998: Waiting for the End – Oneshot

Title: Waiting for the End
Author: SamCole
Media: Anime
Topic: s-CRY-ed
Genre: Romance/Hurt/Comfort
URL: Waiting for the End
Critiqued by SC, Specs, Sports Shades, Contacts, Glasses and Shades

Hello, and welcome back to the Library of the Damned! I’m your host, SC, and it is fucking crowded in here!

Shades: Budge over, you git, you’re sitting on my hand.

Glasses: I thought that was Specs’ hand?

Specs: I’m over here! How could you be sitting on my hand?

Sports Shades: Look, somebody’s hand is being sat on, so move the hell over.

Contacts: OW! God damn it, that was my foot!

Hang on folks, I need to reorganize things here.

~LATER, AFTER MANY SHENANIGANS~

Right, there we go. Now we’re all settled.

Glasses: Contacts smells like poop.

Contacts: I got shat on by one of Bifocals’ Defecation Distraction Droids.

Shades: Why would she make something like that?

Contacts: I don’t fucking know!

Sports Shades: She overheard a home I was telling to Specs about how nobody would expect you to weaponize explosive shit in a fight.

Specs: Maybe we shouldn’t have had that conversation while she was in the room?

Contacts: Oh, so it’s YOUR fault, you bastard!

Sports Shades: The only reason I don’t regret it is because it happened to you.

Hey shitlords – especially Contacts –

Contacts: Laugh it up, you fuckers.

– Can we get to the riff, please? I’d like to have this done sometime today.

*The Co. members all shut up*

Thank you.

So!

This week’s oneshot is a Hurt/Comfort/Romance songfic from the s-CRY-ed side of fanfiction.net called “Waiting for the End” by SamCole.

*Glasses hisses*

I know, it’s horrible.

The fic is only about a thousand or so words, and thank God for that because the name of the fic is the name of the song – Waiting for the End, by Linkin Park.

Full disclosure, I like Linkin Park. In my mind, their music isn’t as bad as the internet proclaims. It’s not the greatest, maybe, and I’ll be the first to admit that I just flat-out don’t listen to some of their work, but it’s far from the worst garbage in the music world. (I consider FUN.’s stuff to hold that position.) I think it has a lot to do with their association with the emo crowd, and I also blame Michael Bay for the band’s reputation getting so badly curb-stomped.

Waiting for the End is a song from Linkin Park’s album, A Thousand Suns, and it has possibly the weirdest music video I’ve ever seen from their group:

The lyrics indicate that the song is about a whole heaping lot of regrets, and the struggle of starting over again. Coincidentally, according to the summary of this fic, that’s the theme in play here.

As for the anime:

s-CRY-ed is an adventure/science fiction manga and anime (ironically, I’ve yet to read the manga), written by Hajime Yatate, illustrated by Yasunari Toda and published by Akita Shoten in Japan and Tokyopop in the US. The manga spanned five volumes from October 4, 2001, when its anime was running, to June 20, 2002, after the anime had ended. It was first adapted into its anime format by studio Sunrise for Animax and TVTokyo in Japan and Adult Swim in the US. The anime was directed by Gōro Taniguchi and written by Yōsuke Kuroda, with music by Kōtarō Nakagawa. The anime went for twenty-six episodes from July 4, 2001 to December 26, 2001. It’s also got a light novel and a couple of movies to its name, all produced in the area of 2002 to 2012, meaning that the series’ popularity hasn’t waned very much from its original run fourteen years ago.

The story takes place in the Kanagawa Prefecture near Tokyo, after a geological phenomenon known as “The Great Uprising” split the area from the mainland, thus earning it the official name “Lost Ground” by the mainland government. As a side effect of the incident, residents of the Lost Ground have suddenly begun to acquire a power known as Alter, which allows the user to deconstruct, reshape and crystallize matter at the molecular level with their minds. At the start of the series, only one percent of every newborn generation was born with this power (though it ended up jumping to two percent in the manga), and as a result, some of them considered themselves to be superior to normal humans.

