1109: Happy Birthday HiroxReader – Oneshot

Title: Happy Birthday HiroxReader
Author: ChibiRaeRae
Media: Film
Topic: Big Hero 6
Genre: Humor/Romance
URL: Chapter 1
Critiqued by Ghostcat

 

 

 

Hello, dearest Patrons!

I’m here today with a brief little oneshot from a canon we’ve yet to explore here in the Library – Big Hero 6. I’m a big fan of the film, but not very well versed in the comics. Luckily, this fic contains very little from any canon so I’ll skip the in-depth summary. Short version – the plot follows Hiro Hamada, a fourteen-year-old genius who is convinced by his older brother, Tadashi, to enter a competition for a place in a local university’s robotics program. After a tragic accident, Hiro uses his robotics knowledge to turn his friends into superheroes in order to get revenge on the man he feels is responsible for his brother’s death. Hijinks ensue.

I’ve been seeing BH6 characters pop up more and more frequently in the multi-fandom crossover mashups that incorporate virtually every CGI character outside of the Pixar films, so I decided to take a look at the “pure” fics to see what I could find. That’s where I stumbled upon this fic. It’s a “reader” fic, which we’ve seen a few of in the Library – it’s written from the unusual second-person perspective of the audience being the main character. It’s a fairly clunky way of writing, and this fic is no exception. This author has written thirteen reader-fics for this canon, most featuring either Hiro or Tadashi (and one featuring both) but their account has only been active since June 17th. Most are fairly short, but still – thirteen fics in less than a month. That isn’t a good sign.  But just look at the summary;

Sorry I posted a bit late! I hope you guys enjoyed, I got the funny short idea from my Birthday coming up this month.

She’s averaging a new fic every few days and is apologizing for being “late”? What schedule is she following? The author’s setting herself up for a burnout.

 

 

You sighed heavily as you were flopped across your bed, staring up at the ceiling as you huffed again for the fourth time in 30 minutes.

If I’m huffing that much, I might have a problem. I should lay off the super glue, those fumes are bad for my brain.

You feel your patience starting to run thin, it’s been a week since the last time you saw Hiro, he’s barely texted or called.

This apparently upsets me even though I don’t know who Hiro is yet.

“Just what the hell is he up to that’s so important!? Really Hamada you can’t even send your girl/boyfriend one text message or one phone call at least!”

Also, it appears that I am a hermaphrodite. A really dramatic, clingy hermaphrodite. And if he’s “barely” texted or called, that means he’s done at least one of those things in that time period, probably both.

You shouted, pulling your lips down into a frown feeling yourself starting to get riled up as you huffed again for the fifth time.

Seriously, is there a twelve step program or something I can enter for this huffing problem? And when did I become such a pouty bitch?

“Honestly!” You said, shouting more as you sat up quickly you could feel the rush of blood up to your head.

I’m really emotional for some reason. Of course, if my boyfriend kinda/sorta hasn’t contacted me for a week and he is usually very good at messaging or calling then it might be a cause for concern. Could be time to dredge the lake.

“You would think that jerk would show his face on my birthday!

Oh, that’s why I’m so mad! Not the fact that my boyfriend has been kinda/sorta missing for a week, but that he didn’t text me on my birthday. Inconsiderate bastard. Let’s find his body and dump his decomposing ass.

Hmph that’s it Hamada, you’re so dead.”

Hey, I think so, too, me! It’s like we’re the same person.

You said, still wearing the same frown as you forcefully hop off your bed marching around your room gathering clothes to wear for the day.

Wait, was I flopping around naked before?

You had stayed in your pajamas for half the day already, and to make matters worse you were spending your birthday alone this year.

Throw in a Netflix marathon, four cats, a pair of fuzzy slippers, and a pint of mint chocolate chip and that sounds like a pretty good way to spend my birthday.

You parents had offered to come home early from their business trip, but you insisted that you’d be fine sending it alone with Hiro.

Did my parents move in with me and not tell me? That was rude of them. They’re also both retired so I really doubt they would go on a business trip anywhere.

Yet here you are, marching around your room alone on your birthday, because a certain someone that you had been dating for a little over 3 years now wasn’t there.

Because apparently my phone is broken and cannot dial out, but somehow can accept incoming calls.

“Hamada you better have a good reason why you’re leaving me alone on my birthday.”

I think it’s because I’m kind of bitchy and whiny.

You grumbled in a low voice, as you were slipping your shoes on and grabbing your keys before heading out the door.

I’m not going to take a shower or get ready? If I’m going to go curse out my boyfriend, I want to look good while doing it.

While you march over to the lab at the university, oblivious Hiro was still hard at work at his newest robot.

