; is she referring to variations in the length, or the duration, or what? It can mean many things that I won’t go into because the bulk of our Patronage is male and likely don’t want to hear about it, but if you are sexually active then you should start worrying after the first missed period and not the fourth regardless of how wonky your cycle is.

The Doctor looks at me then writes something down.

:peeks:

“Possibly knocked-up” – I concur, doctor.

“Mrs. Ootori, you’re going to take a pregnancy test here and a minute I going to get someone to get to get that room set up.” The doctor says and I nod my head.

Wait just a minute – you forgot the most important question; is Kyo-Sue sexually active? If she’s not, then those missed periods could point to something completely different.

“wait what?” I ask and what she just said hit me.

I know; it’s weird that they have a separate room for taking pregnancy tests. I thought they’d just ask you for a urine sample or something.

” Kyoko, you’re going to have to call Kyoya, you might be pregnant.” Fuyumi says,.

You should probably be a little more upset that your little brother knocked up an underaged girl. And why do you assume it is Kyouya-senpai’s child? I know they share a room and everything, but she could be seeing someone else, or there could be another surprise rapist somewhere that she hasn’t told anyone about.

“I’ll call in a minute.” I say as the Doctor person takes me to the other room to set up the test thing.

What exactly are they setting up? Pregnancy tests aren’t that complicated, they don’t require special equipment. It’s not like they have to strap her into a centrifuge for ten minutes or something.

The test goes well and I’m about to call Kyoya they should be at lunch, I dial his number.

I’m confused as to the timeline here; the test goes well, she’s about to call him because he should be at lunch, but then she’s calling him. It’s just all jammed together into a lump.

“Kyoya are you there?”

You should probably wait until he picks up the phone to start talking. And it’s his personal cell phone – who did you expect to answer?

“Yes Kyoko, what is it?”

“You need to come to the Hospital, they might know what’s wrong with me.”

:snorts:

There’s so much wrong with you it would be hard to know where to start.

” And what would that be?”

“I can’t explain just come.” I say then say goodbye and hang up.

If someone asks you to come to a hospital, it typically isn’t for good news. Why does he have to go at all? She’s pregnant, not dying. Pregnant women can go home after the diagnosis.

School third person POV

:eye-twitch:

What. The fuck. Is that?

That woman is going to be the death of me. Kyoya thought

Or the death of her since she asked you to come to the hospital, implying that there is something seriously wrong with her.

“Mother what’s wrong?” the blond king exclaimed.

“I’m going to the Hospital, Kyoko call and ask me to come.” The shadow king said and left.

Saying something like that to Tamaki-senpai, who is the king of over-reacting, is just asking for trouble.

Kyoko’s POV

:eye-twitch:

YOU SWITCHED PERSPECTIVES JUST FOR THAT?!?

:repeatedly kicks desk:

I was waiting in the first room we were in, Kyoya should be here soon. As soon as I thought it he walk through the door.

The PCC runs a very efficient taxi service.

“Now care to explain?” he ask and sat by me.

“No I can’t just wait.” the doctor walked in as soon as I said that.

She went and sat in the chair across from us.

If Kyouya-senpai has any kind of feelings for Kyo-Sue, and I’m still not convinced that he does, then this set-up would make him incredibly anxious.

“Mrs. Ootori, we have the results of the test, it positive, You are about three and a half months into your pregnancy.” She said and Kyoya looked at me.

Probably looking like he was hit over the head with a hammer. Kyouya-senpai is a master of planning; if he was going to become sexually active, he would take every precaution possible. This would be a complete shock to him.

She’s just at the end of her first trimester, but one of her complaints was that she was getting fat; there’s no real noticeable “baby bump” until the second trimester.

And shouldn’t the doctor be saying fourteen weeks, not three and a half months?

“I didn’t know, and now we both know.” I explain.

But you did know, or at least had some inkling, because you’re the one who took the test. He had no clue.

We leave the Hospital in silence we both go back to school, why because I want to and it’s almost club time,

And nothing matters except what you want to do, because you are the center of the universe.

we are in the car when Kyoya says.

“You’re not going.” he says sternly.

” Uh, Yes I am, I haven’t been to Club in three days I need to go.” I say.

“No you’re not, Kyoko.” he says

Why doesn’t he want her to go? Why would going to the club room make him act over-protective like this? And why would she think that the club was meeting now? She called Kyouya-senpai during his lunch time, and clubs meet after classes are over. They couldn’t have been in the hospital that long.

“Kyoya Ootori I’m going rather you like it or not, now get over it we are here, and beside we have to tell them.” I say and get out of the car and slam the car door and storm off inside.

Oh, I see. He’s acting over-protective so she can be rebellious and act like a bad ass.

I reach the Host Club and they a stare at me, it midsession.

Are they staring at her mid-section, or were they mid-session? If they are in the middle of a session, there should be clients all over the place.