Well, naturally, this can only lead to chaos, and the totalitarian mainland government of the story can’t have that, so they took steps to put the Native Alters under their boot by raising H.O.L.D., a super-police organization for keeping the Lost Ground in line. Within H.O.L.D., an elite Alter-User Special Forces unit was born, called H.O.L.Y. (don’t ask what either of these acronyms mean, it’s never explained.) H.O.L.Y.’s main objectives are to provide aid to fellow H.O.L.D. operatives in potentially dangerous missions which might require an Alter User, and also hunt down especially powerful Native Alters and forcibly recruit them to the cause, whether they want to join up or not.

And that’s where the protagonist of the story steps in, and things get crazy.

I would explain more, but that’s where the story kind of flies off the rails into insanity, so it’s honestly better for you to just watch it for yourself.

As for this fic, well, it’s a lot easier to explain, but not nearly as fun. Or cool.

Well, somebody’s gotta riff it.

With me is almost all of the Co., save for a Booky, Bifocals and Monocle, because these guys are about as psychotic as the anime gets, with powers to match, so I figure it only makes sense to bring them in for this.

Now, let’s get to this riff before Contacts stinks up the joint any worse.

Contacts: No but really, fuck Bifocals. Fuck her so hard.

Shades: She would certainly like Specs to do so.

Specs: Ah, you’re just saying that.

They’re really not. She has a massive lady-boner for you, dude, everybody can see it.

Specs: Nah, she’s just a good friend is all.

Sports Shades: …How is it possible for you to be so clueless?

I’d rather not know.

We open on an author’s note:

Author’s Note: Tch,

Sports Shades: Scoff.

Specs: Psh.

Glasses: Grimace.

Shades: Harrumph.

Contacts: Grumble.

We’re all grumpy, now.

so I love this song…and this is therefore going to be a songfic inspired by the song “Waiting for the End” by Linkin Park.

I need to mentally prepare myself for this pain, so:

Okay. And we’re good.

Enjoy, review please!

Shades: That’s doubtful.

Disclaimer: Alas, I don’t own the song “Waiting for the End” nor do I own Kazuma, Ryuhou or Kunihiko Kimishima, depressing, isn’t it?

Not really, no.

And because I want to keep this short, here’s Kazuma Torisuna

O hai, Kazuma!

O hai, Kazuma!

Ryuho Ryu

O hai, Ryuho!

O hai, Ryuho!

– and Kunihiko Kimishima:

O hai, Kimishima!

O hai, Kimishima!

There you go. Moving on, now.

This is not the end
This is not the beginning

Starting in media res, I see.

Just a voice like a riot
Rocking every revision

Glasses: Booky says that if I do that to him again, he’ll hit me to death with his staff. Kinky.

Shades: There’s something wrong with you.

But you listen to the tone
And the violent rhythm

Contacts: Because Jackass and Dumbass decided to start SPARRING DURING THE RIFF!

Specs and Sports Shades, mid-match: What?

Though the words sound steady
Something empties within ’em

Did Bifocals’ poop-droids just shit in a bunch of words?

Specs: Ew.

We say yeah

NOH.

With fists flying up in the air
Like we’re holding onto something that’s invisible there

Contacts: Actually, I’ve got an invisible levitation device in my hand, so I have a good excuse.

Is that one of Bifocals’ discreet levitation propulsion devices?

Contacts: Yep.

Cause we’re living at the mercy of the pain and the fear

Of Book Specs’ wrath.

*Everybody flinches*

Until we dead it forget it
Let it all disappear

Those aren’t the words, dumbass. If you must rip lyrics for a fic, at least do it correctly.

Kazuma stared at his hands and decided at that moment that he really didn’t want to fight anymore.

Shades: The burger was winning this battle, whether he liked it or not.

Contacts: SOON.

He was so sick of death and pain but it had thus far defined his very existence.

Mostly the pain bit. Kazuma gets slapped around a LOT in the series.

What could he do other than fight?