Which I know because I’m psychic now.

He had been wearing the same set of clothes for three days now, which was also the last time he had taken a shower.

He’s a college student trying to get a project done; I should be grateful he’s even wearing clothes.

Once he gets started on a project he always gets really into it and (y/n),

That would be the reader-fic shorthand for “your name”, in case you were wondering.

or Aunt Cass always end up having to remind him to shower and eat.

Aunt Cass and I are really bad at doing that, then.

If this is a normal occurrence for him, then why did I wait an entire week before getting pissed off that he hadn’t contacted me as often as I wanted him to and decide to go looking for him? I (apparently) know he has this habit, so the burden of maintaining contact would likely fall to me rather than him.

Really, I should know better. This tantrum is entirely my fault.

Especially when it came to the last week of finishing up the project, (y/n) or Tadashi would usually end up having to bring him new clothes and meals.

And it looks like this is one of those fics that rewrites the canon so that Tadashi is alive, even though his death is Hiro’s motivation for pretty much everything he does in the film.

Hiro wiped some sweat from his brow as he finished soldering some wires together before closing up the miniature robot.

He should probably let that cool a bit, it can’t be good for the robot to close it up instantly after soldering something inside of it.

“Alright that should do it! He should be ready, now for the final test.” He said, smirking some to himself as he proudly held his shoulders up while he twirling the miniature robot in his hand, checking it one last time for any flaws.

Sounds like it’s time for :reaches into desk drawer: Wha? Where is it? I had a whole box right here…

:digs through desk drawers:

… It’s all gone! Where the hell is all the bolt-tape?!?

—MEANWHILE, ELSEWHERE IN THE LIBRARY—

:a small group of ninja stare up at the ceiling:

“Apologies, noble liaison. It appears it is possible to bolt-tape Dragon-kun to the ceiling. One owes you three gold coins.”

:Shinobi nods and holds out a hand to collect:

“Have you a plan to remove Dragon-kun from the ceiling before Ghostcat-sama sees him like this?”

:Shinobi shakes head:

“This could be a problem.”

Gumdrop just happy to be included by tiny scary friends! :attempts to wag tail:

—BACK AT THE HALL OF JUSTICE—

:Ghostie looks around:

… I feel like I just missed something, but I’m not sure what it was. :looks around again: And since when is my Riffing Chamber decorated to look like the Hall of Justice?

:shrugs: Oh, well.

He set the robot down on the table, as he glanced over at the clock by the door. “Shit! It’s already that late!? (Y/n) going to kill me! I hope it works, no time for testing.”

Relax, you’re only late by seven-ish days. I’m sure I’ll understand.

He jump slightly from his seat with his eyes wid, in a panic he rushed around his lab trying to clean up in a last minute hurry.

Why is he cleaning the lab up? If he’s in a hurry to meet me, shouldn’t he be getting himself ready and then leaving?

Which was mostly hiding things and tossing things to another part of the room.

That sounds like something you’d do with delicate robotic parts.

After he was finished “cleaning” the lab, he grip the collar of his shirt sniffing it a few times. “Ugh, I should probably change and shower.

Or shower and then change, unless you’re going to give the clothes you’re currently wearing a hillbilly wash while you’re at it.

I wonder if Tadashi dropped off any clothes last night.” Hiro’s eyes danced around the room looking for a bag, upon finding it he rushed over to it.

Weird that he didn’t notice that bag, wherever it is, while he was “cleaning up” the lab.

In a sloppy hurry he unzips the bag as he swiftly removes the clothes from within it, and rushes out the door. “I hope the showers are still open. I’m so glad they have showers here for days like this.” He said, exiting the lab and rushing to the other side of the building where the showers were.

So many questions. Why did he take the clothes out of the bag instead of taking the whole bag with him? Why are there showers in a robotics lab? If they are there for students to use when they are working late, then why would they ever close?

Just a few moments after your boyfriend leaves, you storm into his lab.

That I apparently have access to even though I don’t appear to be a student working in this lab. Come to think of it, Aunt Cass also has free access to the lab. Security at this place must be terrible.

As you forcefully push the door open, it would slam against the wall behind it.

I’M SO MAD I FORGOT WHAT TENSE THIS SHOULD HAVE BEING IN!!!

Your preying eyes glare around the room as your eye brows furrow, while you set your hands on your waist.

… What the hell just happened to my face?

“HIRO HAMADA! You have some explaining…? To do?” You blink twice, as you stare in awe around the room, confused at where your boyfriend was.

My tenses are as confused as I am about what is going on.

