1178: Big Hero 6 stay at Five Night’s at Freddy’s – Chapter 1

Title: Big Hero 6 stay at Five Night’s at Freddy’s
Author: Basilgarrad
Media:  Movie/Video Game
Topic:  Big Hero 6/Five Nights at Freddy’s
Genre:  Supernatural/Mystery
URL: Chapter 1
Critiqued by Ghostcat

Welcome once again, Patrons!

I’ve decided to continue with my recent trend of odd crossovers and dug this one out of my pile. It’s a crossover between one of my favorite animated films, Big Hero 6, and the wildly popular video game series, Five Nights at Freddy’s. They two do have some slight similarities; BH6 has a robotic character, and FNaF also has robotic characters (albeit murderous ones)  so these two canons do have slightly more in common than most crossovers I’ve worked on. Given the fics I’ve worked on, that isn’t saying much – but I’ll take what I can get.

I’ve covered the basics of the film version of BH6 (traumatized super-genius boy creates team of superheroes to avenge dead brother) but it doesn’t look like we’ve had a fic from FNaF before so I’ll go over the barebones of the first couple of games since this fic was posted shortly before the third game was released.

The first game doesn’t start with an elaborate back-story or even much in the way of instruction, just the fact that the player has been hired as a night watchman for a pizza restaurant that features animatronic characters as entertainment. The only (desirable) interaction the player has with anyone is via a series of progressively strange and panicky prerecorded voice messages left by the enigmatic Phone Guy (voiced by the game’s creator) regarding the animatronic characters’ odd behavior.

Phone Guy warns that the animatronics (Chica the Chicken, Bonnie the Bunny, Freddy Fasbear, and Foxy the Pirate) are allowed to roam freely to keep their servo motors from locking up – they are not allowed to do this during the day due to vaguely referenced incidents, principally the infamous Bite of ’87, which resulted in someone losing their frontal lobe – and that the animatronics would view the watchman as an endoskeleton without a costume and thus would try to force him into one. Since the costumes are filled with metal bits, this wouldn’t end well. (The Phone Guy later suggests going limp and playing dead, but then reasons that this could lead the animatronics to believe he was a costume without an endoskeleton and they might try to stuff one inside him with equally gruesome results.) The animatronics become increasingly more aggressive as the nights progress. Technically a part of the “survival horror” genre, the first game relies heavily on resource management; the player has a limited amount of power to use to turn on lights in the hallways, use the cameras to keep track of the beasties, and to seal the two doors shut when the animatronics get close. There’s a big reliance on audio cues rather than visual ones, as the characters are never seen moving until they attack.

The second game is actually a prequel; taking place chronologically before the first game, during the time of the Bite of ’87. There’s also vague references to a serial killer who has been using a spare costume to abduct and kill children. Instead of a dingy office the player is in an open security center that also has several vents that must be monitored. Instead of a door to shield the player, there is a spare Freddy mask that can be worn to fend of most (not all) of the animatronics. There are new models of the same four characters (called Toy versions, i.e. Toy Chica, Toy Bonnie, etc.) as well as a few new characters.  There is unlimited power for most utilities except the flashlight, which is used as a strobe to “reboot” certain animatronics. Added to the cast of character is the Puppet, who is placated with a music box that must be periodically wound via the camera interface, and Balloon Boy, who doesn’t directly attack but can steal the flashlight’s power and leave the player vulnerable. If you want to know more, there’s a very informative wiki for the series.

Let’s start with the fic summary, which is a good way to gauge the tone of the fic. The games are very atmospheric, which is something that would be difficult to translate.

Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza has been opened in San Frantokyo for a while but closed under mysterious circumstances.

That’s essentially a nugget of the same plot as the one used in the games, but it should be “San Fransokyo” instead of San Frantokyo. A minor thing, but it is easily checked so that doesn’t bode well for the rest of the fic.

Now someone has taken the job and is about to go on a ride.

What job? There was no job mentioned in that first sentence.