Sports Shades: I dunno, sleep?

Glasses: Play with yarn?

Not what YOU could do, dummy, what KAZUMA could do.

Glasses: …Play with yarn?

The Alter hadn’t realized he was crying until the tears fell into his palms.

Specs: And then he was all, “Ew ew ew!”

Kazuma turned his gaze to the skies and the stars that hung their.

Contacts: Hung their what?

You don’t want to know.

Contacts: Ew.

The night was clear, a full moon cast a ghostly gleam across his surroundings’,

Shades: His surroundings’… Guns?

Think what you want, chief.

Shades: I want to think about guns.

the stars looked like a thousand diamonds tossed on a black canopy by some careless god.

Sports Shades: *careless god* “What do I do with these things? Eh, fuck it, I’m sure it’ll work itself out.”

Kazuma opened his lips and screamed,

*Glasses squeals*

You jumped the gun there, ace.

Glasses: Oh, did it not happen yet?

releasing all the anger, all the sorrow he felt in a single broken cry,

Specs: You do know how expensive those things are, don’t you?

Flying at the speed of light
Thoughts were spinning in my head

Contacts: But I could barely hear them over the sound of my skin ripping off and bursting into flames.

So many things were left unsaid
It’s hard to let you go

*Shades strokes one of her pistols lovingly*

I know what it takes to move on
I know how it feels to lie

Sports Shades: It’s not that bad, actually.

Well, you’re a horrible person, so of course you’d say that.

Sports Shades: Yeah buddy.

All I wanna do is trade this life for something new
Holding on to what I haven’t got

Contacts: Secretly, I want to be an accordion player.

Why?

Contacts: Because Sports Shades hates accordions.

Sports Shades: Fuck you too, Thief-Bitch.

Kazuma was running though he didn’t know where he was running to until he came to a stop.

Specs: Ran right into H.O.L.Y. headquarters.

Whoops.

Sports Shades: *Ryuho* “Easiest. Arrest. Ever.”

He recognized the front of Kimishima’s home and wondered briefly why he had come here, the man wasn’t his, not anymore.

Glasses: You had some shitty breakup sex, didn’t you?

That does tend to be a deal breaker, doesn’t it?

He wished now that he had never hurt the other male,

Specs: *Kimishima* “THAT’S not where that goes!”

Glasses: Ooh.

he wished now that he hadn’t been so horrid as to flaunt his stupid affair with Ryuhou in his face,

*gasp!*

Sports Shades: Scandalooouuus.

Specs: I believe the media calls these stories, “juicy.”

Contacts: Stuff like that is part of what makes being a thief so fun. I could tell you some interesting stories.

*Glasses and Shades share a bowl of popcorn*

after all Ryuhou had never cared and Kimishima did.

Oh, Ryuho cared. Just… In a super Yandere way.

Shades: *Ryuho* “If I can’t have you, I’LL JUST FUCKING DESTROY YOU!”

So many thoughts were spinning through his mind, apologies he’d wished he’d said, things he wished he hadn’t said and done, things he could do to fix it, yet everything was so full of ifs, ands, and buts, that he knew there was nothing that could be done.

Thanks for basically just rehashing the lyrics in a much more convoluted fashion.

But he had to try. How could he let Kimishima go?

Like this:

“Ryuho’s on the phone!”

*Kazuma* “What?! Well, fuck you Kimishima, I’ve got better guys to talk to!”

The very thought smashed into him like a ton of bricks,

BOOKY, STOP BRICKING KAZUMA!

*A staff flies into the room and smacks SC in the head*

DON’T YOU TALK BACK TO ME!

for so long he had been able to convinced himself that he could let his human friend go whenever he wanted. Now he realized that he had lied to himself.

Contacts: Kimishima wouldn’t stop running into traffic.

He was a good liar.

*All glance at each other and burst out laughing*

“Kazuma?” Kimishima quirked, surprise written all over his face as he stood in the doorway of his humble home.