“What you look like you’ve seen a ghost.” I say and get on the stage.

They haven’t seen you for a few days, but their reactions are odd considering they shouldn’t know about the pregnancy yet.

“Kisa and Lena, Airplanes.” I say and they throw me a mike and turn the music on.

:headdesk:

Stop throwing her the mike! This should not be a thing!

:THWACK!:

Next time, throw something heavier!

Kyo-Sue starting singing – Airplanes by B.O.B – with Kisa-chan chiming in on the rapping portions.  Kyouya-senpai enters the room halfway through the song (why it took him so much longer to get there, I don’t know) and Kisa-chan and Kyo-Sue sing the last verses together.

we sing and everyone claps, and I see Kyoya smile

I really want them to be clapping just to be polite. There’s no indication that anyone in the Character Blob likes the same music as Kyo-Sue, she just does whatever she wants to.

“Airplanes by B.O.B, we own nothing,

ARE YOU PUTTING A DISCLAIMER ON YOUR FRICKIN’ KARAOKE?!?!

:headdesk:

and it’s good to see all these lovely faces again.” I say and jump down.

What a drama queen. It’s only been three days since you went to a club meeting, plus you still attend the same classes as everyone and would see them constantly.

I walk over to Lena and Kisa and explain to them what was happen and to say nothing.

You expect Random Friend Lena to stay quiet when she’s spent the majority of the fic bouncing around like a rubber ball?

The rest of the club goes good and now I’m sitting at a couch snuggled up to Kyoya, and my hand on my abdomen .

Do you sit at a couch the same way you sit at a table, with a chair pulled up in front of it?

“So I now know what’s wrong with me, brace yourself.” I warn them.

Did they know she was feeling sick in the first place?

“What wrong Kyo-Chan!” Huni-senpie asked.

“Yah Mirror-Senpei.” the twins ask together.

Why do they call her “mirror”? That was what Random Friend Lena’s other brother Coal called her.

“Hm….. I’m pregnant, and due in about four months.” I say and look at Kyoya.

The doctor told you that you were three and a half months pregnant; that plus four would only equal seven and a half months. Unless you’re a hippopotamus, babies take a bit longer than that.

“Well this was expected.” Lena, Haruhi and Kisa all said together.

It was? Because I had no clue that Kyo-Sue and Kyouya-senpai were in that kind of relationship.

“What do you mean you expected this?” I asked horrified.

I’m wondering about that as well, since there has been nothing except a few pet names and brief instances of clingy behaviour on Kyo-Sue’s part with no reciprocating demonstrations from Kyouya-senpai. He just sort of … endures her.

“Well, it just was.” Lena says as she sits in Hikaru lap.

Welp, I convinced.

“Just like you dating Hikaru, right?” I ask.

Wha?

“How did you know.?” the both asked.

“It obvious.” we say together, we as in me, Kyoya, Haruhi and Lena.

No, it really isn’t the two have barely spent any time together. I know Random Friend Lena likes Hikaru, but there’s been nothing about them dating.

Well then we talked some more and I think I feel asleep sometime during the meeting because I woke up in Kyoya’s bed around 7:30PM.

Yes, typically if you find yourself waking up somewhere it would follow that you also had to fall asleep somewhere. If the last thing you remember was being at the meeting, then it makes sense that it was the location where you fell asleep.

Then stuff happen and before I know it we are planning the Ouran fair.

Is that what the kids call it these days? I’m not up to date on all the sexy-fun-times lingo.

XOXOXOXOXOXOXOX

Yay! Chapter’s over! Except for the inevitable Author’s Note.

Well speak your mind, I want to know what you think….

Well, I think folding in an unwed mother and teen pregnancy on top of all the other serious issues that have been mishandled in this fic was very wrong, insulting to real women who find themselves in this situation, as well as being a laughably naive way of forcing these two characters into a permanent relationship when they have absolutely no chemistry together.

Caol: will I ever be in this story?

Kyoko (Me): No….

Every character should be so lucky, but he was already in the fic – he spoke to Kyo-Sue on the phone one time.

And author? You really don’t have to inform the audience that you’re Kyo-Sue. We know.

Lena: but don’t you love me brother?

Kyoko: sometimes.

I know you’re easily confused, Random Friend Lena, but Kyo-Sue is not your brother. She’s both the wrong gender and not a blood relation to you.

Kyoya: your annoying.

Kyoko: I know.

Not to mention overbearing, obnoxious, and an attention whore.

Word count…. 1,503….

I still don’t see why this would be so important to the author, especially when a good third of this chapter was song lyrics.

Get ready for the final chapter next time, Patrons!

 

36 Comments on “1257: Tomorrow Is Always Better – Chapter 9”

  1. AdmiralSakai says:

    ” Good morning Mrs. Ootori.” She say to me.

    He tells me to sit down, I do as I’m told.

    Wait, did the doctor just change sexes there?