Assuming that the lab is the same or similar to the one Hiro eventually occupies in the film, then it shouldn’t have been that difficult to notice he wasn’t there. The individual labs aren’t very big, and the main lab has a fairly open floor plan.

“I’m sure his at the lab today..” You said aloud to yourself, as you let your eyes scan around the room quietly you notice that the lab look like it was clean up in a hurry.

And I can somehow differentiate between “cleaned in a hurry” and the typical clutter of the lab. Because I’m special like that.

“Hm, I wonder if his in the bathroom right now, maybe I should wait. There’s no way I can let him off that easy.”

So even though I have no visible proof that Hiro is still here, and in fact it looks like he’s already cleaned up and left, I’m going to sit here and wait for him to get back from the showers. Because reasons.

Your once blank face return to its furrow brows and frowning lips, as you crossed your arms and planted yourself in a seat by his desk.

Why was my face blank? It should have gone from anger to confusion and now back to comically overdone anger. And why is there an empty seat in Hiro’s lab? There isn’t a lot of space so an extra chair wouldn’t be left empty, it probably has a stack of stuff on it.

After a few minutes of pouting you get tired of holding a frown, and release your lips that were pressed together into a blank bored expression.

I must have gotten botox or something recently, because my face cannot keep an expression in place.

You eyes started to wonder around the room which you had remembered every detail contained with in the four walls already.

Woof. My inner narrative becomes very clunky when I’m bored.

Your eyes stumble upon a new robot that closely resembled a miniature Baymax.

So it’s not so much a new robot as a smaller version of an existing robot.

You draw it close to your face as you twirl it around in both hands, inspecting the new gadget.

:headdesk:

I’m in a robotics lab where they are working on new and potentially dangerous technologies, so I immediately start playing with something that probably took a very long time to design and construct and could be irretrievably broken by my rash actions?

Dammit, why am I such a dumbass?

In back of the small Baymax on top of the head you notice a small chain connected it.

Tiny things disrupt my grammar. They are like my kryptonite.

“It looks like a key-chain… how cute” You said, staring admirably at it as your cheeks blush lightly.

Why would a key chain, or something like a key chain, make me blush? Is there an embarrassing key-chain-themed event in my backstory that I don’t know about?

How big is this tiny not-a-Baymax? The original is about seven feet tall, so a miniature version could be anything smaller than that. I had sort of assumed this not-a-Baymax was roughly the size of Hiro’s fighting bot in the film, since that’s the only other robot associated with the character, but this version is much smaller if it looks like a key chain. Most key chains, even the obnoxiously large ones that are actually tiny stuffed animals, are less than four inches long.

You always really loved cute things, it was something that always bought out your feminine side.

As a girl/boy it is very important that I be in touch with my feminine side. I don’t want those pesky boy-cooties taking over or I’ll start scratching myself in public and finding Adam Sandler movies funny.

“But it looks just like Baymax, there’s no way Hiro could have bought something like this.

I find my logic flawed. In the real world there are tons of Baymax merch, he’s crazy-popular, but let’s assume this isn’t the real world; even if Hiro never created the team to seek revenge and turned everyone into accidental superheroes (who would likely have their own product lines) in the process – he has access to at least one 3D printer, probably more. He can make damn near anything he wants, provided he has a 3d model of it. It wouldn’t even take that long to make a Baymax, since his specs are probably already on file or Hiro could just scan the real one. I’m wondering what he spent the rest of the week doing.

Plus even if it could be bought, Hiro isn’t one to be fawn of cute things.”

I assume I mean “fond”, that or Hiro harbors a secret grudge against juvenile deer.

As you were lost in your own little space admiring the cute robot you didn’t hear the sound of clicking door opening.

Either I’m completely hypnotized by cute things or I’m still high off my ass from all that huffing I was doing earlier.

“I really should have bought my backpack with me instead of carrying my dirty clothes.” Hiro said,

Dude, that’s what I said! And I’m not even a super-genius or anything.

quietly as he mumbled to himself with faint blushing cheeks as he carried his dirty clothes in his arms embarrassed.

:winces: I need to sit myself down and have a serious discussion regarding my sloppy sentence structure. I have standards, you know.

The moment his eyes glide over to his desk, he jumps back slightly in surprise seeing his girl/boyfriend there.

In this weird alternate dimension where I’m a bitchy hermaphrodite dating a boy who is likely far too young for me, there seems to be a real epidemic of apathy. Everyone’s reactions have been very muted; Hiro is only slightly surprised, my face’s normal expression is a complete blank, and blushes are barely registered.

“(Y/N)!? What are you doing here!? I thought we agreed you’d wait for me back at your place.” Hiro said, sighing a bit as he rolled his eyes and lowered his shoulders.