Sports Shades: *Kimishima* “Either I’m way too drunk, or not drunk enough.”

Kazuma didn’t know what to do or say, he simply stared, mouth agape, tears still clinging to his cheeks and his breath coming out in soft huffs. “Kimishima,” he merely whispered.

Glasses: *Kazuma* “My GOD, you look sexy in that robe!”

Kimishima gave him a look, a cold one that made Kazuma flinch inwardly before his eyes relaxed.

Just his eyes?

Shades: So the rest of his face is still bunched up like a wet rag, then?

“Do you want to come in?”

Specs: *Kazuma* “DO I?”

Kazuma almost sobbed with joy but instead nodded and followed his ex-lover inside.

Glasses: To the bedroom, for some awesome make-up sex.

Shades, fanning herself: Oh, blimey…

Shades confirmed yaoi fan.

Sitting in an empty room
Trying to forget the past

Specs: That’s easy for me! I can hardly remember most things! In fact… What was I talking about?

This was never meant to last
I wish it wasn’t so

Sports Shades: Well, maybe don’t cheat on your boyfriend with the local hot guy next time, huh?

Yeah, that would help.

I know what it takes to move on
I know how it feels to lie
All I wanna do is trade this life for something new
Holding on to what I haven’t got

We’ve been over all of this once already.

Glasses: But I had another joke lined up-

NOH.

The human hadn’t said anything; he simply led Kazuma to his living room and went to the kitchen to get something.

Shades: A pan to smack him with?

Kazuma starred at the walls in front of him and felt more tears roll down his cheeks.

I’d be pretty teary-eyed too, if I suddenly caused the walls to undergo thermonuclear fusion right in front of me.

Contacts: Can you imagine how rude that must be? “Great, my whole fucking house just imploded and then exploded in a celestial blaze of righteous fury, and I just paid off the mortgage. Thanks, dick.

Specs: I would be livid.

Sports Shades: Yeah, there wouldn’t be a spot anywhere that would good enough to hide from me at that point.

Guilt, longing, despair, love, so many emotions tore through him all at once and he couldn’t take it.

Glasses: Shaaaaades, did you unload the Feelnigun on Kazuma?

*Shades freezes in place, a smoking blue minigun in hand; there is a feels face spray-painted on one side*

Shades: …Nooo…

He hated himself, the past wormed his way through his mind, something he’d tried to forget for some time now but alas, he could never escape it.

Silent Hill is a bitch, innit?

He had lied to himself, told himself that just like everything else in his life; his relationship with Kimishima wouldn’t last.

Contacts: And what do you know, it didn’t.

Sports Shades: Both in-canon and this fic.

Thanks for reminding me of Kimishima’s death, asshole, I spent years getting over that.

Specs: Kimishima dies?

…How far behind in the series are you?

Specs: Ch… chapter… two…

Wow.

So he ruined it before it could fall apart. He tried to move on before it was over, he’d lied to himself again.

Shades: You are just the patron saint of good decisions, aren’t you, mate?

He wished he hadn’t. He’d broken Kimishima’s heart, he’d screwed up no matter how badly he wished it wasn’t so…

Sports Shades: Just like the entirety of Contacts’ life.

Contacts: Fuck you! At least I didn’t end up fighting for Oda Nobunaga!

Sports Shades: That was only a mistake when Honnō-ji happened.

Wait, I thought you said you were slain in a duel with Musashi Miyamoto?

Sports Shades: Yeah, that was part of it.

HE WASN’T EVEN BORN YET WHEN HONNŌ-JI HAPPENED, YOU FUCKING LIAR!

Sports Shades: It might have been Hattori Hanzo.

HANZO WASN’T INVOLVED IN THAT!

Specs: Full disclosure: Sports Shades was a peasant-born samurai reject who joined a gang of bandits after failing as a low-grade bodyguard and got killed by an arrow through the heart from a ninja student of Kyujutsu somewhere in a nearby treeline. Hence why he hates Contacts so much.

