1142: Rei: A New Kind Of Princess – Chapter Two

Title: Rei: A New Kind Of Princess
Author: Osane
Media:  TV Show / Cartoon
Topic: Avatar: The Last Airbender
Genre:  Adventure / Romance
URL: Chapter Two
Critiqued by agigabyte

agig: I’m back, with another chapter of… this. I now once again have my trusty lightning bolt attacks to assist me.

Chapter 2: Learning

Rei went back in the castle after the party. She seemed a bit off as she stared at the moon.

“What are you thinking, Rei?” asked Prince Zuko, startling Rei.

“Oh, you followed me after all?” Rei smirked.

“Yeah, what are your thoughts?”

“I’m recalling a moment in my past, something strange…” she stayed silent for about 5 minutes.

“Rei?”

agig: I doubt that Zuko would be that patient.

“The moon shines as do your eyes. Your eyes, brighter than it’s radiance. Radiant movements that make even the stars curl up in envy. Dear sister, never change…although you may grow into the young woman I hope you to become, never change. Wise beyond explanation, mature, sweet, and caring…To escape this dark time…never change…Rei always remember the song…Sing it only when–”

agig: I like to think that the all of that is being said by a nearby rodent. That’s what happens when you don’t attribute dialogue.

“REI!” King Bui yelled at the top of his lungs.

She sighed,”Be right back Prince Zuko, the king wishes to see me.” Rei gracefully walked away.”Yes, King Bui?”

“Rei! I have some tragic news.”

“Oh?”

“You’re going to travel with General Iroh and his nephew from now on.”

Gets to travel with the main self insert pairing: Check

“That’s bad new–Uh! I mean, oh how tragic.”Rei gave away one of those fake smiles.

agig: As opposed to selling it.

“Yes, I know, you’re leaving tomorrow.”

“YES,” She cheered, “–I mean, ok. I’ll go pack my bags.” Rei raced up to her room and glomped Zuko. “Prince Zuko! Get to travel with you!

agig: Who gets to travel with him? ACTUALLY USE YOUR WORDS TO SPECIFY! *Zaps Osane with Lightning*

“Uh, that’s great! Now can you get off of me?” Zuko is obviously not used to girls on top of him.

agig: Hmm… what else could that possibly be interpreted as?

“Oh! My apologies, Prince Zuko!”Rei blushed as she got off of him. The very thought of not staying with King Bui for the rest of her life made her happy.

agig: The rest of her very short life, if last chapter was to be believed.

“Start packing then, bring everything from your clothes to your bed.”

“Right away, Prince Zuko!” Rei got out a beige, small bag, She put in all her clothes, weapons, trinkets, and her entire bed.

“How can ALL THAT fill in that tiny bag?” Zuko listened to himself and told himself not to do that again.

“Ah! I guess I should explain. It’s an enchanted bag, not matter what you put in it, it won’t get bigger or heavier. Everything is in a personal space in some far away dimension. You only have to put something in it once and it will stay there for all eternity. Um, sort of cloned for whenever you need it. So if I want food, I just have to put my hand in this bag and take it out, even if I didn’t recently put some in. But see, if you look in it, there’s nothing there at all.”

agig: *Zaps Osane with lightning* That’s not a thing in avatar, damnit! I’m starting to feel like this is a crossover. Can someone confirm?

“That’s handy.”

The next day

“Goodbye my love!” yelled King Bui.

“Yeah whatever!” Rei rolled her eyes, “Goodbye, Chu, I’ll miss you. You too, Kai.”

Chu waved sadly, “We aren’t meant to see each other again. Goodbye , Rei.” Chu’s brown hair seemed to reflect her hazel eyes, she looked so depressed that it made Rei try to reassure her that she wasn’t gone for good.

“I’ll write to you and Kai whenever I can!”

agig: By which I mean I’ll immediately forget about you forever.

Kai stood there and said, “Goodbye..”Rei waved and turned toward the Fire Nation ship,”My love..”

“Prince Zuko! How are you this morning?”

“As good as I’ll ever be. Come on, I’ll show you to your room.” Zuko showed her through halls and halls, though Rei was getting dizzy,

agig: Why is she getting dizzy? Have they left yet? Is she claustrophobic? Come on, Osane, actually use your damn words!

she memorized every path. “Here we are.” Zuko took her into a blank room. The walls were a dull maroon color, the only thing in this room was some dust.

“Thank you Prince Zuko! It was very kind of you to give me my own room!” Rei smiled and Prince Zuko immediately turned around and walked away. “Now to start in this room. PAINT FIRST!”

Meanwhile, Prince Zuko was walking back and forth in his room, ‘Why can’t I get her out of my mind?

agig: Because of the Suefluence.

She smiles and it makes me want to make her even happier…I can’t fall in love with her either, the only reason I let her come here was so that she could help me capture the Avatar…But.. Then what were those thoughts of MARRYING her? Well, no matter how I truly feel…I have to forget these feelings…’

agig: You will not forget these feelings, because of the Suefluence.