That makes him wasting time cleaning up even more strange; if he was that pressed for time he could have come back after meeting me at my house.

It’s not that he wasn’t happy to see her/him, he just wanted to do something nice instead of spending her/his birthday in his lab, plus he wanted to surprise her/him. He knew how much (y/n) was looking forward to this day, he wanted to try to do something nice for her/him. Romantic gestures weren’t really him try as he might he always felt too embarrassed doing them, but he felt like this was the least he could do on her/his birthday.

:shakes head: All these pronouns are making my eyes cross. And they represent a shift in perspective; instead of her/him, it should just be “you” like the rest of the fic.

“Oh? What’s wrong with me coming to see my boyfriend?” You said, swinging your legs around as the chair turned to face him.

Nothing, really. It’s just a bit unexpected. I could have at least tried calling him at some point. It’s rude to show up unannounced.

You crossed your legs and also your arms as you still held onto the miniature Baymax in one hand. “After all I just came to find out why my loving boyfriend abandon me on my birthday, Hmph.” You said, pouting with a small frown and puffing your cheeks out dramatically to get your point cross, as you look away from him.

I must be super-hot for Hiro to put up with all this drama shit from me. If I were him, I’d have dumped my ass by now.

Hiro furrowed his brows glaring softy at her/his accusation, just as he was about to open his mouth he notices the miniature Baymax in her/his hand. “What are you doing with that?” His once angry expression turn into a confused wide eyed one as he pointed his index finger at her/his hand.

Again with the barely perceived emotions and sudden perspective shift! Why does that only happen in passages relating to Hiro? It is consistently inconsistent.

“I found this little guy! I must say his really cute, I think I’ll keep him as punishment.” You said sticking your tongue out.

Seriously, handsome – dump me. Dump me now. You can do so much better. Even Baymax would be a better choice; at least the robot is programmed to be sympathetic.

You look at him with a smirk as one eye brow was raised, you hold the miniature Baymax by your face with a taunting look.

Crapcakes! I’m smirking. And me with no bolt-tape. There has to be something … :digs through drawers: A-ha!

:takes out can of Forest Medley air freshener:

It’s going to smell like an elvish bordello in here for weeks, but this should throw Taco off the scent. :shrugs: Desperate times call for desperate puns.

:sprays air freshener throughout the Riffing Chamber:

:coughs: Ugh. That’s a smell that’s going to linger. But it’s worth it if it keeps me from getting gonged.

“Good, I’m glad you like him because his yours.” Hiro said, smirking back as he held his shoulders up proudly with a satisfy look.

AHHH!!! Why would you do that?

:sprays more air freshener throughout the Riffing Chamber:

:coughs: Ugh. Now I smell like the madam of Mirkwood. I hope you’re happy.

Why is he so proud of himself? As I’ve already pointed out, it wouldn’t be that difficult to make a small replica of Baymax as a birthday gift. Hiro could knock one out before lunch.

“Huh?” You look at him with a blank expression that seems lost, as you hung your mouth open slightly.

:headdesk:

I’m embarrassed for both of me.

“His yours. Truth is, I’ve been working on that little guy for you. I wanted to give him to you for your birthday, since I didn’t have any money to buy you anything this year. So I thought I would make you something.”

Because the supplies needed to fabricate a tiny customized robot just fall out of the sky, free for the taking. I’m sure he used the supplies at the lab (since that’s where he is) but if a teacher or supervisor finds out, how is he going to justify using school-owned materials to make his girlfriend a toy when he has a perfectly good 3D printer in his garage?

Dude, if you’re making something to save money, don’t. Just go to the dollar store or find a gas station, maybe hit up the capsule vending machines at the grocery store. Hell, this is San Fransokyo, which is a blending of San Francisco and Tokyo – there’s probably a bank of gashapon machines everywhere.

ガシャポン (gashapon) AKA capsule machines. 

And don’t mistake these things with the racks of cheap toys you find in the US; Japan’s obsessive love of tiny things makes these toys amazing and usually designed to dangle from a cell phone. You can find anything from kittens in boots;

Collect the whole set! Until the next series comes out.

To incredibly detailed anatomical models.

There’s another series that has figures of a tiny womb with removeable fetus.

They’re priced pretty reasonably; the kittens are about two dollars, while the anatomical models are three. Ten minutes, less than ten dollars, and you’re done.

I’m going to assume the author has never made anything from scratch, because she has the same erroneous belief that many do – that “handmade” equals “cheap”. If I make something for someone it isn’t because I can’t afford to buy them something, typically it is cheaper to purchase mass-produced items them making something from scratch. (Ask anyone who has to buy yarn, or fabric, or wood for a project.) I do it because I want to make them something special, something unique.