*After a moment of stunned silence from the group, Contacts bursts out laughing*

Sports Shades: …So, when I came clean about that secret to you, you do recall me telling you to keep it to yourself, don’t you?

Specs: The way you were going just a second ago, it would’ve come out sooner or later.

This explains so much.

Contacts: I can’t breathe, I can’t fucking breathe…!

*Shades and Glasses are rendered speechless, and can only blink at this revelation*

What was left when that fire was gone

Contacts: The charred remains of Sportsy’s fucking dignity!

*Sports Shades says nothing, but lets out a long-suffering sigh*

I thought it felt right but that right was wrong

Specs: I imagine Sportsy is thinking that about confiding in me right about now.

Sports Shades: You have no idea.

*Contacts snickers*

All caught up in the eye of the storm
And trying to figure out what it’s like moving on

Shades: Well, Sports Shades will have to work his way back up from the bottom to be the level of antagonist that he was with us before the big news.

*Sports Shades grumbles unintelligibly*

And I don’t even know what kind of things I said
My mouth kept moving and my mind went dead

Let me refresh your memory for you: it was a whole lot of bullshit.

Sports Shades: …That was directed at me, wasn’t it.

Maybe.

Picking up those pieces now where to begin
The hardest part of ending is starting again

Glasses: Hey, now that the smug asshole thing didn’t work out, maybe you could be a hand model?

Sports Shades: Y’all are looking to get wrecked, aren’t you?

Contacts: By who? Yo-

*Contracts’ head goes flying from a single swipe of Sports Shades’ dadao*

Sports Shades: I may have been ousted for being an all-around failure just a minute ago, but one of the things I did succeed at was being quick on the draw as a swordsman before I died.

Specs: I don’t think anybody was arguing that point, we’ve all seen how you work. Well, except Contacts, apparently.

See, this is why the rest of us kept the torment at only one jab. Contacts forgot that detail.

*Contacts respawns dressed as Glasses*

Contacts: You don’t say.

Sports Shades: This makes me feel somewhat better now.

All I wanna do is trade this life for something new
Holding on to what I haven’t got

Specs: I’m not saying anything, but you know who I’m thinking of.

Sports Shades: At this point, all I can do is admit it.

“Why are you here, Kazuma?” Kimishima asked as he took a seat on the floor across from his former lover. He didn’t sound angry, he didn’t sound depressed, no. He sounded tired.

This was like the third time this week Kazuma had pulled that “thermonuclear fusioning the house” crap, after all.

“I’m sorry,” Kazuma choked out. “So sorry.”

Kimishima sighed. “Kazuma, it’s to late for that now.”

Sports Shades: He has to go all the way to Late to apologize? Harsh, bro.

Shades: Well, if it helps Kazuma’s case any…

“Please, listen to me. I didn’t ever mean to hurt you-”

“Could’ve fooled me.”

All: Oh shit!

“I didn’t Kimishima. I love you. I love you more than I’ve ever loved anyone or anything it’s just. I was so scared. Everything I’ve ever cherished I’ve lost, everything I’ve ever loved, I’ve lost. I didn’t want to lose you. I never wanted you to slip away but gods, I was afraid that you’d leave me.”

You had me up until the polytheistic quip. Although, Japan is a country that still adheres to the old gods on one side, practices a monotheistic faith on another side, or is religiously dissociated as a whole on the third side, and the Lost Ground doesn’t have any specification as to which they are, so this could just be me for what I know.

“So I pushed you away. I put distance between us so you couldn’t hurt me and in turn I hurt you. I tried to tell myself I could move on. I tried to tell myself you never meant anything to me. It was all a lie, everything I told myself. I just, I know I have no right to say this but I love you and if you wouldn’t mind…I really want to be with you again.”

Glasses: That’s nice and all, dear, but could you maybe remember to breathe every once in a while?

When Kazuma finished speaking his hands were trembling and his voice had cracked apart.

Shades: Nothing a little glue can’t fix.

He didn’t know where the words came from, it was like his mind stopped working and his heart took over, speaking for him.