Prince Zuko began to meditate but then thoughts of Rei came to him, “Thank you Prince Zuko! It was very kind of you to give me my own room!” ‘Rei…’

“Whew! I finished with setting the paint! Now to dry it…” Just then Prince Zuko came in, “Air!” Just as Rei said these words, she Air Bended and the walls were dry. Rei smiled.

agig: What? Why did you say “air”? What possible reason could you have for this? Benders do not need to say words to use their abilities! *Zaps Osane with lightning*

“You’re an AIR BENDER?” Zuko asked, surprised to learn of this.

“Uh–Yeah!” Rei replied, trying to hide the other things she can bend.

“No, you’re not just an Air Bender, you’re a Water, Fire, AND Earth Bender. I heard King Bui speak of this. What’s more, you look more like a Fire bender than anything else.”

agig :If you heard King Bui (Which, now that I think about it, sounds a lot like “Bumi”.) talking about it, why were you surprised?

Rei frowned. She wanted to have at least one person think that she can only bender one thing. Apparently Prince Zuko not only knew she was an Avatar-like girl, but that she was a MASTER at bending. “Prince Zuko, I need to finish my room, can we speak about this some other time?”

Zuko nodded.

agig: I think we’re remembering different Zuko’s. The Zuko from season one (Which this one has to be since he’s still completely focused on capturing Aang and also has his own ship still) would not have been that patient. He probably would have yelled and thrown fire at a wall. Kind of like I’m throwing lightning at you! *Zaps Osane with Lightning*

“Thank you.”

agig: Why is Zuko thanking her?  I see no reason.

3 hours later…

“FINISHED!” Rei yelled. Everything was perfect in her eyes. In the center was her bed.. It was a lilac color with her name written in blue(for water) and then maroon petals(for fire) and white(for air). On her pillows were pink petals with a leaf (for earth). To the left of her bed was a chest where she kept all of her treasures (shells, pictures, Chu’s letters, Kai’s gifts, poems.)

Zuko came in, “Rei! I need your help!” He held Rei’s hand in his, “I need you to capture the Avatar.”

“WHAT! The Avatar? Are you nuts?”

“Listen Rei,” Zuko held her by the waist, “He’s only a little boy, I think you can catch him.”

Rei pushed him away, she looked a bit angry, “Prince Zuko, if he’s only a little boy, I think that the prince of the Fire Nation can get him.”

agig: Holy shit! A Sue making a good point! It’s a miracle!

“Hm, yes, but I need you. Put this on,”Zuko handed her a Fire Nation suit, “It was my mother’s. Please, do this for me…” Zuko left. Rei was unsure, but put on the suit. She frowned at the fact that the waist part was a hem bigger than her waist. ‘The belt should fix that…’

Rei walked out to where Zuko was, she couldn’t help but notice that all eyes were on her.

agig: I imagine at least some of these people would be more focused on doing their damn jobs than ogling the Sue. Oh, wait, the Suefluence. Also, “all eyes” include those of Iroh. *Shudders*

“Rei, can you get up to that Flying Bison over there?” Zuko pointed to the big fluff ball up in the sky.

“Yes…FLY!” Rei lifted off the ground, she was levitating over the ground and took off toward the bison.

agig: Ooh, maybe I should try that! ERASE SHITFIC FROM EXISTENCE! *Cricket noises* Aww.

Nothings happening so far, so you’ll have to wait for the next chapter. You’ve learned something about Rei today, she’s SO much better than the Avatar XD

agig: Ah yes, “so much better”. Who needs characterization when you have Sueism? Anyway, bye. I’ll soon be back with the (thankfully) last chapter.

19 Comments on “1142: Rei: A New Kind Of Princess – Chapter Two”

  1. neji7hyuga says:

    agig: I like to think that the all of that is being said by a nearby rodent. That’s what happens when you don’t attribute dialogue.

    True, that is what happens when you don’t attribute dialogue. They teach in school that you should divide dialogue by change of speaker and attribute it to a character.

  2. neji7hyuga says:

    What? Why did you say “air”? What possible reason could you have for this? Benders do not need to say words to use their abilities! </blockquote?

    Hmmm…maybe they're less experienced benders?

    Neji- A possibility, the same is done with jutsu, and with magic in Harry Potter. Non-verbal is usually the harder way, but more sneaky.

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    “Yeah whatever!” Rei rolled her eyes, “Goodbye, Chu, I’ll miss you. You too, Kai.”

    Chu waved sadly, “We aren’t meant to see each other again. Goodbye , Rei.” Chu’s brown hair seemed to reflect her hazel eyes, she looked so depressed that it made Rei try to reassure her that she wasn’t gone for good.

    Fairwell, Chu, you were a halfway decent character.

  4. neji7hyuga says:

    agig: Because of the Suefluence.