(Note the movie characters will appear as well places but aren’t in the main story(I didn’t want to have to kill one :( ))

An Author’s Note in the summary. A poorly written Author’s Note that is only there to neuter any dramatic tension that might exist if one of the canon characters from the movie gets placed in peril. Nice.

And if you can’t bear to kill off a character, you really shouldn’t be writing horror or mystery stories.

Author Note:

And the chapter begins with an Author’s Note! I feel an impending sense of dread that has nothing to do with menacing animatronic characters.

This will be far more intelligent animatronics and also Mike Schmidt has been killed and stuffed into an extra costume.

:eye-twitch:

The grammar, it hurts us.

As I mentioned in my SC-style info-dump, the fate of the player character in the first game (who is named Mike Schmidt) if you fail is getting stuffed into an animatronic – which sounds really painful as it is described in-game. The third game actually adds another layer to this slice of Nightmare Fuel with Springtrap, a costume designed with mechanisms that could be locked back so that a human could safely wear it but gruesome incidents involving faulty locking devices resulted in the program being canceled.

The Pizzeria is Five Night’s At Freddy’s 3

… Wait a second. The third game takes place in a horror attraction called “Fazbear’s Fright” that is still under construction, it is located on the site of one of the former restaurants and contains items salvaged from the franchise when it went out of business but is not a restaurant.

(At least what I am hoping it will be)

:headdesk:

An Author’s Note inside the Author’s Note! And why doesn’t the author know what it is? They are the ones writing this thing! Or could it be…

:research break:

The first chapter was posted in early January, but the game didn’t come out until March so I guess I could give the author a pass on this – but if you’re going to use an established setting for your fic, you really should use one that is, well, established.

Also every animatronic is there.

Wow. You’re really going to be disappointed in the third game if you think that. I think most of them only show up if you leave the vents closed for too long and start hallucinating.

That’s pretty much,….

Do I need to get Swenia to bolt-tape Taco to the floor? Because it really doesn’t take much to get her to do it. I think she likes it.

BALLOON BOY STOLE MY FLASHLIGHT!? S*** I’M SCREWED!?

Does he steal it? I thought he just disabled the lights, not stole them.

The Recruitment.

I’m going to assume this means we’ve reached the chapter proper, since that looks like a chapter title.

I sat at a table eating my pizza. It was pretty good place and quite.

Quite what? Is that meant to be “quiet”?  And no one goes to places like Freddy’s for the food, so it usually isn’t very good.

Not too many people came to Freddy Fazbear Pizza.

That must be why it’s so “quite” around the place.

Not after all the rumors but I didn’t believed them and it made it sweeter to come here.

Ugh, the grammar. I think it is getting worse. And that makes no sense; Nameless Narrator has heard some unspecified rumors, doesn’t believe them, but the fact that there are these rumors makes his dining experience better?

I took a drink of my soda eying the animatronic Chica.

Chica, the chicken? She isn’t really a major player – unlike, say, Foxy or the Puppet – so that’s an odd character to focus on.

I couldn’t tell if she was a cheerleader or not?

… She’s a yellow chicken, and in her Toy version holds a plate with a pink-frosted cupcake on it. Cheerleaders aren’t known for either of those things.

Her hip area either screamed panties if you were a pervert or mini-skirt.

Wha?

I think the author is referring to Toy Chica, the “improved” version of Chica in the second game. This is what Original Chica looks like;

Kind of boxy and genderless. The revamped Toy Chica got a sexy upgrade;

She has defined curves that give her a more feminine figure, as well as the addition of that pink bit that the Nameless Narrator can’t decide if it is a mini-skirt or panties. I don’t know how anyone would think that it is a mini-skirt at all, looks like booty shorts to me, but that’s just my opinion.

Also – This game has some really strange fanart.

But I didn’t stare.

Of course you didn’t, you were just speculating on if she was wearing panties or a really high skirt. Totally normal.

“Solaris respond. I am tired of being out here.”

Who said that?

I put a hand to my ear “Not yet WheelHack. Beside’s the manager won’t let me bring pets in.”