Contacts: I feel like I’ve… heard these things, somewhere before, you know?

Specs: I know, it’s kind of weird.

Sports Shades: Like some kind of déjà vu or something.

Kimishima seemed surprised and heartbroken. He walked over to the other male and pulled him into a hug.

All: D’aww.

This is not the end
This is not the beginning
Just a voice like a riot
Rocking every revision
But you listen to the tone
And the violent rhythm
Though the words sound steady
Something empties within em

We say yeah

With fists flying up in the air
Like we’re holding onto something that’s invisible there
Cause we’re living at the mercy of the pain and the fear
Until we dead it forget it
Let it all disappear

MASS LYRIC REHASH!!!11!111!!!

*The Co. members initiate a wave*

They lay in bed together that night, their bodies intertwined in a familiar but oh so different way.

Glasses: Aw, yes! Guy-sex!

Shades: Whoo! Party time!

I can’t believe you just said that out loud.

Kazuma knew it wasn’t going to be easy but he was willing to fight for what they had.

It’s not hard to do when fighting is as easy as flicking a guy’s nose and sending him through a wall of concrete.

Specs: Can he actually do that?

I have no idea.

As his eyes studied his lover’s form in the moonlight he swore he couldn’t be happier.

Glasses: I wish I could see it, but the author’s not fucking describing anything!

Shades: I feel ripped off.

He closed his eyes and let everything slip away, the pain, the fear, the resentment, the anger, his past, and everything else that he’d held onto until this point.

Including his balls, which Ryuho ripped off after finding out that he had been ditched for Kimishima.

Sports Shades: There is no manhood, only Zetsuei.

All that mattered now was his future with his lover and regaining the trust that he had shattered.

Contacts: Buying him a sweet-ass jeep is a good start.

True story.

No, it wasn’t going to be easy but then again, anything worth trying for required a little effort. The rest would come naturally.

“A little effort” is a heinous lie.

And in that note, we’re done here!

Thanks for reading, folks, and stay tuned for next time! I’ll probably have less assholes in here with me from now on, I just wanted to see how Ert can stand it. He must have a bigger riffing room or something. Another oneshot is on the way, probably, but in the meantime, I’m SC, and on behalf of all these fuckers –

*The Co. members wave*

– I’ll see you next time!

Shades: …So, does this mean you’ll start being nicer to everybody now?

Sports Shades: Ha! That was a funny joke, tell another one.

Specs: Well, it was worth a shot.

18 Comments on “998: Waiting for the End – Oneshot”

  1. agigabyte says:

    What did I just read?

  2. SC says:

    Author comment: I just realized that SamCole left out an entire VERSE of the song in this fic.

    Nice job, dingus.

  3. GhostCat says:

    Glasses: To the bedroom, for some awesome make-up sex.

    Shades, fanning herself: Oh, blimey…

    Shades confirmed yaoi fan.

    My sister!

    :hugs Shades:

  4. Delta XIII says:

    Contacts: No but really, fuck Bifocals. Fuck her so hard.

    Shades: She would certainly like Specs to do so.

    Specs: Ah, you’re just saying that.

    They’re really not. She has a massive lady-boner for you, dude, everybody can see it.

    Specs: Nah, she’s just a good friend is all.

    Sports Shades: …How is it possible for you to be so clueless?

    I’d rather not know.

    …Specs?

    *holds up banjo*

    I am going to beat you over the head with this until you GET A FUCKING CLUE!!!
    It may take quite a while.

    If you have any objections, now is the time to voi-WHOOPS TOO LATE!
    *and there was much smacking*

  5. Delta XIII says:

    Silent Hill is a bitch, innit?

    UGH, don’t remind me!

    I had to do some Hypertime tinkering there once.
    Worst. Mission. Ever!

    I mean, the monsters, the whole repressed fears thing, getting a Great Knife shoved up my ass, and, despite the fact that I arrived via a time travelling elevator, I still somehow managed to get a parking ticket!


Leave a Reply