Hiro’s eyes started to wonder off to the side with a bashful look, as his cheeks turn a light red he stuffs his hands into his gray-ish brown cargo short pockets. He gave a light shrug as his cheeks deepen in color.

Awww, he almost looks embarrassed! Too bad his body can’t seem to commit to an emotion or action.

“I remember you saying a few months ago about wanting to have matching key-chains, like the couples in those cheesy dramas and anime’s you watch.

Those are usually cell phone straps, not key chains, and as I’ve pointed out – those aren’t hard to come by. That was worth risking possible academic censure for? You have a 3D printer AT YOUR HOUSE!

There’s no reason to use the lab at school except as an excuse to get the characters to visit a known location from the film so the author doesn’t have to come up with an original setting.

When I told you no, you looked really disappointed so I thought maybe it wouldn’t be that bad as long as I get to pick.” He said, coughing a little to hide his embarrassment as he started to fidget a little he raises his hand to rub the nape of his neck.

:takes out Teenage Boy to English dictionary:

What? This is the Library, we have books for everything.

:flips through pages: Ah, here it is! Translation; he doesn’t want to be saddled with some frou-frou girly piece of crap that would embarrass him. :closes dictionary: I don’t blame you, sunshine; the bitchy hermaphrodite version of me would totally pick out some glittery monstrosity that made cute little giggling noises every time it moved.

Or a tiny frog-shaped gashapon machine that vends even tinier frogs.

“You made us matching key-chains? For my birthday?” You said, staring at him wide eyed with blushing cheeks and a hint of disbelief in your voice.

So far he’s only made the one tiny not-a-Baymax; I guess at some point he’ll make a matching one for himself. Maybe that’s what he’s getting himself for his birthday.

“Yeah? What’s wrong, is that not what you wanted anymore?” Hiro said, looking back at her/him with a teasing smirk and one eye brow raised.

Damn you, Hiro!

:sprays more air freshener:

-KNOCK-KNOCK!-

Huh. I wonder who that could be?

:opens door to reveal several figures dressed in shades of brown and green:

Well, hell-o there.

“Ummm … One of our number has chosen a life mate and it is his last evening of freedom. We were wondering …”

:sigh: You’ll want the Keebler place, three doors down. :slams door: Stupid air freshener. If I find out who stole my bolt-tape, I’m going to tape them to a lactose-free key lime pie and feed it to Gumdrop!

“Haha, Hiro Hamada you truly are the greatest boyfriend!” You said, closing your eyes as you press the small robot to your lips, giving him a big smile as you let out a small hearty laugh.

… I’m kind of starting to suspect that I might be a robot. That could explain the inappropriate emotional responses and general gender confusion.

“Of course, you’re just figuring that out?” He said, with that cocky tone of his and one eye brow raised still as he set his hands on his waist with a smug look.

You’re just lucky you had a gift ready to placate me, because I was so ready to kick your ass for forgetting to contact me even though that’s apparently a habit of yours.

“You and that look, I swear” You roll at eyes upon seeing his smug expression as you looked up at him.

Dude’s awfully full of himself for thinking of something like matching key chains. It’s cute and thoughtful, but seriously – get over yourself.

“It makes me want to really just wipe it off.”

That does sound like something I’d say. :grabs forehead: This is some freaky Inception shit right here.

You said, pushing yourself out of the chair with a mischievous smile as you dash into your boyfriends arms.

I have more than one boyfriend? Wow, I’m a player. Do I just collect their arms? Because that could mean I’m a psychopath as well.

“Whoa! Be careful, I have a lot of stuff in the lab!” Hiro’s eye widen a bit as he look at her/him surprised he shouted a bit. While he stumbled backwards slightly, he wraps his arms around (y/n) tightly.

Stuff that you obviously don’t think too highly of since you were tossing it around while cleaning up. And you weren’t upset that I was playing around with your little robot.

:pauses:

That sounds so dirty.

“Be quiet Nerd” You smirk a little pushing up on your toes as you crash your lips up against his.

:winces: Ouch. I’m really bad at kissing. Someone’s going to wind up with a cut lip.

You wrap your arms around his neck pulling him closer to you, as you start the kiss slow it progressively gets intense and deepens.

Should I care if he wants to kiss me? Or breathe? Probably not. It’s my birthday, so it’s all about me today, right?

You feel his hands starting to grip your waist as he holds you close against him.

Hey, I think he might have his little robot in his pocket!

After slowly separating for air you look up at his dark brown almond shaped eyes with a gentle smile and kiss him one last time.