I’m guessing that Nameless Narrator is this Solaris person, but who is this WheelHack they are talking to? They can’t be a real pet because pets can’t talk. Did they try bringing this person in with them before and the manager kicked them out? Why was Solaris allowed back in?

She muttered something but I ignored it.

Thanks for bringing it up, then.

A woman came up to me.

Oh, no – social interaction! Run away! Run away!

“Would you like another slice?”

Oh, it’s a waitress. I thought it was just some random woman. If only there was some kind of uniform clothing waitresses could wear to distinguish them from regular diners.

I looked at the menu carefully.

Why? Wasn’t Solaris just eating a piece of pizza? That would lead me to believe they already looked at a menu and thus are familiar with the options available to them.

Another slice of pepperoni sounded good.

See? You don’t need a menu for that!

I took out my wallet and immediately scowled. There was nothing left. I was flat out broke.

Great.

I sighed putting it away “No thanks.”

Solaris can tell that there’s nothing in the wallet without even opening it? Or does the appearance of the wallet remind them that they have no money? And how are they planning on paying for the pizza they just ate? Typically if you are eating at a restaurant with waitstaff that takes your order, you don’t pay as you go but pay after the meal is over.

Also – can I get a gender for Solaris, please? Gender neutral pronouns are a pain in the ass.

She leaned forward. The place was dead, it usually was because no one came into eat and it was nearly dark.

What does the time of day have to do with the restaurant’s persistent lack of business? Is there some connection between them that I’m not seeing?

When the place closed no one wanted to be here. They were scared of the animatronics.

It couldn’t be because when a business closes, there are typically no customers allowed inside said business. It’s all the animatronics’ fault that people aren’t roaming the halls at all hours.

I looked at Balloon boy carefully. He was the only one I didn’t get. What was he supposed to do? Give out balloons?

That’s … interesting, but weren’t you talking to the waitress? What’s with the sudden interest in Balloon Boy?

“Hey listen, we got a job slot open.” The woman said “Simple enough. Come in and work the night watchman job.”

The waitress is in charge of hiring? No wonder they’re going out of business with practices like this.

I looked at her then tilted my head “I thought you already hired someone.”

Why would you know that? How would you know that? Is the status of the night watchman position at a run-down pizzaria with no customers really such a hot topic of discussion? In fact, I question why the business would need a watchman at all with those creepy things strolling around.

“Mike quit from what I heard.” She said calmly “We haven’t seen him sent a week back.

Guy just up and vanishes for a week and no one was concerned? Even if no one gave a damn about the guy, and clearly she doesn’t, why leave the position open for so long? Even if the place was over-run with tiny green men, someone would have applied for the job by now so there wouldn’t be a need to solicit every customer who looks even slightly desperate.

The pay isn’t great but it’s got good benefits.”

What, like retirement benefits? Full dental?

“Such as?”

She motioned to the pizzas “All you can eat.”

… That’s a terrible benefit. And if Solaris only works at night, after the kitchen has closed down and everyone has gone home, how are they going to benefit from free pizza?

I looked at the pizzas then her “Can I bring anything during the night shift?”

That’s a really, really suspicious thing to say. You’re there to work, not read a book or whatever it is you want to do when you’re there.

She looked at me carefully “If you’re interested I’ll call the manager.”

Honey, you offered this idiot the job straight-up. Now you’re backpedaling with this “I’ll call the manager” business? You shouldn’t offer people work if you can’t follow through on the offer. Besides, Solaris’ earlier comment to WheelHack made it sound like they already had a run-in with the manager and it didn’t go well.

I looked at the animatronics then her “Works for me. I’ve got the summer off so nothing much is happening.”

This whole situation is very odd to me. It’s contrived as hell, which is par for the course, and the structure of these sentences – action with no punctuation, dialogue, carriage return – is really getting on my nerves.

Yeah it’s been pretty dead. Not too many criminals and not much inventing. I could use the extra money to boot.