    Who needs characterization when you have Sueism?

    If Suefluence was real, by all logic, anyone who read about her, who saw her, everyone, including us, would fall under her spell…

    Shikamaru- That’s true, and that is not speaking of eating Sues and Stus…

    Neji- I heard some PPC agents do that…

    Shikamaru- They do, in fact, I heard there was a…

    *Messenger bird flies in and drops scroll before flying off*

    Neji *picks up, opens, and reads scroll, face gradually turning to one of slight horror*

    Neji? What does it say?

    Shikamaru- *leans over to read scroll* Uh oh…

    Neji- It was going to happen one day, we tried to warn. Eating Sues and Stus, there’s some kind of…something…in them, dojutsu can see the stuff plain as day. Apparently a mass breakout occured and the army of new Sues and Stus are on the march.

    Shikamaru- Apparently, they sue- and stu- ified many agents, others managed to flee. In fact, the only reason they didn’t reach the Library and take us all was because Goku and Vegeta, to put it simply, turned the area into a wasteland to stop the army once and for all. The Super Sue and Stu had to be sealed away.

    Neji- With a seal designed to last thousands of years, at least, to several million. Hope some fool doesn’t undo it.

    If that happens…game over man! Game over!

    (was trying to be a bit silly and have fun. And in fact some PPC agents did eat Sues and Stus…so I decided to go “What if it led to horrible disaster?” and this tidbit was the result)

    • agigabyte says:

      Cain: Training actually allows one to resist the Suefluence. All members of the Gemini Government and Military have some training, and all those with direct involvement with Sue have a large amount.

      • neji7hyuga says:

        Shikamaru- Good thinking, giving them the training to resist. Without it…things would repeat again and again.

        Neji- That means your men are very prepared.

        Indeed. I’ve seen their ranking structure, and the way they rank danger levels. Very effective and would ensure no one gets a mission too dangerous for their skill level. After all, we wouldn’t want to add to the enemy numbers.

        • agigabyte says:

          Cain: The Suefluence isn’t really a problem for anyone with the training a cadet has. The problem is the other stuff.

          agig: I remember that a group if Sue lead by 5 class 1’s attacked a colony once. We evacuated as much as we could, but ended up having to kill many colonists because if those class 1’s got out, we would have lost the Galaxy. We only killed them with Plasma Bombardment.

          Cain: Don’t remind me. And their collective power created a field around the planet when they died, preventing the Retcannon from affecting that planet in any way.

        • neji7hyuga says:

          That’s…bad. At least they were stopped before they could take over the galaxy. That’d be far, far worse.

  5. neji7hyuga says:

    *Zaps Osane with lightning*

    Not to be mean or anything like that, but to me, that comes off as a bit…how to put it… not so nice. If someone less in the know came across this, their first reaction would likely be to get angry, thinking that the people here really want to wish harm to someone for writing badly.

    • agigabyte says:

      “Some of you seem pretty violent. What’s with all the author abuse?!

      Our fictional abuse of authors, be it Taco’s gong, Lyle’s book, Ghostcat’s crowbar, etc, are all meant as comedic devices and are not an expression of a desire to see actual violence befall the authors of the fics we riff. Specifically our author abuse is a form of Slapstick Comedy which is really an extension of the Schadenfreude response in humans. Our “attacks” here are merely an over-the-top expression meant to entertain rather than threaten or cause harm; in fact, many are aimed at the characters themselves and not the authors. We need to stress here that we are not actually violent people. Indeed, many of us are pacifists in the real world; however, that does not preclude our using the long standing comic device of slapstick in order to both punch up the humor of our riffs (pun may or may not be intended…), and add emphasis to points we feel are particularly important. We do not condone assaulting anyone, let alone based on the sole merit (or lack thereof) of their writing.”

  6. TacoMagic says:

    “Oh, you followed me after all?” Rei smirked.

    BAAAAAAAAA!

    *GONG*

    He’s really gonna slim down with all the exercise he’s been getting this week. I should put a protein supplement in his oats or something.

  7. TacoMagic says:

    agig: As opposed to selling it.

    She’s barely phoning it in at this point, let alone selling it.

  8. TacoMagic says:

    “Ah! I guess I should explain. It’s an enchanted bag, not matter what you put in it, it won’t get bigger or heavier. Everything is in a personal space in some far away dimension. You only have to put something in it once and it will stay there for all eternity. Um, sort of cloned for whenever you need it. So if I want food, I just have to put my hand in this bag and take it out, even if I didn’t recently put some in. But see, if you look in it, there’s nothing there at all.”

    Ahh yes, the PCC gets more free press for the Ubui.

  9. TacoMagic says:

    Rei pushed him away, she looked a bit angry, “Prince Zuko, if he’s only a little boy, I think that the prince of the Fire Nation can get him.”

    “You know what? You’re totally right! Back to King Bui with you.”


Leave a Reply