Dammit, I knew I should have let him come up for air sooner!

“Happy Birthday (y/n)” He said, pressing his lips firmly against her/his forehead as he smiles into the kiss.

:groans:

Again with the tense shifts! You’re ruining my fake birthday for me!

Just as you were lost in a sweet blissful moment with your boyfriend’s arms on your waist and lips against your forehead, you jump being caught off by a loud voice that seem to come out of no where.

:looks around: Are the gods speaking to me again? That usually only happens after I eat those funny-tasting mushrooms sensei keeps in his filing cabinet.

“Hello? Hiro can you hear me?” After a minute of processing the voice though your mind, you realize it was Tadashi’s voice.

Wow, I’m really slow on the uptake. Hiro must be a much better kisser than the narration would imply.

You look up at your boyfriend with wide eyed crinkled brow expression. “Was… That Tadashi’s voice?”

How do I get my face to do all these weird scrunchy things? And why am I asking such a stupidly obvious question?

“Oh Yeah, heh sorry.” He gave a sheepish wide smile with tinted pink cheeks. “One minute” He said, as he reach one hand away from her/his waist and gently takes the small Baymax from her/his hand.

That’s it!

:THWACK!:

If you’re going to write in the second-person, keep it consistent! These tense shifts from second to third are a pain in the ass!

Pressing down on the head of the robot he starts speaking into it. “Yeah am here bro.”

“Just making out with my girlfriend, no big. What’s up?”

“Great it works! I’m sure (y/n) will love it! I know she/he gets lonely when your busy with your school projects. Just remember not to goof off and get your work done, got it little bro?” Tadashi’s said, from the small speaker in the little Baymax’s stomach.

There’s a speaker in the tiny not-a-Baymax’s tummy? Weird that I missed something like that when I first picked it up. I’m usually more observant than that.

I’m confused as to how matching not-a-Baymax walkie-talkies are going to make Hiro keep in touch with me. We obviously both have cell phones or I wouldn’t have gotten mad about him failing to text me, so having an additional communication device isn’t really going to change things. And if Hiro’s problem is that he’s too focused on his work, then why would Tadashi be concerned about him goofing off and not finishing something?

“Hehe” You gave a small playful giggle at hearing your boyfriend’s older brother lecturing him.

Huh. I never pictured myself as the playfully giggling type. And that wasn’t really a lecture, more like an unnecessary warning.

With a Mischievous grin you take the small Baymax from Hiro’s hand talking into the mic.

That I somehow know how to operate even though I didn’t notice that the tiny not-a-Baymax was a walkie-talkie until Tadashi spoke.

“Don’t worry brother! I’ll make sure this knuckle head gets all his work done. I’ll see you later tonight tell Aunt Cass I’ll be sleeping over tonight.

Damn, I am forward! And rude; you’re supposed to ask if you can stay over, not just announce that you are.

Oh and (y/n) loved her/his present by the way.” You said merrily as you chuckle a little to yourself. Directing your attention back to Hiro, leaning up once more to give him a chaste kiss on the lips while still forming a grin.

That’s kind of sweet, a couple of kids … Wait, how old am I? I mean, I know how old I am, but I don’t know how old the bitchy hermaphrodite version of myself that inhabits this fic is or how old Hiro is. In the canon he’s fourteen when he enters college so he’s at least that old, but that’s all I’ve got on him. I grabbed some keys before I left my house, but I don’t know if they were car keys or just my house keys. If they’re car keys, then I’m a bit too old to be dating a fourteen-year-old and I definitely shouldn’t be spending the night at his house.

“I hope this goes without saying, that you two better be careful. I don’t want to be an uncle at 21.

… If Tadashi is twenty-one, then the two brothers are roughly the same age as they are in the film. I’ve been dating Hiro for three years, which means we started when he was eleven.

I really, really want to know how old I am in this fic, because I’m getting one of those squicky vibes like I should be on one of those Dateline To Catch A Predator specials.

I mean not that I wouldn’t-” While Tadashi was in the middle of giving one of his be safe lectures, he would be cut off short by the younger Hamada.

Arigato, Hiro-kun. That’s a most welcome interruption.

Hiro hastily grabs the walkie talkie Baymax from (y/n)’s hand, only to shout embarrassed into the mic at his older brother words. “Tadashi!” He said, wearing an awkward stiff expression with his cheeks tinted red. He cheeks would deepen in color as he heard (y/n) laughing amused in the background.

Let me get this straight; I announce that I’m spending the night at his house, where he lives with his aunt and shares a room with his older brother, and Hiro has no reaction, but mild teasing from his brother provokes a full-on blushing fit? Hiro has some odd reactions.