I have no idea what to make of this. There’s been nothing given to describe this person, not even their gender, so I don’t have a context to put this into. It is just nonsense.

(Foxy’s P.O.V.)

Ah, dammit!

:kicks desk:

Another one of these fics where the perspective hops around so that the fic remains in the first-person. This never goes well.

I looked out of Pirate’s cove at this new boy. He was coming to work here?

Finally, a gender for the previous character! So far there’s jack-all on this character, but I’ll take what I can get.

Perhaps he wasn’t scared off by the messages we sent him.

Messages? There were messages? Does Solaris know about them? Because all I got from his section was that he had heard some vague rumors and that was all.

The Puppet had given us our mission.

Is that something the Puppet does? I’m not familiar with this particular aspect of the canon.

The others would be alerted tonight of this news.

They’ll probably figure it out if he shows up for work, assuming he’s hired by the absent manager.

I eyed up the boy.

I don’t even want to know how you do that.

His black hair was on the longer side and he was of decent height.

Let’s list everything we know about Solaris;

  • male
  • has female pet/friend named WheelHack
  • has black hair, possibly long
  • has height

And … that’s all.

I chuckled softly moving back before he looked at me.

If you’re behind a curtain, why would he be looking at you? The only animatronics he appeared interested in were Chica and Balloon Boy.

He may fit in a spare Balloon Boy costume when we get him. Balloon Boy said he wanted a friend so now he’ll get one.

I thought you said the Puppet told you what to do, this sounds like you are autonomous. And it is in direct opposition to the canon; the animatronics do attempt to stuff people into costumes but that’s only because their AI thinks that the person is an animatronic skeleton without a costume and they are trying to rectify the situation. It’s a cold, emotionless response to external stimuli, not a deliberate plan of murder. There is a serial killer, called the Purple Man, who wears a costume, but he isn’t really one of the animatronics.

(Solaris’s P.O.V.)

:grinds teeth:

You can’t even get the grammar right in these flippin’ POV Tags.

The manager came out.

… Are we still on this? I thought the whole “hire the clueless asshole” part was done with.

A fat shot man who looked like Oliver Hardy except for the mustache and fine suit. He wore jeans and a T-shirt with the company’s logo. He had the right hat though.

There’s finally a description of a character, and this is what we get? Another “like X, except Y” that is somehow even vaguer than what we usually see despite all the verbiage.

I’d say I feel disappointed, but I wasn’t anticipating any sort of description at all from this thing so I had no expectations for it to fail to meet. That’s kind of sad, in its own way.

He looked at me for a moment then smiled “Listen sent this is a summer job we’re going to give you a little less. Also because of the benefit of free food and drinks as an employee on the night watch.”

Less than what? There’s been no mention of money before this. And the addition of free (probably terrible) pizza isn’t that much of an incentive. When I worked in restaurants that gave employees free or reduced-price meals, I got sick of the food after about a week. And the smell gets into your clothes and hair so you go home smelling like the food. I worked at a seafood restaurant when I was in high school and even all these many years later I still hate the smell of fish. (It’s not just me, my sister once worked at a Subway and to this day dislikes certain sandwiches.)

I leaned forward “Do you mind if I bring a few things? You know spare flashlight, batteries, the usual night watchman things.”

You mean things your employer should supply you with?

He nodded smiling like he had received a great gift

Of course he’s happy; Dumbass just offered to pay for his own equipment out-of-pocket.

“Of course. Also your office has two new doors we installed. They work well but rely on electricity to remain shut.”

Which makes no sense in a real-world application; most door locks contain some kind of mechanical component that does the actual locking – like a deadbolt – that can be engaged and disengaged manually, but in the games the doors’ power consumption is part of the resource management aspect of the gameplay.

Weird design flaw “Alright and also what am I getting paid?”

That is really something you should ask before accepting a job.

“A hundred and forty dollars sound alright?”

If it’s for the same midnight to six AM shift, five nights a week, as the game, it sounds like $4.66 an hour. That’s well below minimum wage.