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    “What kind of symptoms have you had?” She asked she look at the chart.

    “Well unusual weight gain, it the past couple of months and I’ve started eating more than I would normally…

    I also been vomiting a lot…”

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH!! It’s a chestbuster!!!!!!!!!! Kill it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    “Mrs. Ootori, you’re going to take a pregnancy test here and a minute I going to get someone to get to get that room set up.” The doctor says

    You had better get down to surgery stat if you’re going to have any chance of putting back together that horribly mangled sentence.

    • GhostCat says:

      I wasn’t joking when I said the quality of the writing takes a nosedive in the last few chapters; it’s like the author just gave up trying and now is just throwing random words at the fic to see what sticks.

  4. AdmiralSakai says:

    “I’ll call in a minute.” I say as the Doctor person takes me to the other room to set up the test thing.

    What exactly are they setting up? Pregnancy tests aren’t that complicated, they don’t require special equipment. It’s not like they have to strap her into a centrifuge for ten minutes or something.

    The test goes well and I’m about to call Kyoya they should be at lunch, I dial his number.


    Author, you do realize that a pregnancy test is different from a math test or an English test, right?

  5. AdmiralSakai says:

    “Mother what’s wrong?” the blond king exclaimed.

    “I’m going to the Hospital, Kyoko call and ask me to come.” The shadow king said and left.

    Why are Albert and Doel suddenly in this ‘fic?

    • GhostCat says:

      It’s a carry-over from the English dub of the anime; Tamaki-senpai likes to think of himself as the king of the Host Club, and Kyouya-senpai is often called the “shadow king” since he’s the one who actually runs things.

      I’m really glad the author hasn’t used the far more common nicknames – Tamaki-senpai also refers to himself as “Daddy” while Kyouya-senpai is “Mother” – because most fics that go that route end up in weird places.

  6. AdmiralSakai says:

    Oh, I see. He’s acting over-protective so she can be rebellious and act like a bad ass.

    Oh, she’s acting like a bad ass alright.

    Just in the sense of behaving like a particularly ill-tempered donkey.

  7. TacoMagic says:

    That sounds like a bad thing. Airplanes showing up where they aren’t expected to are rarely happy occurrences.

    No kidding. Yesterday I went to take a shower, and the damn airplane was in there hogging all the hot water. Again.

    I don’t even know why we keep it around, honestly. All it does is freeload and show up to gatherings that we don’t invite it to.

  8. Swenia says:

    “Well unusual weight gain, it the past couple of months and I’ve started eating more than I would normally…

    Fic, just, fuck off. And then keep fucking off. Fuck off until you’ve fucked off so far that you’ve fucked yourself back here. Then fuck off again.

  9. TacoMagic says:

    School third person POV

    This is the first fic to realize the dramatic potential of having a building as a core character.

  10. Swenia says:

    “Well this was expected.” Lena, Haruhi and Kisa all said together.

    Well, it is pretty easy to tell when somebody is having a lot of sex, so it can’t have been too much of a surprise.

  11. TacoMagic says:

    Word count…. 1,503….

    I keep wondering if that count includes the words “Word count.” If not, she’s shorting herself two words PER CHAPTER that she could be utilizing!

  12. "Lyle" says:

    we walk in the front door of the Hospital I look around this is the largest Hospital I’ve ever been it like OMG really big…

    If it’s a private hospital for just her family, why the hell does it need to ZOMGSOHUGE? Or is it just one big room, like the Pokémon center?

  13. "Lyle" says:

    “Mrs. Ootori, we have the results of the test, it positive, You are about three and a half months into your pregnancy.” She said and Kyoya looked at me.

    How the fuck would the doctor know just how far along Kyo-sue is just from her peeing in a fucking cup?! The only way to determine gestational length is via an ultrasound where they measure the size of the fetus. The only other way to know is if Kyo-sue actually knew the exact day of conception. It’s not typical to know this if you’re having lots of sex, but it is possible under certain circumstances (such as having a period, having sex once, and then not having sex again until you find out you’re pregnant.)

  14. "Lyle" says:

    Unless you’re a hippopotamus, babies take a bit longer than that.

    From now on, I’m picturing her as an anthropomorphic hippo.

  15. Tragedy says:

    Tomorrow isn’t going to be better if we’re all going to sit through this another day… Oh joy.

    • GhostCat says:

      Hello, new person!

      :waves:

      Don’t worry, there’s only one more left. And the four chapters of the re-write, but I’m not going to do them right away.

      • Tragedy says:

        *Meows* Good day, let us hope that there won’t be any… “Future generations” stories from this one.

        • Goddess: Yeah, I don’t know you. Dakota, please appear next to me.

          Dakota: *Appears near Goddess* Hello, new person. Do you prefer Rubber or Plastic Duckies? Whatever your answer, we’ll have some in the initiation room down that hallway. *Points*


Leave a Reply