That’s it for this oddly disturbing fic, see you next time!

 

54 Comments on “1109: Happy Birthday HiroxReader – Oneshot”

  1. leobracer says:

    *Eye Twitch*

    Why are these things a thing? Fanfiction.net has a rule against these kind of fics!

    • GhostCat says:

      And yet there are so many. FF.net also has rules against chapter-length Author’s Notes as well, and we’ve seen how many people follow that rule.

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      What kind of ‘fics?

      Terrible ones?

    • neji7hyuga says:

      It escapes me too. They are right there and you have to accept them before you can post stories in Fanfiction.net! It even has members to re-accept them after some time has passed. Even though the last update was years ago.

      I always make sure to follow them. In fact, they don’t really bother me at all. Violent scenes? As long as I don’t go way, way overboard. As for scenes that show nudity or sex? Not my kind of thing so I can leave it out. One way is to do a time skip to skip over that, including a line break so readers are aware that it happened. Not using a line break would cause confusion likely. And also those kinds of scenes would likely get your story deleted from Fanfiction.net.

    • SuperFeatherYoshi says:

      Yeah, I’ve already seen half a dozen stories on FF with sex/nudity scenes (Including FAW and *shudders* Jasmine Cumslut). Nobody follows these rules, because nobody enforces them.

      • GhostCat says:

        To be fair to the admins, they couldn’t possibly screen every single chapter of every single fic posted on the site. They rely on readers flagging the fics, and even then it takes a sustained effort since many readers flag fics simply because they don’t like the fic.

  2. AdmiralSakai says:

    It’s not that he wasn’t happy to see her/him, he just wanted to do something nice instead of spending her/his birthday in his lab, plus he wanted to surprise her/him. He knew how much (y/n) was looking forward to this day, he wanted to try to do something nice for her/him. Romantic gestures weren’t really him try as he might he always felt too embarrassed doing them, but he felt like this was the least he could do on her/his birthday.

    Hey author… you know that in Palaven’s Dogs, parts written from a turian narrator originally used ‘xe’ and ‘xir’ as the only pronouns because the Turii language is completely genderless. You know why I abandoned that, author?

    BECAUSE IT MADE THE ‘FIC UNREADABLE!!!

  3. AdmiralSakai says:

    That I apparently have access to even though I don’t appear to be a student working in this lab. Come to think of it, Aunt Cass also has free access to the lab. Security at this place must be terrible.

    Yeah, seriously, what’s up with that? The lab where I worked was so tightly locked down that not only could other people not even get into the building where it was, but I myself could not get into my own lab and had to have the faculty director let me in every day.

  4. AdmiralSakai says:

    “(Y/N)!? What are you doing here!?

    Every time I see that little “(y/n)” placeholder in the narrative, it immediately transforms the story into one of those “continue [y/N]?” prompts in Linux console applications.

  5. TacoMagic says:

    He’s a college student trying to get a project done; I should be grateful he’s even wearing clothes.

    As I always say, “Hey, you’re all lucky that I’m wearing pants today.”

  6. TacoMagic says:

    Really, I should know better. This tantrum is entirely my fault.

    You are just the worst, Ghostie.

  7. TacoMagic says:

    He said, smirking some to himself as he proudly held his shoulders up while he twirling the miniature robot in his hand, checking it one last time for any flaws.

    SMIRKING! I- Wait, wasn’t…

    *Taco turns around and sees Cerbersheep trot into the room*

    Oh, so you are still here.

    Baaaaaaaa!

    No! If you want to check your email use Crunchy’s computer.

    • TacoMagic says:

      You look at him with a smirk as one eye brow was raised, you hold the miniature Baymax by your face with a taunting look.

      BAAAAA!

      What is it boy!?

      Baaaaa! Baaa, baaa baaa baaaaaa!

      Ghostcat fell into the sharkjump tank and is now teaching it to square dance!? My gods, we have to save that poor shark! Suit up, Cerb-

      Baaaaa.

      Oh, smirking, right. So you’re sure we don’t have to mount a rescue squad to save the shark?

      BAAAAAAAAAA!

      You know, Cerbersheep, you’re kind of a buzzkill.

    • TacoMagic says:

      “Good, I’m glad you like him because his yours.” Hiro said, smirking back as he held his shoulders up proudly with a satisfy look.

      BAAAAAAAAAA!

      Hey! Watch what you call my mother, jerk!

      Baaaaa.

      What!? More smirking? You know what, why don’t you handle it? Here, take Horatio.

      *Taco lobs a gong at Cerbersheep*

      *GONG*

      Woops, forgot about the whole “no hands” thing.

      BAAAA!