I looked at him carefully then nodded “Sounds pretty good.

Dumbass.

But it’ll only be for a while. Once school starts I won’t be able to stay late or anything.”

That would be problematic, since one of the main requirements of a night watchman job would be working at night.

How old is Solaris supposed to be? If he’s just some pimply-faced kid he isn’t going to be very intimidating as a watchman, and there are laws governing what hours a kid can work.

The man merely nodded “Fine, fine. Just sign these documents and go.”

Documents? What documents? I thought this was going to be some under-the-table deal? YOu don’t want paperwork if you’re not employing someone legally.

I looked at them carefully. It seemed like the usual but I had the feeling something was watching me as I signed the documents.

The manager’s right there, he’s probably watching you, and the waitress is somewhere nearby.

When I got up and began leaving I saw a flash of something moving behind the curtain of Pirate’s Cove.

Something moving behind the curtain? How do this? The curtain in the game isn’t transparent or even translucent.

I walked up to it slowly when I heard a whine from outside. I stepped back shaking my head.

Once again, I have no idea what’s going on. Where is the whine coming from? Outside the curtain? Outside the building? Is there a window nearby that would allow sound to travel if that were the case?

WheelHack would kill me if I was waiting any longer now.

This sentence makes no sense.

Also considering that she wanted an upgrade today.

The sentence also makes no sense, and it’s incomplete.

I think she’s been waiting a long time.

Yay, a complete sentence! That continues the pattern of making no sense.

(Foxy P.O.V.)

:eye-twitch:

I smiled slightly as the boy left.

Dude, have you seen Foxy’s mouth?

There’s no way you can “smile slightly” with that maw. You couldn’t even really smile, just gape open.

Tonight would be his last night if we had anything to do with it. No one would be there to save him. No one here to rescue him. We’d have the final laugh.

Strong words from someone who can be scared off with a reasonably bright light.

I turned to the others. Toy Freddy’s eyes shifted to me then back to the front. That was all I needed to see.

Others? Foxy is in Pirate Cove, which is separate from where the other animatronics are kept. And the restaurant is still open, so even if they were placed there they would still be out on the floor doing their thing. There should be no others with Foxy. And why is Toy Freddy around? The Toy versions were supposed to be scrapped at the end of the second game.

Freddy would know what to do when the night time came and hopefully we’d get him in one night. When they made it through it was annoying to know that they had gotten away.

This author is making the animatronics a lot more willfully malicious than they are in the games. Sure, they are trying to kill the guard, but it is likely the result of some really bad programming and not because of any unknown motives on their part. The only real exception I know of is the Puppet, who the Phone Guy implies is sentient (in his words “always thinking”) in one of the phone messages.

I moved into position and closed my eyes switching myself off for some rest. Tonight would be the night we destroy them.

Them? Who’s them? Solaris is just one person. The audience knows he has a friend/pet named WheelHack, but Foxy shouldn’t know that.

Hope you liked the first chapter.

Not really, no. I found it really confusing. And look! An ending Author’s Note! :eye-twitch: Great.

Solaris and WheelHack are OCs I made for a Big Hero 6 RP.

Good information to have, but that still tells me nothing about these characters. I suspect WheelHack is some kind of robot, but I don’t know for sure.

Please leave a review. Also this isn’t going to explain anything but perhaps it will give some clues.

You’re right about one thing – this doesn’t explain anything. At all.

Have a good one!

I will be as soon as I find out where Syl hid my booze.

See you next time with another chapter!

48 Comments on “1178: Big Hero 6 stay at Five Night’s at Freddy’s – Chapter 1”

  1. infinity421 says:

    Hooray, the first FNaF fic!
    Oh, wait. I’m on Library of The Damned.

    …Shit.

  2. agigabyte says:

    Cain: So what’s happening here? I’m a bit confused as to what Solaris and WheelHack are like. We never really got that bit.

  3. "Lyle" says:

    As I mentioned in my SC-style info-dump,

    We might need to add that to the dictionary eventually. The SC-Style Info-Dump: When a Librarian explains a canon before the start of the fic, sometimes exhaustively.

  4. Herr Wozzeck says:

    Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza has been opened in San Frantokyo for a while but closed under mysterious circumstances.

    Isn’t San Fransokyo like, way in the future or some shit? And Fazbear’s closed in the 80’s, so why is it suddenly back?

    • GhostCat says:

      Everything I’ve read suggests the movie was going for more of an Alternate History AU rather than a futuristic one. If it is an Alternate History, then the Freddy Fasbear’s franchise could have come into being after it does in the games. That’s just my reasoning, though; there’s not really any attempt to place the fic in a certain time period.

  5. Herr Wozzeck says:

    This will be far more intelligent animatronics

    You mean more intelligent than Freddy in the first game, whose AI was constructed to fuck your shit up once you got to Night 5 and had fallen into a routine.

    Riiiiiiight…

  6. Herr Wozzeck says:

    The first chapter was posted in early January, but the game didn’t come out until March so I guess I could give the author a pass on this – but if you’re going to use an established setting for your fic, you really should use one that is, well, established.

    One of my friends is super into FNAF. Thus, knowing how these games were marketed (seriously, it’s kind of fascinating: the franchise is full of fun stories about teasers and full games that were actually released ahead of scheduled release dates), he would’ve likely known at least some details about it. The teaser trailer for FNAF 3 was released on the 26th of January, and there were speculations about it released by Scott Cawthorn before then IIRC. I don’t know if it was the third one, but most people knew it was gonna be set at a haunted house, so…

    • GhostCat says:

      The marketing has been bloody brilliant; it’s been almost exclusively through social media but it just blew up out of nowhere. And there are countless fan theories and debates about every little facet.

      • Herr Wozzeck says:

        Doesn’t hurt that it’s all one guy doing the entire coding for the series.

        Sadly, it has hit the point in most horror franchises where it’s starting to become the cow. So…

      • GhostCat says:

        I think it’s ending at a good point. All the games have been different, it would suck if they started churning out remakes that were just repaints of the same thing just because they could.

  7. Herr Wozzeck says:

    Wow. You’re really going to be disappointed in the third game if you think that. I think most of them only show up if you leave the vents closed for too long and start hallucinating.

    No, it’s actually just Springtrap. The rest are just hallucinations that can bring Springtrap to you faster.

    Another of my FNAF friends described FNAF 3 as a kind of tower defense game: the whole point is to keep Springtrap from walking into the room to kill you, and to do that you have to activate sound cues scattered throughout the attraction to move him where you want to go (and dear god, don’t activate the noises in the security office by setting off the hallucinations). You can only see the ghosts of the previous animatronics if you check the cameras in that game, but the only thing they can do is bring Springtrap to you faster. They can’t actually kill you.

  8. Herr Wozzeck says:

    Does he steal it? I thought he just disabled the lights, not stole them.

    Yeah, he just disables the lights. Which can really fuck you over if Foxy or Mangle is in the hallway.

  9. Herr Wozzeck says:

    I looked at the pizzas then her “Can I bring anything during the night shift?”

    “Like an AK-47? Or a pipe bomb? I think I’d like to have a pipe bomb, please!”

  10. Herr Wozzeck says:

    There’s finally a description of a character, and this is what we get? Another “like X, except Y” that is somehow even vaguer than what we usually see despite all the verbiage.

    And who the hell is Oliver Hardy, anyway?

  11. Herr Wozzeck says:

    Which makes no sense in a real-world application;

    And even less sense in the future. Why is this fic a thing?

  12. Herr Wozzeck says:

    If it’s for the same midnight to six AM shift, five nights a week, as the game, it sounds like $4.66 an hour. That’s well below minimum wage.

    Which shows the author doesn’t understand that minimum wage has actually scaled up as time has gone. Some fan speculation about the previous games places the first game either right at the end of the 80’s or in an early part of the 90’s, specifically because they calculated with the time’s minimum wage in mind.