      No I certainly did NOT do that on purpose.

    • TacoMagic says:

      “Yeah? What’s wrong, is that not what you wanted anymore?” Hiro said, looking back at her/him with a teasing smirk and one eye brow raised.

      BAAAA!

      *Cerbersheep charges out of the room with Horatio in his mouth*

      Go, Cerbersheep! You’re doing the work of the gods now!

      *Takes a bite of coffee and picks up his gamepad*

      I’m just going to be in here, doing important Library things.

    • TacoMagic says:

      “Be quiet Nerd” You smirk a little pushing up on your toes as you crash your lips up against his.

      BAAAA!

      *GONG GONG GONG GONG*

      Keep up the good work, Cerbs!

      “HEADSHOT!”

      DAMMIT, CRUNCHY! You dirty camper!

  8. TacoMagic says:

    I’m going to assume the author has never made anything from scratch, because she has the same erroneous belief that many do – that “handmade” equals “cheap”. If I make something for someone it isn’t because I can’t afford to buy them something, typically it is cheaper to purchase mass-produced items them making something from scratch. (Ask anyone who has to buy yarn, or fabric, or wood for a project.) I do it because I want to make them something special, something unique.

    Preach it, sister!

    • AdmiralSakai says:

      Well, I can sort of see where the author’s coming from here. Unless it involves Photoshop, Hammer, or can be compiled, anything I make entirely by myself is pretty much guaranteed to look like shit.

      • GhostCat says:

        Depends on the person’s skill-set; if you’re not the type to make things from scratch then you probably wouldn’t attempt to make someone a gift since you’d lack the skills to do so.

  9. TacoMagic says:

    You said, pushing yourself out of the chair with a mischievous smile as you dash into your boyfriends arms.

    I have more than one boyfriend? Wow, I’m a player. Do I just collect their arms? Because that could mean I’m a psychopath as well.

    And you swim in them! Like the Scrooge McDuck of dismemberment.

  10. "Lyle" says:

    Yet here you are, marching around your room alone on your birthday, because a certain someone that you had been dating for a little over 3 years now wasn’t there.

    … How can you have been in a relationship for 3 years and not have discussed birthday plans beforehand? I can maybe understand if you’ve been seeing him for 3 months that maybe you’d not have talked about what you planned to do on your birthday, but after 3 years it would have come up. And, usually, by the 3-year-mark in a relationship, you know a lot more about each others’ habits and you don’t see one another only every so often. By then you’re pretty damn committed and would know where each other was, and that it wasn’t something to flip out over. You’d probably be spending a significant amount of time together if the relationship was actually serious enough to last 3 years. This author has never had a significant other.

    • GhostCat says:

      Especially since it’s established later that Hiro is forgetful and tends to get lost in his projects. If I were really in a relationship with someone that had lasted that long I should know what to expect.

    • "Lyle" says:

      “(Y/N)!? What are you doing here!? I thought we agreed you’d wait for me back at your place.” Hiro said, sighing a bit as he rolled his eyes and lowered his shoulders.

      Wait, so there was a plan and I just disregarded it completely? I really am a bitchy little princess, aren’t I?

      … I don’t like myself very much.

  11. "Lyle" says:

    Ask anyone who has to buy yarn, or fabric, or wood for a project.

    Truth. Both of the blankets I’ve made for Mr. Lyle for the last two Christmases have cost around $50 – $70 just in yarn. Then there’s the sheer amount of time needed for such an endeavor as a full-sized blanket. Ye gads.

  12. "Lyle" says:

    “I hope this goes without saying, that you two better be careful. I don’t want to be an uncle at 21.

    So either the author forgot that she wrote this so the “Y/N” character could be male OR female and is assuming that the reader has female reproductive organs, or Tadashi doesn’t realize that one dude cannot impregnate another dude.

    • GhostCat says:

      Well, I do have a prior fic where the author thought it was possible for two women to have a natural baby, so anything’s possible.

      There are other instances in some of her other fics where the pronoun use slips and goes from “y/n” to female pronouns like “her”, so I think it’s a case of the author writing out her fantasies and trying to pretend that they aren’t hers by hiding behind this “I’m doing it for the reader!” nonsense. A SI Sue by any other name, and all that.

    • Margolias says:

      Or maybe we’re gonna get drunk and adopt some kids.

  13. Margolias says:

    Why are we, the collective reader, such a bitch?

  14. […] it another shot. I’m here with a little Big Heroes 6 oneshot from ChibiRaeRae, who wrote Happy Birthday HiroxReader! Astute Patrons will notice that the title of this oneshot is very similar to the previous fic, […]


Leave a Reply