  13. Herr Wozzeck says:

    I walked up to it slowly when I heard a whine from outside. I stepped back shaking my head.

    *facepalm*

    I get the feeling this was an attempt to drum up tension. Said attempt seems to have failed miserably, no?

  14. "Lyle" says:

    Those robots are creepy as fuck. No wonder the place went out of business.

  15. Herr Wozzeck says:

    This author is making the animatronics a lot more willfully malicious than they are in the games. Sure, they are trying to kill the guard, but it is likely the result of some really bad programming and not because of any unknown motives on their part.

    Fan theories that have come up since FNAF 2 say otherwise. Granted, it wasn’t really until FNAF 3 where it was established the other animatronics may indeed have been sentient, but as that wasn’t released at the time…

    • Margolias says:

      Aaaaactually, the second game also implies the animatronics have some level of sentience, with several minigames hidden throughout the game that tell bits of the backstory from their perspective.

  16. SC says:

    SC-style info-dump

    Be sure to check the Dictionary for this if you haven’t already seen it. I wrote it in myself!

  17. Margolias says:

    So is the only thing this story has to do with BH6 the author’s OCS?

    Does that really warrant it to be classified as a crossover?

  18. Margolias says:

    Well, to be fair, the second game has minigames that tell a bit of the backstory from the animatronic’s perspective and the first game does reveal some of the murder backstory via easter eggs that randomly show up. Plus, the animatronics were implied to be haunted since the first game as well.

  19. Margolias says:

    Also the animatronics were implied to not kill out of malice, but to avenge the murdered kids/protect more from harm because they might see all adults as the same person.

    Question is, Solaris seems to be implied to be rather young. Why on earth would they try to kill him?

    • GhostCat says:

      That’s a good point. His age is never given, there are references to him attending school but it isn’t clear if it’s high school or college. I’d put him in his mid-teens, mostly because that’s how old Hiro is and this OC is shaping up to be a clone of him. Given the “quirks” in the animatronics’ programming only manifest with adults, he should be safe.

  20. Margolias says:

    I THINK that the author is trying to go with the “animatronics look more organic/anthro than they do in the games” route.

    Which typically happens when shipping is involved.

    Oh dear.

    • GhostCat says:

      I think it’s more of a case of the author writing mechanical characters as if they were organic because they don’t realize there’s a difference; there are tons of facial expressions and things you wouldn’t associate with am endoskeleton fixed inside an expressionless costume popping up in the fic, but it’s always is a really off-hand manner.

  21. TacoMagic says:

    That’s a terrible benefit. And if Solaris only works at night, after the kitchen has closed down and everyone has gone home, how are they going to benefit from free pizza?

    You see, we gather up all the remnants and uneaten stuff and put it in a big pile in the back. You can munch on as much of it as you want! And the new employee package comes with a free bucket in case you want to bring a scoop or two home with you!

    You’ll probably want to arrive early enough so you can take your pick before they sweep the floor at closing time.

  22. TacoMagic says:

    Which makes no sense in a real-world application; most door locks contain some kind of mechanical component that does the actual locking – like a deadbolt – that can be engaged and disengaged manually, but in the games the doors’ power consumption is part of the resource management aspect of the gameplay.

    Actually, not entirely without precedent as a thing by itself. There are certain powered lock doors (specifically for sensitive areas in hospitals, for instance) that unlock in the case of a power outage so that people aren’t trapped behind them. Generally these work with electro-magnets so that once the power-feed is cut, the magnets stop working.

    There are also doors that work opposite, where losing power locks the door by disabling an opposing field around a magnet, causing the door to stick shut.

    That said, there is absolutely no logical reason there would ever be these kinds of doors at a pizzeria unless they were secretly an extension of Aperture Science or the Dharma Initiative.

    • GhostCat says:

      Yeah, I could think of some situations where you would want a door to automatically unlock or lock with a loss of power – prisons, high security areas, vaults, that sort of thing – but like you say; this is a pizzeria. Why would they need locks like that?


Leave a Reply

